We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time with Robinson Crusoe”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carriacou Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bayaleau Point Cottages
Reviewed 2 November 2012

For the right sort of people these cottages and location can be a truly idyllic “get away from it all” type place. However, if you want a “destination resort” you could come unstuck. We had a fantastic couple of nights, where we had flown up from Grenada, stayed overnight, took the “Mostly Harmless” Boat trip out to Tobago Cays, then returned to Grenada the next day. Therefore whilst rating the Cottages highly, individual preferences must be taken into account before deciding if this is the place for you.

Blue cottage was nicely placed in the center of the plot. Very rustic, individual in design and fit out. The lack of aircon had been a worry, but even though it was very hot and humid when we stayed, there was a massive fan next to the bed, which with the aid of ear-plugs, provided a good night’s sleep.

Because of its rural location there is a lot of wildlife in and around the cottages. Watching a Praying Mantis hunt while taking a shower was a new one for me ! and Mrs BM did have to evict a massive Cane Toad from the toilet late one night, but we did not suffer any more mossie bites than we did at other places we stayed in Grenada. To be honest I did not see many mossie’s all through our holiday, but we did pick up several bites around our ankles, which I put down to Sand Fleas from walking on the beaches.

The landscaping is very attractive, with an interesting selection of trees and shrubs. We spent some very pleasant hours sitting on the Blue Cottage veranda, and on the communal deck, just Liming, and watching the boats go by. In fact Mrs BM rated the view from the deck, across to several other islands, the best view in Grenada.

For the right people, who know what they are looking for, these cottages can be a very special holiday.

Room Tip: Pick up supplies from the main town before coming out to Bayaleau, as there in not much around the p...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bunny-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Bayaleau Point Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

If you're looking for 4 Star accommodations, Bayaleau Point Cottages maybe isn't for you. But if you're looking for million-stars-at-night accommodations, or sea and sand and simplicity, or a connection to parts of yourself that you may have forgotten, Bayaleau Point is just the thing.

We stayed in the green cottage. The size was perfect for the four of us which included my wife and two sons (ages 9 and 11). Accommodations, overall, were simple which is exactly what we were looking for.

Sleeping: one bed sits above the other in a loft area. There was also room in the loft for the kids' clothes and gear. We maybe didn't need the mosquito nets at night, but used them anyway, with a fan pointed at each bed to cool things down.

Kitchen: Fridge/freezer, two-burner stove top, toaster oven, sink, and just enough dishes to keep them from piling up. Water supply is cistern only, no problems with pressure. And it tasted fine, we drank it every day.

Bathroom: Small all-in-one design where the bathroom itself is also the shower stall. This worked fine. Was tempted to multi-task but resisted the urge.

The porch: Now we're getting to the more important stuff. The backside of the green cabin is a large tiled porch complete with hammock and table/chairs. The green cottage is within 35 yards of the sea but up on the hill, so the view is ridiculous. I did a lot of figuring-out while swinging in that hammock. Some snoozing too (allegedly).

The grounds: The gardens/grounds are well tended by PoPo, a local man who, as an aside, couldn't be any nicer. The cottages are spread out nicely. Close enough for a sense of community, but far enough apart for you to make a pants-free breakfast should you so choose. There's a nice covered deck/gathering area with plenty of tables and chairs that sits right above the shore. Good place for journal writing, or snacking, or rum drinking. Or, in my case, all of the above.

The sea: The grounds form a bowl which leads down to the beach. Recent storms had pulled out much of the sand along shore which they're in the process of re-capturing. No big deal though, that didn't stop us from spending a huge chunk of every day down in the water. The bottom is a mix of sea grass and sand. We had our snorkeling gear with us. Lots of little fish to watch along the grass/sand edges. Some lobster and conch and etc. too. They also have a nifty reef. It's a bit of a haul to swim out there, but easier in the morning before the current/wind picks up. Lots of interesting fish. Closer in, the point and a small jetty keeps conditions easily under control. Also: I saw mention in another review of flotsam/jetsam along shore. We didn't see anything close to the degree described. But if we saw a bottle, we'd pick it up. Unfortunately, I think this is the modern reality of being on the windward side of an island, any island, anywhere. (Hey world: let's ease off those plastic bottles!). But in no way was it at a level where it impeded our enjoyment of this beautiful place. We went out one day on Dave's boat "The Mostly Harmless" with locals Andy and Dane as the crew. Had a fantastic time snorkeling Tobago Cays, swimming with sea turtles, fishing for butterfish, and smiling like champions. Andy, in particular, went out of his way during the boat trip, and after, to make sure our kids (and we) had a great time.

The island: There's not much around Bayaleau Cottages, which is exactly what we were looking for. There's a nice rum shop (bar) down the road a bit, run by the always smiling Maffie and her husband. Past that there's a small shop where the woman bakes excellent bread. Our standard breakfast was sweet bread, juice, and mangoes. Yum. We walked to Petit Carenage beach which is really amazing (and empty). An old shipwreck on the shallow reef adds a sense of adventure to things. Nice snorkeling there too. Tibereau Cemetery (wow) and an old historic well are a short walk the other direction. No signs, no gift shops, no nothing. They're just there. We would take busses around the island (aka mini-vans that are zipping all over the place.) Fun. Hillsborough for groceries (oh, word of advice, sunscreen is hard to come by on Carriacou. Get some in Grenada before you come!) Try the Hard Wood Bar and Snackette for fantastic local food, and then have Joseph take you out to Sandy Island for some really really amazing snorkeling.

But now I'm off track. This is supposed to be a Bayaleau Point Cottages review.

We loved it there.

What we didn't have: windows, hot water, maid service, satellite tv, mints on pillows.
What we didn't need: windows, hot water, maid service, satellite tv, mints on pillows.

Planning to get back there as soon as possible.

Cheers!

john

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
7  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Bayaleau Point Cottages has become my home away from home in the Caribbean. Located on the sea in a very quiet, rural neighborhood on the windward side of Carriacou, it is a wonderful place to experience the real West Indies.

The 4 small cottages are spread across a nicely landscaped hillside among palm, banana & citrus trees and many flowering trees & shrubs. The self-catering cottages are very clean, well maintained and have all the basics to take care of yourself and family. Carriacou is not a high rise, bustling resort island catering to the every whim of pleasure seeking tourists, but it's probably as close as you'll find to the traditional West Indies of decades ago. Still Dave has a wifi internet connection so you can keep in touch back home ...if you wish.

Known for their boat building, the craftsmen on Carriacou still build boats by hand and eye, and haul them in and out of the sea by hand, which are great community events to take part in. Bayaleau Point Cottages is located about a mile easy walk to the village of Windward, the heart of Carriacou's boat building. Closer there are several small shops to take care of the neighborhood's basic grocery needs, including fresh baked bread - which is about all you can get on Carriacou.

The main town of Hillsborough is about 4 miles away on the leeward side of Carriacou with transportation provided by the many small buses that are the lifeline of the many villages on the island. The bus drivers epitomize both the entrepreneurial and caring nature of the people on Carriacou. The drivers pick up and deliver people and packages from propane cylinders, bags of rice & cases of beer to children to and from school & day-care … they can generally drop you right at your front door, and if they see you walking toward the bus stop, they come and get you.... these guys & gals - they take care of you.

Just like Dave & Georgie do at Bayaleau Point Cottages, they make sure you're comfortable and help you in any way they can... like making sure you know about local happenings like traditional boat haul-outs, music fetes, where the dive shops are or the local bar just down the street (Maphise's The Valley Bar) where yummy barbecue happens on Friday nights and you can try the very strong (90 proof) Jack Iron rum... or if it's your preference to be left to your own devices, they'll leave you be.

Dave also has a great tour boat service - the Mostly Harmless boat tours, that I've enjoyed for visits to Tobago Cays and a few of the small, nearby Grenadine islands. There's plenty of snorkel gear and a few sea kayaks at guests' disposal to explore the small reefs right off shore. Along with the cottages they have a deck over looking the bay that is a perfect place for liming (locally for just hanging out) or dining. This is a great place to vacation and enjoy the real West Indies... and I will be back - soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jmbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We found this beautiful place on the internet and were immediately drawn to the romantic coloured cottages. When we arrived we were taken with the beauty of the place and its setting and then the blue cottage we had booked surpassed all our expectations. The cottages are so thoughtfully put together, with colour and comfort being provided throughout. We were on our honeymoon and we were looking for somewhere to relax amongst beauty away from any hussle and bussle - we found it!!

We also took a boat trip with our competent and friendly local guides Andy & Dane - we visited the Tobago Cays - Wow!! Swimming with turtles and feeling like millionaires wandering around picture-postcard uninhabited islands with idyllic beaches - almost all to yourselves. Sumptous food and drink flowed freely too! We felt propoerly spoilt.

Georgie is an amazing host and couldn't do enough for us and made us feel so welcome, we were made to feel part of the family whilst respecting our privacy.

Georgie's personal art and craft adorns the cottages, their house and almost everywhere around the island. Colourful painted calabashes and paintings with a very West Indies feel. All made to feel even more real when Georgie regularly came to visit us at the cottage in paint covered clothing.

In short, this place is a gem in Carriacou's crown - we will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shozzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

First off, Carriacou is a very special place and is unlike any other island I have been to in the Caribbean. Its charms ARE its lack of development and the untidy appearance that you occasionally come across. People here are friendly and genuine, and many of them earn their livelihood as seafarers...hence the 'rotting' boats. If you need casinos, all-inclusive resorts with wacky water sports and other mindless constant entertainment, do not go to Carriacou.

Now, however, if you are looking for a laid-back holiday in an extremely beautiful and peaceful setting, then do, by all means, visit Carriacou.

And if you are looking for a lovely cottage in a very quiet location, then give Bayaleau Point a try. The cottages are charming, functional and clean. The property is conducive to relaxation and there are beautiful views from the common area out onto Pt. Martinique and some of the Grenadines. Plus, it's tough to beat the price, especially considering the cottages are self-catering (although the food at the local take-away place in Windward is scrumptious and more than affordable). We stayed in Yellow, and while it has no view (other than the back of the blue cottage), it is cozy and is a good value.

Now, as lovely as the cottages are, Bayaleau is not perfect. Travelers need to be aware of the fact that Bayaleau is a bit removed from the main beaches and other attractions on Carriacou. We got by using a few taxis and lots of $1 buses, but if you plan on going to dinner in town frequently you will find yourself spending as much on taxis as you would a rental car.

Another item of note is the general state of disrepair that the common area has fallen into. The chairs are a hodgepodge of old, sun-beaten plastic chairs. This, along with the general lack of 'service' provided by the owner, Dave, makes the place feel as if it has seen better days. Indeed, it almost feels as if Dave has given up on this place and it is just running on its own inertia. He was rarely around and attempting to get information from him or his wife was not an easy task. The 10% service charge they tacked onto our bill certainly left me scratching my head.

Lastly, there is no beach here. The website claims there is a 'postage stamp beach', but it is not a beach and you will need to take a bus to get to the best beaches. While you can reach Shipwreck beach on foot in about 45 minutes, Anse la Roche was about a 90 minute hike (although it was a gorgeous walk).

Despite these downsides, I still give Bayaleau two thumbs up. Visitors just need to be aware of the good and the bad.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeamCutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

This past July I had the good fortune of finding Bayaleau Point Cottages, and the pleasure of absorbing its peaceful atmosphere on the island of Carriacou. My young family blossomed in the bliss that our week long stay at Bayaleau provided, and we were particularly moved by our immediate acceptance into the entire culture and Grenadian "isle of spice" life. Upon arrival, we were enthralled by the easy comraderie which followed the owner, David Goldhill, and his entire family. Upon departure, we were still surrounded by the same warmth and wanted nothing more than to begin plans for our return trip. In between, we experienced countless moments of calm in the comfortable cottages and honest care from our hosts. For example - we were inspired the entire island's launch of Bayaleau's brand new boat and the joy our personal invitation to this amazing occasion brought; we were given great guest space to meander in the sunshine at our own pace; we received spot on suggestions and ideas for everything from in-town markets to outlying islands; we were treated to tea like kin and borrowed kayaks with no bother; we were even eventually mistaken for Bayaleau family members by other islanders, which, considering our quick connection to the place, cottages, and people, seemed like a perfectly natural mistake to make. Do not make the mistake of missing out on this wonderful world in the West Indies - your stay at Bayaleau Point Cottages will stay with you for a lifetime.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank hungryjacknebbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

My wife and I have just returned from 3 weeks in Grenada for our honeymoon. As part of this, we decided to book a week in Carriacou at Bayaleau Point. We based this on the Trip Advisor reviews. It would seem that this is the first time we have been let down by Trip Advisor, as having been there I frankly cannot believe these people are talking about the same place.

So, the good points first: The cottages are pretty in a Gingerbread way- very well designed and constructed. Paradise beach is also very pretty and fairly unspoiled.

Now, to the myriad of bad points!
Although the cottages themselves are pretty, the surrounding areas are not. Some of the surrounding places resemble scorched earth and rubble is piled up everywhere. The local 'town' is full of rubbish and rotting ships The beach is itself at the accommodation is not one you would want to spend any time at, being untidy and full of jetsam. I cannot believe the review that says that people took kids here- what would they do, we wondered apart from get bored incredibly quickly? Aside from the untidy beach, there really isn't anywhere nice to sit in the sun, save for a few plastic chairs. The facilities in the actual cottages are rustic, sure, and fine enough if you like cooking equipment from the mid-1970s.

There is in short, almost nothing to do. This is fine if the areas are pretty enough for you to lie back and just relax, but sadly they're not.

Being bored beyond belief, we decided to head back to Grenada. If you want somewhere really special for your honeymoon, etc then you must go to Le Phare Bleu. They looked after us so well, and really went out on a limb. And no, I don't expect the same level of service from somewhere cheaper, but it was the little things they did to help us out.

Having decided to leave (we stayed two nights), we informed the owners, and a couple of hours later Dave popped round to settle up. Two extra charges had magically appeared, bumping our bill up by about 20%. "They're clearly marked on the website" said Dave. Having later asked where (as they are NOT on the cottage/pricing page) he pointed me to another part of the website. This left a rather sour taste in our mouth especially as Grenadian law dictates that all taxes should be included in the quoted price (from irdgrenada.com)

Dave made a point about us not paying our deposit (thankfully!)- the reason being that I refuse to handover my credit card to an unknown person in the Carribean! I said I was willing to pay by Paypal or another secure method, but he never took us up. How that is relevant to having to pay hidden fees I do not know.

What was even more amusing (now, not then) is that we had to pay a service tax! Considering we did not have a cleaner in the two nights we stayed, and that actually the fridge was fairly dirty, it seemed a bit of a joke. We were ripped off essentially.

Who would find this place suitable?
Families with kids? nope, too little to keep them amused.
Travellers on a budget? Basic in facilities, but expensive in price.
People seeking quality accommodation? Facilities aren't good enough.

So, in summary a massive disappointment and in comparison to the wonderful people and facilities of Le Phare Bleu a total rip off. Avoid!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigDogWeeChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carriacou Island
0.0 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hillsborough
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bogles Round House
Bogles Round House
#1 of 8 in Carriacou Island
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carriacou Grand View
Carriacou Grand View
#1 of 3 in Carriacou Island
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Roof Inn
Green Roof Inn
#2 of 2 in Hillsborough
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayaleau Point Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayaleau Point Cottages

Address: Bayaleau Point, Carriacou, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Carriacou Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Carriacou Island
Price Range: £48 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic hideaway for the uninitiated or an ideal getaway for couples with young children. Set on the panoramic eastern most point of Windward Bay, these elegantly simple cottages are the gateway to the emerald islands of the Grenadines. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing