We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location for a great holiday rental”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carriacou Island, Grenada

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian D
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location for a great holiday rental”
Reviewed 23 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Very clean and roomy one bedroom apartment in a great beachfront location overlooking the lovely Tyrrel Bay, close to all of the restaurants, bars and shops. Only things lacking are a coffee maker and toaster.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Thank you for the review Ian. Sorry to hear that the toaster oven (replacement for a conventional toaster) wasn't sufficient for your liking. As for the coffee maker, the one that was there before got blown by a previous guest who plugged it into 220V instead of the intended 110V, but a replacement is on its way. We hope that despite these inconveniences, you still had a wonderful stay with us. Hope you do come again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlebir...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect stay.”
Reviewed 19 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Newly equipped very clean apartment for 2. A lovely balcony with great views overlooking the beach and bay. Well located, peaceful and quiet but very near local bars and a couple eating places. Good modern supermarket just up the road. Frequent buses to all parts of the island . Nothing negative to say we had a wonderful stay anf hope to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
Thank you for your kind review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islandgir...
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“great guest house”
Reviewed 22 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

check this place first when visiting Carriacou. Lerone and Kathleen couldnt be more helpful. We had a great visit and a wonderful beach side room. also, if you need a car, talk to Lerone or Kathleen first.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Dec 2017
Thank you Big Joe! It was truly a pleasure meeting and hosting you guys. Looking forward to seeing you ‘our neighbors’ again; hopefully in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airportch...
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Perfect location right across from the beach and anchorage. Supermarket and restaurants within walking distance. We did 10 dives in 3 days at Arawak Divers and it is less than a 3 minute walk. Spectacular sunsets. Eggs for sale in the back and buses were easy to come by. We did miss having a coffee pot but we took a walk down the road every morning and had some so it wasn’t a deal breaker. Would definitely stay here again! Thank you for the ride from the ferry! Loved Carriacou and so lucky we found John’s place! Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2017
Thank you for your review! I’ll try to source a coffee pot in the near future. Hope to see you guys back on the lovely island soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhsbj327...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Oyster Shell Paradise on the Beach”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I stayed at the Oyster Shell, on the island of Carriacou very beautiful location, quiet and beach is at your doorstep. Locals are very nice and friendly. Oyster Shell is that pearl of Carriacou, so I would highly recommend anyone visiting to stay at the Oyster Shell.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell R
Swindon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 22 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
7
people found this review helpful

There are loads of cliche quotes I could use about this holiday, so I will be to the point.

John Gabriel who owns this property is charm personified, he was there to meet us at the ferry port in Hillsborough and took us to the apartment.

Fully equipped with all appliances you could wish for, the apartment is so well designed using space so cleverly.

Tyrell bay is a beautiful area, sea is warm as you would expect - people are friendly and will always say hello or wave, if you want a busy night life - sorry you will be disappointed.

From the first day to the last my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

We have stayed on a lot of Caribbean islands and this is the safest we have felt.

You must try the eggs & Chicken sold at the property, also supermarkets are local for other necessities, also try the local produce from Rufus & Venus - just a point to note please do not be concerned if you see the Police around the property they are only collecting their eggs as a lot of people do during the day.

John is so well know on Carriacou as Baba, and you will see him around the area most days.

He kindly took us out to see around the island to some interesting places, you can get around easily by bus (number 10 & 11) - there is an ATM at the supermarket which is a couple of minutes away.

I could go on and on about the great holiday you will have if you choose to book this apartment.

One final point the island has 2 seasons Jan to June (dry) & July (wet) to December (wet) if it does rain in the dry season as it did for us it lasts a few minutes and the sun comes out again - our time was hot hot hot.

On a personal note: Thanks John (Baba) for a great holiday a real pleasure to meet you, looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your review. It was truly a pleasure meeting you and your wife. Lovely people! Likewise, I am looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Amazing location and a comfortable space”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Amazing location on the beach, surrounded by lots of local shops, dive spot and restaurants. Space was clean, comfortable and had a fully equipped kitchen. Very nice and helpful owner. Recommended to anyone new to the island

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2017
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing