We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Tour...interesting little diversion.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Botanical Gardens

Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: The Best of St Vincent and the Grenadines
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Kingstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Botanical Gardens are one of the most important and popular sites in St Vincent. They are the oldest botanical gardens in the Western Hemisphere (established in 1765) and are also an important conservation site (particularly for the St Vincent parrot). The Botanical Gardens are in Kingstown, a short journey from the town centre.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Tour...interesting little diversion.”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We had a great guide who patiently explained probably what he has explained a thousand times, added texture by relating history, and made a 'walk through the park' and nice diversion. Charlie was a good guide....ask for Charlie downtown to take you there in his taxi

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tondalayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, 9 May 2016
We are comforted to know that you had an enjoyable time. Thank you for sharing your views with us and visiting our gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    146
    38
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sothampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice gardens”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

pleasant grounds,interesting flora and fauna and informative guide Recommend local bus for white knuckle ride into Kingstown!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SothamptonBas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, 9 May 2016
Thank you for the visit and the positive feedback, come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent, but you need a guide.”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

These large gardens are in excellent condition and beautifully laid out. It is worth knowing that most of the garden is made up of trees and large plants. There are very few flowers or smaller shrubs.
Also there are very few signs on any of the plants or trees, so you will need a guide with you to tell you what everything is. These can be picked up at the entrance.
If you get chance, go into to parrot santuary inside the garden (our guide arranged this for no extra cost). You will be able to see the native island parrots, which are beautiful.
Also take an unbrella as there is not much shelter if it rains.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank flibbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, 9 May 2016

Thank you for coming to our gardens. We are currently working on updating our tree labels, so as to better accommodate visitors that may not choose to walk with tour guides. Thank you for sharing your views with us and will keep them in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We loved the Botanical Gardens. Our guide Alexander pointed out every plant by name. He made it more interesting than just walking through it. He also offered to take us to the mineral baths, so he came with us in our rental car. When we were there,he guided us and explained the mud bath routine, and before we knew it we were laughing so hard as he applied us with mud from head to toe. He had us dry in the sun and then a rinse in the bath, and then had us drive to another location to bath in the warm waterfall. It was truly an amazing experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nance28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, 9 May 2016
Thank you for visiting our gardens and sharing your views with us. We are glad to know that you had a wonderful time with us. Hope to hear of another visit with another great story.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
224 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“interesting to see the western hemispheres oldest garden”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

You can see our travel long on this plave at tabhauser.com . Ask for the Professor as a guide if possible

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank tabhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botanical Gardens also viewed

Kingstown, St. Vincent
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing