We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Normally, when visiting Mustique, we rent a villa, but given this trip to the island was only four days before flying on to St. Lucia, we decided to stay at Firefly, one of two hotels.
We weren't disappointed!
The owners, Stan and Elizabeth Clayton, couldn't have been more accommodating and the rooms were idyllic.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Firefly highly to friends, both for accommodation and socializing with local residents. Prince William and Kate are regulars at the restaurant.
One particular joy is the waterfall rock swimming pool overlooking Britannia Bay.
We'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are charming. Mine was call Seashell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    15
    7
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
88
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We decided to head over to Mustique to test out the luxury factor. The island is a bit of a private enclave for the well to do and Firefly was a nice way to experience it. It truly was a little piece of luxury on an island of luxury. It is also one of the few bars/restaurants on the island and a great place to meet people.

Firefly has only a handful of rooms and they have all be renovated to 5 star. The accommodations were amazing. We also enjoyed the infinity pool during the hot days.

We enjoyed the privacy but also the ability to get out to the village or the beach.

The rates included all meals. Hats off to the chef who delivered many memorable meals for us.

The staff were amazing. The handled every little need. They were incredibly friendly and even though they were looking after us there was also time for a smile, a joke and a story or two.

I think Firefly was one of the best boutique hotels I have ever stayed at. I don;t usually return to a place..but I will to Firefly!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. There is even an outdoor shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank seoulsoulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Our stay here was incredible and worth every penny. We loved everything about this place and didn't want to leave. I just read the 3 negative reviews (in English and French) and I'm appalled by how inaccurate and disrespectful they were - most likely written by incredibly whiny and pretentious a-holes who have no appreciation for the beautiful things in life. It's amazing how people will try to ruin a very good thing with these online review systems.

Firefly is heavenly from the moment you arrive. My husband surprised me by taking us here for our honeymoon in May 2013. The pictures do not give this place justice. We simply adored the room, the views (which includes a bay with beautiful sailboats), attentive staff, delicious food, and laid back atmosphere where you can leave all the worries of city life behind. The service was exceptional and everyone was very friendly.

Although this is a small bed-and-breakfast type hotel, we had so much privacy and the freedom to mingle as much or as little as we wanted to with the other guests/staff. There was no pressure. I cannot wait to return to Firefly and celebrate our anniversary!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Daisy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
805 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

What a lovely little spot Firefly is, we visited the restaurant and had a wonderful evening. This boutique hotel has only 5/6 rooms and is very attractive and stylish. The restaurant is extremely pretty, intimate and romantic with good views and open to the breeze. Service was charming and the food pretty good on the whole, probably the best meal that we had whilst in Mustique.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

This little boutique hotel - 5 rooms - has the most amazing sunset views from the lounge. I loved that the barmen/ waiters were dressed in " black tie" for the evening, very elegant. The diningroom reflected old Hollywood glamour with its chandeliers and banquette seating. Very romantic! The rooms are well appointed...no TVs. The pool area is beautiful with several small waterfalls and sunning vignettes. Again, everything overlooks the sea and is breathtaking. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly. The food was good, ask for a picnic on the beach. Infact, we were packed a little take away box for our flight home. Thanks Al! We will definitely be back. Loved Isabelle the cat, too.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank barbinbarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Beautiful place very friendly staff excellent rooms very relaxing. Got everything I needed here everything was arranged for me . Our picnic at the beach was Fantastic. Patrick picked the wine and everything was great right down to sunset. Liz and Stan made sure we got what we needed as I can get fussy on food. The seafood was fresh as well as very thing else grown on their plantation. Cotton House is a great dinner place and meals with us go on for hours. The surrounding Villas are excellent. spent a week at VILLA MV AUR , wonderful , butler, chef chauffeur . Attention to detail. Mystique is a great place for shopping, spa treatments, horses, boat tours , plane rides over the area. Wonderful place to be.

Room Tip: Ocean view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands uk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This was part 2 of our Grendadines adventure having stayed 4 nights at their sister hotel on Bequia.
I highly recommend the 'best of both worlds' package, it offers great value, luxury accomodation and delicious food.
After a 'hairy' boat ride from Bequia we were welcomed by staff at the harbour and whizzed up to the Firefly by golf cart.
We haved dined here before many years ago and have always wanted to return to this most perfect island!
The hotel only has a handful of rooms and we felt we bagged the best one, 'Seashell'. A simple, fresh and beautiful room and with added advantage of a small outside area which is very private and perfect for an early and late evening drink.
The views are breathtaking.... must be one of the best in the Carribean... I have 'liked' their facebook page and they 'cruelly' post pics most days of the either the sunrise or sunset!
The staff are wonderful, especially Patrick who makes the best cocktails!
Food was lovely too, always fresh and varied.
A must is a picnic service they offer... you can reserve a picnic spot with the local Mustique company and The Firefly will drop off a picnic hamper at lunch time for you.
Macroni beach is your best bet..... we went it January and had the place to ourselves.. such a beautiful beach! A favourite of Wills and Kate who you may spot walking along.
You have a golf cart to whizz around on... a perfect way to explore the Island! We visited all the beaches, each one has the own USP... every one a winner and deserted!
Its fun to watch the planes land on the tiny airstrip too and check out the other hotel on the island 'The Cotton House'. We had lunch there on the beach.... magical!
The small harbour village has some lovely 'expensive' shops and a small supermarket. And then of course there is Basil's...... the legendary bar! We were lucky to be there for the Blues festival which happend at the end of January - incredible jazz, such a great night!
The Island has some great costal walks too, L'Ansecoy Beach on the North side is wild and spectacular and so is Pasture Bay on rocky east coast.
It is also great fun checking out the amazing Villas on the island and 'googling' to see who owns them... Mick Jagger, Tommy Hilfgier, Princess Margarets etc...
Then spend a perfect afternoon by The Pool at the Firefly, call up for a drink and some food and relax on the privately located sunbeds dotted around the rocky outcrops in the garden.
This was like a second honeymoon for us and it couldn't have been more perfect!
We stayed 5 nights in the end which was just about right.... a week may be too long on this tiny island so I recommend you split your time betwenn here and the more lively Bequia.
Can't wait to return.... i just wish they stopped teasing us with their facebook photos!

Room Tip: Seashell is the best room for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PaulH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mustique
8.6 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
253 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
174 reviews
24.9 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
14.5 mi away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
13 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Hotel Mustique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Hotel Mustique

Property: Firefly Hotel Mustique
Address: Mustique, VC0410, Mustique
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Mustique
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mustique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Firefly is one of the Caribbean's most exclusive boutique hotels. Perched on a hill with magnificent views of the Caribbean Sea and neighbouring islands it affords the most wonderful sunset scenes from all rooms including the dining terrace and bar lounge area. Located on the private island of Mustique it offers its guests a romantic Caribbean escape. The bar and restaurant are the chic island favourite and the place to be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Firefly Hotel Mustique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Mustique Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing