We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gingerbread Hotel(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Frangipani Hotel(Belmont)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$263/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bequia Beachfront Villas(Friendship)(Great Value!)
US$446
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sugarapple Inn(Friendship)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sweet Retreat(Lower Bay)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spring Hotel Bequia(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (193)
Filter reviews
193 results
Traveller rating
159
27
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
27
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench housebeach houserotiturtle sanctuaryyogurtmain townfantastic staylobsterwalk straightcrashing wavesindustry baya short taxi ridelocal ingredientsour honeymoonother guestsinterior designerhonor bar
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 193 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It has a wonderful little beach with the own restaurant right there, you can get some of the best food on the island.
You can get the rooms right by the beach or up the hill with a great view, all room have mosquito nets and ceiling fan. great large beds. It is a bit on the expensive side, but this is all relative to the individual.sometimes the beach has seaweed and one has to drive 8 minutes to get to the Princess Margaret Beach.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank deeschilling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

It is seldom that you have an entire restaurant for yourself. It was early in the season for Bequia and we were fortunate to be the only 2 diners on that evening. Really enjoyed the lobster soup and the grilled mahi mahi

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Finallyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

We spent a week at the Sugar Reef Hotel during the second week of April 2018. The staff, hotel, location, weather were superb. The staff were friendly and amazingly professional (thank you Tatiana!Thank you Sean!) going out of their way to smile and help make our stay unforgettable.

The hotel is tiny and charming with beautiful stone walls and high ceilings. We stayed in one of the 3 beachfront rooms which allow you to listen to the ocean waves and wake up to the site of the sea and blue skies.....a perfect break from bleak Canadian winters.

I believe the food at the Cafe was the best on the Island which is actually saying a lot. Overall we thought the food on Bequia was the best we had experienced in the Caribbean and the Sugar Reef Cafe took it up a couple notches from there. Lots of local fresh ingredients cooked with a sophisticated touch...very, very well done.

We travel a lot and this was one of the most charming and enjoyable places we have stayed on holiday. We will be back.

Room Tip: the 3 rooms by the sea are fantastic but the sound of the waves at night can be a bit overwhelming at first.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Friendly staff make this hotel a real find. On arrival there was a wedding party going on which the hotel had already warned us about, but instead of ignoring us (there were 4 of us) they offered us rum punches and welcomed us to their party! This tells you everything about the people on Bequia.
We stayed in the beach front rooms which have a real Caribbean feel. They aren't luxurious but could be described as shabby chic with driftwood mirrors and a really comfy four poster mosquito netted bed. We felt that the bathrooms could do with a bit of an update however, and the shower is not really up to scratch but having said that we enjoyed our stay. We ate at the restaurant on the Saturday night and the food was very good. All in all we were made to feel valued as guests and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jacki_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

My husband and I spent a week at the Sugar Reef hotel and it was absolute paradise. We had one of the three rooms on the beach, and we fell asleep each night to the sound of the waves. It was magical. Our room was bright & airy with a comfortable 4-poster bed, draped with a pristine mosquito net (although we never saw any skeeters in the room). We travelled all around Bequia, having lunch or dinner out at a variety of places, and we concluded that Sugar Reef has the best restaurant on the island. We can also confirm that Dawson makes by far the best rum punch on Bequia. One of the best things about our stay was the friendly team at Sugar Reef - Tatiana, Cornelius, Dawson, and of course Shawn, who brought us a delicious breakfast every morning. And to top it all off, Crescent Beach is beautiful and the water is lovely for swimming or just floating around. Bequia is pretty much the perfect Caribbean island, and we definitely recommend Sugar Reef as the place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked having a room right on Crescent Beach - listening to the sound of the surf and just a few yards from the golden sand.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank GVHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews