We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carnival Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cobblestone Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingstown
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Carnival Getaway”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Well this trip was a quick getaway from the crazy carnival long-weekend in Trinidad. My 3 friends and I opted to stay in town since we weren't renting a car. Two of them had stayed there last year and convinced me that it was value for money. We were literally a few steps away from the town. The taxi stand is like a 2 minute walk which made our commute very easy. Vendors were outside the building selling their goods. Anything from local produce to handcrafted souvenirs. There are two restaurants at the hotel. One upstairs where we had breakfast only.(nothing spectacular) and the other Basil's was where we had lunch and dinner. Food was good but a little expensive. We also ate at Aggie's on the hill which is about a 15min. walk from Cobblstone. Great local dishes at an even greater price. In house service was good. Anything we wanted they pretty much gave to me and my other friends who are like 'divas'...lol. Our last nite there we invited a few friends over and had wine n cheese on the rooftop deck, under the stars.
Not much nite time activities. During the day you can visit the Grenadines. We saw Young Island which is in Villa bout a 15min drive and you just hop the really small ferry for free. Beautiful resort to grab drinks and food at the bar for a day out. Oh and you have to visit Dark View waterfall in Richmond. Its a bout 1hr drive from the Kingstown but you get great views along the way. We saw where Pirate's of the Caribbean was filmed so I know you don't want to miss that. It's like a little museum where you will find clothes that was used in the film along with pictures of the entire cast. On the other side of the island(winwards) we drove all the way to Owia where there is a Salt water pond. On a clear day you can even see the island of St. Lucia. We didn't have time to visit the volcano on this trip so that means we will have to go back...lol.
Hope this was helpful.

Room Tip: Room 28 is the best room but it is the 1st one and its on the ground floor, so you might hear some n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roxanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    56
    35
    12
    3
See reviews for
16
53
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

There are not too many places in town, but this is certainly a nice one.
The building has more charm than most and is fairly old, but well looked after.
Rooms are clean, and comfortable.

Breakfast was disappointing though - my $6 bowl of cornflakes was crawling with ants, something I only noticed once I was most of the way through due to the dim light where I was seated. I told reception about this, (who then informed the restaurant), but they didn't offer to discount the breakfast, since I'd eaten most of it! Not impressed.

I probably would stay there again, but I'd be more wary about the kitchen hygiene.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

It's breakfast in the rooftop cafe which wins us, and has brought us back 5 or 6 times. A short walk or taxi from the piers. They've been quite accommodating keeping the kitchen open for us when we've come in on a late ferry. Friendly. Charming. Comfortable. It's the place Kingstown for business meetings and the tourist can get some sense of what local life is like.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrushay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jericoacoara
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is an excellent place to stay close to the docks where you can catch the ferry to Bequia or other islands. It is clean, friendly and safe. The accommodations are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is very good as well!

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The Cobbleston is a charming inn built into a historic stone warehouse on the dock of Kingstown. It has some of the limitations of a small inn--the toilet ran for 3 days despite a plumber checking in (I just turned off the water at night), the walls were very thin on the second floor--when my neighbor coughed it seemed that they were actually in my room. The Basil restaurant which is attached had the best Conch Chowder I have every had and the fruit punch was great. The inn is central to Kingstown, though, town is pretty closed up at night. The rooftop breakfast restaurant has nice views and is a very good value. Overall, I would recommend the inn because it reflects the culture of the island, is central and is inexpensive. It would be best for those doing business in Kingstown or passing through, on the way to the Grenadines or other islands.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, perhaps with no neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canouan
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We live in a neighbouring island and had to do an overnight stay in St. Vincent. It was just my daughter and myself. The front desk staff was very friendly. We were able to check in early. The Cobblestone Inn is right in town close to the water ferry and loads of shopping. There are two restaurants on sight and a beautiful spot where you can sit on the roof and look at the sunset. We had two twins in our room. Room and bathroom were very clean. We enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prdygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad, Caribbean
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This was a nice island hotel, the staff friendly, the food good. There is a pub in front where you can get some burgers when the Inn's food options are closed, also they have a buffet lunch.
The hotel used to be a old sugarcane factory. The bricks are huge stone.
The rooms may need a little more fresh air, but other than that, it is a good place in St Vincent town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingstown
2.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
304 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
Sunset Shores Beach Hotel
#4 of 5 in Arnos Vale
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Richmond Vale Diving & Hiking Centre
1.5 mi away
Grand View Beach Hotel
Grand View Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Arnos Vale
102 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Vincent
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cobblestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cobblestone Inn

Property: The Cobblestone Inn
Address: Bay St., Kingstown, St. Vincent
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > St. Vincent > Kingstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kingstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cobblestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a warm welcome, pleasant ambiance and convenient facilities for business and leisure travelers, the Cobblestone Inn is the ideal accommodation in Kingstown, St. Vincent and the Grenadines.ABOUTThe Cobblestone Inn has been recreated in its original Georgian splendor by the skilled craftsmen on St. Vincent, using the same materials as were originally available. Built as a sugar warehouse and lately used for arrowroot, the building dates back to1814.Ideally situated, the hotel boasts the perfect location for all travelers. Located in the heart of the Kingstown business district the hotel is fifteen minutes from the airport, fifteen minutes to the beach and is surrounded by shopping, open markets, businesses, entertainment and restaurants. The hotel is close to access points for easy access to tourist attractions in the city as well as ports to visit neighboring islands including world famous Mustique Island.ROOMSThe hotel’s plentiful list of amenities ensures your stay meets your every desire and expectation. With eclectic and elegant guestrooms maintaining the hotel’s original Georgian splendor your experience is enhanced with detailed and attentive service and complimentary wifi.RESTAURANTYou’ll find the very best in Caribbean and Continental Cuisine at our Roof-Top Bar and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cobblestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cobblestone Hotel Kingstown
Cobblestone Hotel Kingstown
The Cobblestone Inn St. Vincent/Kingstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing