We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night on Bequia ...”
Review of Jack's Beach Bar

Jack's Beach Bar
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Bequia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First night on Bequia ...”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

... and we ate at Jack's for the Tuesday night BBQ / buffet. They've got a great chef at Jack's and the food was top notch and plentiful. For what we ate, the $99 was a bit steep but the ambiance was priceless. Getting there is another story if you don't come by boat, however, that's what taxis are for although you sometimes wonder if it will really make it back up the hill or not. A memorable experience. Gorgeous outdoor lighting and sail effects to dine by under the stars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    127
    45
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“lovely food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The meal and overall service was excellent, it just took ages to get the tab. The service for the food was very speedy and there was sufficient choice

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank judiglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location - not so great food”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Worth going for a rum punch or a beer - very nice location but I wouldn't recommend it for food. Very average.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vrasidakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Quintessential Beach Bar”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I don't know how they scored this location, but holy cow... It's great knowing that you can get up off your rented ($5!) beach chair and walk a few yards down the beach to a pretty excellent restaurant. You don't even need to pack up your stuff because you can see the whole beach from your table.

I thought the burger that I had was exceptional, especially for Bequia! (I once had a "cheese burger" at Keegan's on Lower Bay that literally came with no meat - when I asked the waitress where the beef was, she testily responded that I had asked for a cheese burger, not a beef burger... no joke.)

However, Jack's has to lose a few points for their Caesar salad. A Caesar salad is a pretty standard recipe. It doesn't include things like shredded carrot. I once saw Gordon Ramsay curse at someone for serving him a Caesar with carrots in it. We didn't curse at anybody, but we also didn't eat much of that salad. The dressing tasted like plain mayonnaise.

It's worth noting that Jack's is now under the same management as Devil's Table and Papa's. Perhaps that's why both Jack's and Devil's Table are both down from five stars to four stars (as far as my TripAdvisor reviews are concerned). We also noted some overlap in the menus.

Would I recommend trekking all the way to Jack's just for dinner? Not really. The Devil's Table menu is similar and it's easier to get to. But at some point during your stay on Bequia you will undoubtedly find yourself on Princess Margaret Beach (best beach on Bequia)... so grab a burger and a cocktail while you're there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D-J-Naz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location and they know it”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We spent a morning on Princess Margaret Beach and headed to Jack's for lunch. Despite the reviews showing this beach as the best on the island we found ourselves unluckily sharing it with a catamaran of tourists from another island which made it a little crowded. Jack's was a pretty little spot and the only eating option on the beach. Unfortunately we found the food to be just okay and the service to be poor. The prices were also the highest we paid in our week on the island. Check out the beach but take a pass on Jack's for food and just have a drink at their nice bar area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jack's Beach Bar also viewed

Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 
Port Elizabeth, Bequia
Bequia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines
 

Been to Jack's Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing