We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, eco-friendly and natural”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sugar Reef Bequia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Reef Bequia
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Bequia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great staff, eco-friendly and natural”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday in July and couldn't have been happier with the service and the rooms. We stayed in the ocean front rooms and loved them. The sound of the sea lapping on the shores all night and the cool ocean breeze was perfect. There's no A/C but absolutely no need for it. We even pulled on our covers in the early morning.

The complimentary breakfast is great, with fruit, coffee, juice and a daily special item.

The French house is also beautiful! I would have loved to stay in the Master Suite though the rooms vary a lot in size up there.

The grounds that Sugar Reef are on are beautiful and the natural, drift wood decor is amazing. I wanted to take the chandeliers from the ceiling!

The manager, Judit (pronounced Yudit) was very friendly with us and spent a long time checking us in and talking to us about our stay. All of the staff were friendly and remembered us by name! They even remembered our favourite drinks.

Chef John also remembered us and he prepared us special dishes on request! His food was fantastic and he's a great, friendly character as well.

It would be hard to think of a con for Sugar Reef, but in the spirit of a good review, if we had to make a complaint it would be that the beach had some moss when we visited. Not a big deal because it was still swimmable and there are lots of beaches on the island. The moss only comes for a couple of weeks so we were just unlucky! But the beach itself is breath taking.

Some people may think that the location is a con, but it's only about a 45 minute walk into town (30EC). On a hot day, you can call a cab or ask the owner Emmett if he's going into town (he took us in once).

We would definitely recommend Sugar Reef as one of the most friendly, cosy and unique boutique hotels we've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms or Master Suite in the French house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
124
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex.
Level Contributor
184 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

If on Bequia make a point of visiting this stunning little boutique hotel - stay there, lunch or dine there. the rooms (beach front) are fairly small/cosy but beautifully equipped and maintained. As mentioned the beach front rooms are literally a few steps away from the bay and Caribbean beyond. The big plantation house up the hill is absolutely stunning with its huge sweeping vista of the Caribbean, encompassing the islets of Batowia and Balliceau to the much larger Mustique with its denizens of the rich and famous. The rooms are beautiful furnished in a sort of colonial style with huge four-poster beds draped in best quality mozzy nets - not that I expect they're needed at the altitude. The sitting room area - communal - is wonderfully furnished and with lots of nick knacks to interest. But best of all is the balcony/verandah where you could sit a laze all day.
Sugar Reef's restaurant is very good. Not flashy but very reliable. It quickly became our favourite eatery during our four week island stay lunching and dining there some five or six times. The staff are super; friendly and very helpful. Frankly there's nothing quite like fetching up at the hotel mid-morning having a swim off there beach and when the hunger pangs prompt step the few feet into the cool of the restaurant for great local burgers, fresh fish, coconut oil fried chips (fries) and puddings such as deep fried bananas with coconut ice cream. Yum! If dinging then look out for the wandering hermit crabs as they blunder around and sometimes through the building to the hotel's coconut grove. Special mention must go to the furnishings though, a symphony of blue and white in oriental styles with a compliment of modern driftwood light fittings and mirror surrounds - a motif maintained in the hotel rooms too. Stunning is the word.

Room Tip: If seclusion is your thing go for the old plantation house. But the main hotel is quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caribauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at sugar reef for ten days in July, never wanted to leave! We stayed in the french house, short walk from the beach with the most beautiful view of the sea.We had the secret guest room, which I could not recommend more, very secluded, private and away from the other rooms. The people at the hotel were so welcoming and helpful and we felt so at home from the moment we arrived. The food was delicious in the hotel and the breakfasts every morning were so filling! Complete peace and quiet, we can not wait to return! Thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: secret guest, very secluded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed! We love finding small, unique hotels and Sugar Reef met all of our expectations. The common area is filled with natural touches - driftwood mirror frames, wood and shell chandeliers, shells embedded into the table, etc. The beachfront room was very clean and comfortable and we loved the coral lamp, stone walls and driftwood touches around the room as well. There are 8 rooms total at Sugar Reef, which makes it feel intimate and cozy. The rooms in the French House are lovely as well, but we really liked the beach area! Unfortunately when we were there, a moss had drifted in from the Atlantic Ocean and found a home on the beach here...we've seen photos and talked to the locals though and except for two weeks out of the year when the moss comes in, the beach here is white and the water is clear. The staff are fantastic and genuinely kind- as is basically everyone on Bequia Island. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DarieceSwift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at Sugar Reef on our honeymoon. Bequia is a little off the beaten path and it took a little effort to get there, but it was well worth it (we ended up having to charter a plane after LIAT (the worst airline ever) cancelled our flight). We were looking for peace and quiet, away from typical tourist destinations, and we found it here.

We can't say enough about the service at Sugar Reef. Emmet, the owner, took us around town one day and shuttled us to Papa's bar to watch the World Cup. Judit, the manager was knowledgeable and responsive in helping us get to the island, organize day trips (snorkeling, a boat trip to Mustique), and immediately upgraded our room when we arrived (since it was low season and they had availability).

The beach house rooms were cute and cozy and right on the beach. We would wake up early in the morning and take a quick dip in the ocean and enjoy the beach and clear turquoise waters all to ourselves. True to Bequia in the low season.

Sugar Reef is also eco friendly using locally made furniture and decor and eco friendly bath products. There is no A/C but trade winds keep the rooms cool enough to be comfortable.

Last but not least, the price was affordable by US standards in spite of the service being truly 5-star service.

Sugar Reef is away from the harbor area of Bequia and so very quiet and relaxing. It was easy to lounge around the hotel, restaurant beach and surrounding areas all day (Turtle sanctuary, trail to the head of Bequia, Firefly plantation).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My good lady and I stayed at Sugar Reef earlier this year as part of our 30th anniversary celebrations. We had seen this place years before in a glossy magazine and just had to go, we were not disappointed.

From arriving to leaving we were spoilt rotten. We stayed up in the French house a 10min walk up the hill.

Food, both at breakfast and our anniversary meal were top class

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard_CRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Excellent weeklong 30th anniversary! Trip Advisor writes about the great value, that proved so true. It’s a great bed and breakfast type where you feel like you are staying with friends. Very relaxing, with 3 beach front rooms next to the dining room. Food was very good, rooms are quiet and nice, the water was warm, air always has a cool breeze. You can relax in the hammock next to the water under tree cover, or hike to town and enjoy all the local food and buy whalebone carvings! Or walk to the turtle sanctuary! I will definitely recommend this to friends and will be going back soon. If you are thinking of buying a place in the islands, you need to visit Bequia and ask for Emmett at Sugar Reef !

Room Tip: You can have a beach front room or you can stay way up on the hill at the French house. For 2 peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KC R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bequia
2.7 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
7.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
142 reviews
7.7 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Reef Bequia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Reef Bequia

Property: Sugar Reef Bequia
Address: Crescent Beach, VC0400, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bequia
#4 Green Hotel in Bequia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Reef Bequia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Reef Bequia offers a local, natural, sensual Caribbean experience at our bar, restaurant and eight guest rooms on a 65-acre, beachfront coconut plantation. Our guest rooms maintain the tradition of living in sumptuous luxury open to the views and breezes. The Beach House, with decor inspired by the Caribbean of the 1940s-70s (think James Bond in Jamaica), has three beachfront rooms each with a private patio and king-size four-poster bed. On the hillside above, historic French House offers a British colonial experience with spacious antique-filled rooms and breathtaking views over the estate, the ocean, and the Grenadines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Reef Bequia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Reef Bequia St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing