We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host in Bequia”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bequia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Village Apartments
Devon, UK
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful host in Bequia”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We have just come back from an amazing holiday touring the grenadine islandsfor our fourth time there. George and Val are wonderful hosts and will always try to help you with any questions or help with any problems. We would not hesitate to recommend them, I arrived on the Jaden Ferry on a very rough day when I and I hasten the locals were very sick and Val was very caring giving me something for my forehead.
Looking forward to next year

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

If you are looking for a well equipped, clean, serviced apartment with large balcony and view to die for...this is it! George & Val were welcoming and having lived in Bequia for many years, very informative hosts. Friendly but not intrusive. We absolutely loved our eight night stay just before Christmas - water taxi with Keith to Princess Margaret Beach, snorkelling with a green turtle in crystal water, Salad Nicoise at Jack's Beach Bar, a few Rum Punches...what's not to like?

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We stayed at Village Apartments for 10 days in Feb. after travelling up from Tobago. We were given the 2 bed apartment at the top of the steps (No.7 I think). The apartment was spacious, well equipped and clean and the view from the balcony over Admiralty Bar was fantastic. Val and George are great hosts, very friendly and helpful. The apartments are close to both the beach and the walkway past the restaurants, jetties etc. We were recommended to come to Bequia by our friends who often come here on their yacht during the winter and it certainly did not disappoint. The taxi drivers were very friendly and really happy to tell you all about the Island, and we made full use of the dollar buses when we went to Princess Margaret and Lower Bay.We really didn't want to leave!! and hope to return soon to Bequia and Village Apartments.
Jim & Mo McGhie - Brighton

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Stayed here in January for 8 days after travelling over from St Vincent..
Val and George were great and very welcoming and we were actually given the 2 bed appt when we arrived as the one beds were all taken - we were not charged any extra for this i hasten to add!
Rooms are comfortable with all you need for an appartment and ours had a great view from the balcony so we could sit and watch the yachts and cats come and go. The rooms are set on a hillside location with a great garden full of the usual tropical plants. They hadn't had any rain for ages when we were there and water was at a premium, the slogan in the bathroom made me smile " if its brown push it down if its yellow let it mellow" !!
It's a 50 metre walk downhill to the Belmont walkway, left to the beach and right to town and restaurants etc. Take a torch when walking back at night as some of the walkway has eroded. We ate out most nights trying the pizza resaurant on the walkway, and best of all the Lobster restaurant which wasnt that expensive and the service was excellent which is more than i can say for another restaurant that has regular bands at the opposite side of the bay and i cant remember the name, v expensive and poor service and for some reason queueing to get in?
Walked just about everywhere as we needed the exercise and it is quite hilly, took us about 40 mins walk to St Margarets and about 1 hour to the other side of the island. You can get the dolar busses of course which are cheap just stick your hand out as they approach and try and cram yourself in. One of them that we had used before stopped one day and we asked if he went as far as the turtle sanctuary, initially he didn't as he had passengers but about 20 minutes later with no passengers he came looking for us and did for a price less than the local taxis. He gave us a tour of the island told us everything he could think of and waited for us at the turtle sanctuary.
Bequia is a beautiful island but is quite expensive as everything has to be brought in.
Make sure you visit as many beaches as you can they are all different from the rugged on one side with kite surfers to good swimming beaches on the other. We did snorkle and saw some fish but nothing compared to the Maldives but then we didn't go for the snorkelling .
My one gripe was that whilst we stayed at the Village appts we were eaten alive by mosquitos which surprised us as we sprayed the rooms repeatedly had plug ins and doused ourselves in repellant. Apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
We tried to book one extra night here but they were full and ended up staying at the Gingerbread instead for a hell of a lot more money in a very dingy room.
Val & George are really nice people so if you do go to Bequia try the smaller appartments and guest houses like the Village Appts and see the real Bequia instead of paying the earth for a hotel and getting nothing more for your money.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JENSEN BEACH
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Had to respond to sunset7 negative post. Sounds like the size of the apt was an issue along with the basic nature. Maybe more homework could have been done. If the Poster wanted a larger "villa" that is certainly available but not at a same or even similar price. Bars on the windows are for safety "common sense". It is well noted on website that ac is extra, use it if you want or don't use/don't pay. Small safe? It isn't for anything but documents, cash/credit cards etc. Many places offer no safe. As for cleanliness the overwhelming majority of posts address that. Could it be on the 4 days prior to ck in the Poster found alternative accomodations and tried to find reasons to cancel? Of course the deposit was retained. These are hard working business people. People don't just stop in to Bequia with no prior accomodation reservation. The odds of the apt being re rented are very slim to zero! Hopefully future potential travelers will take that review with less than a grain of salt! Village Apts are kept clean and are convenient to all Pt Elizabeth as well as secure. Hummingbirds will be your neighbors as you enjoy breakfast on your balcony. If you want a luxury villa with large closets and fancy baths...rent and pay for one!

Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank obxpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Like the previous poster; we have stayed at the Village Apartments several times over the years whilst building our own home.
We have always found the accommodation to be very comfortable and spotlessly clean; this also extends to the outside areas where staff worked constantly making sure all areas were clean and tidy. The gardens also are beautiful.
George and Val were always attentive; going to great lengths to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-FIZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2010

I've seen the very negative review of the couple from Peterborough, Canada, and am amazed. We've just come back from two weeks in Bequia staying at one of the Village Apartments and can't agree with anything the review says! We've been coming to Bequia for nine years, previously staying at the Frangipani Hotel (lovely if you want a hotel). So we've known of Val and George's high reputation on the island and among visitors for many a year. Having now stayed there, we certainly think it comes right up to its reputation - and agree with the other reviews you show. I can only think that sunset7 was annoyed about not getting his deposit back - having changed his mind!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odysseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bequia hotels
1.9 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Frangipani Hotel
Frangipani Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belmont
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
Keegan's Beachside Hotel,Apartments & Cottage
0.2 mi away
Bequia Plantation Hotel
Bequia Plantation Hotel
#1 of 7 in Port Elizabeth
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Apartments

Property: The Village Apartments
Address: Belmont, Bequia
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Bequia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Village Apartments Bequia, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing