We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bayaleau Point Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Laurena(Carriacou Island)
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carriacou Grand View(Carriacou Island)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Landing Hotel(Clifton)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences(Canouan)(Great Value!)
US$726
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pink Sands Club, Canouan(Canouan)(Great Value!)
US$1,210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$971
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
30
8
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
8
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall beachno hot waterwindwardnetsgreenbaycarenagemaidhillsboroughoffshoreveranda
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bayaleau for 5 days the beginning of May '13 in the Yellow Cottage before moving on to the "expensive" Villa for a week. I must say, staying at Yellow Cottage was a much more rewarding and enjoyable experience for sure. Yellow Cottage is a square cottage with bed, kitchen, bath and an attached deck . It was quiet and we felt very safe. Left our door unlocked 3 out of the 5 nights (not like the 3 locks plus padlock on the "expensive Villa"). Dave's dog Luna is primo security. The area around the cottages is the most "local" experience you can have (eat local food or buy home made bread at Judys down the road). If you need charcoal, ask Dave how you can get it from PoPo. You will never forget it. Beautiful local people. You can catch the local transit vans right from the cottages just down the road. Such an experience. We have traveled many of the Grenadines and can say that Bayaleau Pt Cottages is a must.
Oh, very, very clean. Mosquito nets worked perfect. No hot water..thank goodness.
If you don't stay at Bayaleau Cottages you will have missed the boat in Carriacou. ALL the cottages are wonderful . Going back? No question.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngieVinnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

What an amazing place! Dave, the manager, was very helpful in responding to my initial queries, which were multiple, as well as planning alternative day trips to where we wanted to go! Once we got there, which was very far away on the other side of the island and pretty much in the middle of nowhere, so getting food supplies or even restaurants was a struggle! The room however was a very interesting experience, with everything (kitchen, shower, toilet, bedroom) in the same "square". It felt very local! The water did not really heat up, but that was ok since it was quite hot outside. The big mosquito net was adequate and very helpful as there were a lot of things buzzing around. The 'windows' did not fully open or close, and it is easy for others to see inside where it would not close. You could hear everything from outside, which was a bit annoying (too) early in the morning, with birds and goats being noisy. We had a minibar fridge, little stove and a tiny grill too. Sugar and tea/coffee was provided, as well as some kitchen utensils. All in all, it was a great Caribbean experience!

Room Tip: It depends how many of you are there to pick a cottage!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FazzersN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Bayaleau Point was so outstanding, so...true to the "real" caribbean that we just couldn't check out. We'd come from a very nice rental on Grenada to Bayaleau Point...the very nice rental was one thing...Bayaleau Point was another. A down to earth, working compound of sorts.

One thing that made this stay extra magical was that Dave's kids where in the Blue Cottage for a visit...great kids Dave! Live music and crazy frolics! Dave's a guy who goes to the woods to find the perfect tree for boat building...to help maintain the origins of boat building in the islands with the townsmen who're also engaging in that trade...facinating stuff, that is. His wife is a skilled artisan and her work shows up everywhere on the property. ( i admired a little bowl she'd made, that was in the Green Cottage, on our last day...she gave it to me...to this day it lives with our displayed treasures in our home and drives us to longings of our someday return to Bayaleau Point) There is, in fact, a little boat building/repairing shed on the property where we were taught many things about that trade, and by the nicest bunch of people you'd ever want to meet. The "boys" took us out on Mostly Harmless one day and what a great day!

We stayed in the Green Cottage, and everything about it was perfect. We had to extend our stay. The little beach and jetty are so sweet...we had a little bbq one night down there (yes i carry a teeny portable grill any time i travel) and that was just beautiful.

If your idea of "vacation" is to be far away, in the lap of luxury, running from restaurant to bar to disco...this is not your place. If your idea of "vacation" is to revel in the beauty of the land and sea, the people, their customs and ways, you've found your perfect spot.

One of the sons has come to visit us here in Pennsylvania and is in contact when he's stateside. We love those contacts and loved that visit.

Congrats Dave & Family...you got it right the first time.

Room Tip: To choose the "best room" (cottage) email Dave and tell him what you're about. He'll know which one is right for you. I believe that when we return we'll be brining 3 daughters...so we'd probably ask for Blue. Green has a sweet loft with a double, but two doubles might not work as well for a family of 5. (* my travel date is untrue...it's been a little longer than that since we've been there)
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workin2hard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is one of those places...You know... You want people to know about it so that the owners can continue to do what they do so well...but well you really don't want everyone to know because then how will you get your reservation for next year... BUT being the zen, one-love, sharing types that we are, we feel compelled to tell you. If you are an off the beaten path-er you must GO and you must stay here. If you are a 4 star diva type this is NOT for you. The cottages are all lovely, uber clean and exactly what you will need for a trip like this. They are charmingly spartan and incredibly well thought out. This place, this island grabbed at our souls. Here you will get the true flavor of the West Indies and meet some amazing characters along the way. The views of the Caribbean sea and out to Union and Petit Martinique are spectacular. Carriacou is a gem, just remember to smile and say hello and as amazing as it sounds people will respond and you may even make a friend or two. But I digress, Bayaleau is fabulous. Dave, the owner has a chilled-out vibe and will make you feel right at home. DO take a day trip on Mostly Harmless, DO get out and walk the island. We cannot wait to return. Simply Smitten with Bayaleau.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventuregurl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Bayaleau Point Cottages are absolutely mind-blowing and one of the most beautiful places that I have ever had the pleasure of visiting! Carriacou is amazing and if you are thinking of visiting... DEFINITELY stay at Bayaleau Point Cottages. The location is perfect, the cottages themselves are absolutely lovely and the owners are really friendly and incredibly helpful! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are beautiful!!!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews