We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enlightening tour”
Review of Botanical Gardens

Botanical Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
Shore Excursion: The Best of St Vincent and the Grenadines
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Kingstown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Botanical Gardens are one of the most important and popular sites in St Vincent. They are the oldest botanical gardens in the Western Hemisphere (established in 1765) and are also an important conservation site (particularly for the St Vincent parrot). The Botanical Gardens are in Kingstown, a short journey from the town centre.
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We spent an hour here on a tour of the island before joining our boat for the week. Sinclair our guide (and also one of the gardeners) was excellent. We could have wandered around the gardens on our own and would have enjoyed it but his passion for the gardens and knowledge of the plants really added to the visit. We left having smelled, tasted and touched a huge variety of different plants. A must see stop if you are visiting St Vincent.

Thank Tea-and-Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

We are happy to know that you had an enlightening time at the gardens. Thank you for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 278 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just 10 minutes from Kingstown centre but the taxi was very good value from the quay. Just a few dollars and he waited at the top of the garden for the return trip but, as ever, do negotiate the price BEFORE driving off.
The guides are generally quite knowledgeable and well worth the few dollars per head. Surprised to read that travellers felt they were being "scammed" - it is always best practice to clarify the costs with the guide and the staff on the entrance. Certainly had no problem myself.
The guides provide you with access to such things as a taste of mace and nutmeg.
The St Vincent Parrot sanctuary and captive breeding programme within the gardens is worth supporting although the parrot accommodation is not 5 star the work that is being done is very worthwhile.
Once again, being an entomologist, the insect life was fascinating - butterflies, moth caterpillars and beetles being most obvious. Bird life was also interesting including humming birds.

Thank Nicholas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

Thank you for visiting the gardens. We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

One always gets a thrill when one visit the Botanic Gardens in Kingstown St Vincent and the Grenadines (SVG) because of its share beauty, how clean and prestine condition its always in, it's manucured grass and the overall peacefulness of this beauty spot.

The Botanic Gardens in SVG if not the oldest in the Western Hemisphere is not far from; it's however grandiest and prettiest even when size is taken into account. This Botanic Gardens is located on the edge of Kingstown the Capital heading towards the Leeward side of the island, but walking distance even in the hot sun if you are feelng fit and motivated. If this is too much for the visitor, then a Maxi Taxi ride from near the fish market is the easiest and quickest way; or by taxi from the Bay front near the government office and police headquarters that should be no more than a 5-10 mins ride dependin of traffic and time of day.

The Gardens hold some of the grandiest and rarest trees in this side of the Caribbean and they are all labelled for easy recognition. Here you can see the oldest and authentic breadfruit tree, brought to SVG from Polynesia by Capt Bligh. The tree as in the photo is from the original sucker of the first breadfruit tree.

As a visitor, do take sometime out to chill by the green and white gazeebo that house a fountain, water lillies and local fresh water fishes. Not too far from this spot and the breadfruit tree one see the SVG native parrot albeit in a cage. And if you are into Royalty, then stop by the tree that was planted by Prince William on a visit.

The Botanic Gardens is a favourite attraction for locals and it should be part of the visitor itinerary and its free. A must see.

Thank Clynton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

We are elated to know that you had a good time at the gardens. Thank you for visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The gardens are lovely. You'll need the guided tour to know what's what. BUT - be sure to understand who you're paying for what. The admissions desk clearly says $4 US pp for tour. At the end of our tour the guide told us we owed $4 US pp that what we'd paid was garden entrance. Our driver had warned us to pay at the entrance, not at the guide. The other half of our group paid less at the entrance, then paid the guide for the tour.
THEY ARE CLEARLY SCAMMING
which is really too bad because if left a bad taste in our mouths after a lovely walk in the gardens with an informative guide.
So just be sure you're clear with the front desk and the guide about who you're paying for what. I wouldn't have minded the paying, but I do mind being ripped off.

2  Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

We are apologize for the unpleasant experience at the entrance booth. We have improved our staff system. So we do hope to read of a better experience soon. Thank you for visiting the gardens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a magnificent garden. Beautiful, peaceful and serene. The Botanic Garden falls short of excellent as a destination only because there is no refreshment stall in the vicinity. If you are planning a long outing its a good idea to bring water and a few snacks.

Thank katbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalParksAuth, Curator at Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

We are happy that you enjoyed your visit at the gardens. Thank you for coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botanical Gardens also viewed

Kingstown, St. Vincent
Kingstown, St. Vincent
 
St. Vincent, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing