We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dennis's Hideaway”
Review of Dennis' Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mayreau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dennis' Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 1 Mayreau B&B and Inns
St Vincent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dennis's Hideaway”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I've been enjoying Dennis's Hideaway since he first opened it many moons ago. The location is stunning with awesome views of the Grenadines, and Dennis and his team have done a fantastic job, creating a place that is simple yet has real character and ambience. And, extraordinarily for Mayreau, even a delightful swimming pool.

The food is excellent (Dennis is a first-rate Chef in his own right), the staff are lovely, and it's just a super place to hang out, with or without a drink or a great meal.

I was there about 4 years ago for a 50th birthday party with a group of around 20 people - Dennis was a star. The food was as good as you'd get in a 4 or 5-star resort, the live entertainment was spectacular and it was a fun-filled evening.

The one thing for visitors to bear in mind is that this is the Caribbean, where things may not run as speedily as in Europe or North America, and, secondly, that this is Mayreau, which runs at a slightly slower pace than the remainder of the Caribbean! This is not poor service, however, it's "the Caribbean way".

Dennis is a character (and, by the way, a Justice of the Peace). He's friendly, gets on well with folks of all ages and from all walks of life, is a passionate sailor and does great beach barbecues.

I am not in any way associated with this place in return for a positive review, but after many, many years of visiting Dennis's, this is my honest opinion of the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vompogula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    18
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

While on a 10 day charter we decided to scuba off of Mayreau. Two of our friends do not scuba and wanted to be dropped off at the beach while we dove. They walked up the huge hill out of curiosity and accidentally stumbled on the best place we found on the entire trip. Dennis' Hideaway was so much fun. Our friends told us how great the cocktails and food was. We decided to moor in the bay for the night and grilled dinner on the boat. We took the dingy to shore and hiked back up the hill on a full stomach that night for cocktails. Dennis the owner was present and greeted us with great enthusiasm. The blender was fired up serving Banana Cows, my fav drink of the trip. We sat around the little round tiki style bar and chatted for a bit. Then out of no where comes 4 plates of food that was set in front of us. Conch fritters, a sautéed seafood mixture, and fresh sliced coconut. We all looked puzzled as we hadn't ordered anything. Dennis stated that it was complimentary as we had tasted something from his bar, he wanted us to also taste something from his kitchen!!! Dennis does all of his own cooking as well as grows many of the items on site used in his dishes. What an amazing example of home grown island specialities.

Dennis also has the market cornered with the best pool. We brought suits along and after sampling the complimentary appetizers we headed for the pool at 10pm. It appears there is no set closing time. Dennis' attitude is if you are buying he is staying open. We swam and had cocktails in the pool until the wee hours. Reluctantly, we stumbled back down the hill and into our dingy.

The next morning we continued on our charter journey north toward St V. Several days later while making our way back south towards Grenada we decided the trip would not be complete without one more stop at Dennis'. This time we planned to have dinner by the pool. The meal was amazing although apparently the cocktails were potent because I can not now remember what I ordered.

The prices were more than reasonable with cocktails averaging $12EC which is only about $4US. The first night we drank until we stumbled and only had a $40US tab.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahMarie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
True Blue, Grenada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I travelled with 12 students from St. George's and we stayed one night with Dennis. The pool and treehouse were great places to lounge during the day and the meals were excellent. Dennis made sure we could get the cheapest and easiest transportation to our next destination and also found us as we waited for the boat to make sure we were in the right place as well as to bring us items that we had left in our room. Everyone had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arobins67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stopped by just for a drink as we were staying on a yacht but it is a lovely villa, just a 5 minute walk from the dock. The night we stopped by there was a local band playing which added to the atmosphere nicely. Friendly people at the bar too.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

good accomadation with very clean rooms plus efficient air conitioning. Dennis a charming host and only too please to organise taxi to beach and early morning fast ferry. Pool superb food good an staff could not have done more. Saltwhistle beach is one of the best in the Grenadines - quiet and very clean with great swimming .Mayreau very small - if you are looking for retail therapy and nightlife dont bother coming. Will definately come again.

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We spent 1 night at Dennis' Hide away. This is a great place to hang out. The property and the grounds were very clean and well kept. We had a wonderful lunch, dinner and breakfast there. The cook really does a nice job. Dorothy who waits tables is a real delight!
We spent the afternoon on Salt Whistle Bay. What a beautiful beach. It was nice to come back to Dennis' for a dip in the pool after a day on the beach. We really enjoyed chatting to Dennis.
My only negative comment would be the beds. They are horrible, very uncomfortable.
It would have been nice to have fresh brewed coffee in the morning, we not really a fan of instant. Anyway it was an adventure. We would love to go back again for several days but only if they improve the beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bequia4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I booked two nights at Dennis' Hideaway and ended up staying seven nights. I was with my girlfriend and we were staying during the off season so had the place to ourselves. I ended up getting sick for two days and Dennis was very nice during this time. There was a a storm front and the ferries were cancealed so we had to stay an extra night and then the charm of the people on the Mayreau took over. Dennis cooked some amazing dinners and entertained us with great stories and hospitality. He offered us the run of the place including the kitchen since it was the off season. There was a wedding taking place the coming weekend and the groom and guest invited us to the traditional southern grenadine wedding so we couldn't pass that up and stayed on. We felt welcomed, ate and drank well, dove in the tabago cays and relaxed on the beautiful beaches. Thanks Dennis and hope to return.

Room Tip: The top corner room we had offered a million dollar view of the sea and Union Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayreau
3.1 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
6.5 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
Clifton Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Clifton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Palm Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Union Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Islander's Inn
The Islander's Inn
#2 of 7 in Union Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saint Joseph's House
Saint Joseph's House
#2 of 6 in Clifton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dennis' Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennis' Hideaway

Property: Dennis' Hideaway
Address: Mayreau
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Mayreau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mayreau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dennis' Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dennis' Hideaway Mayreau, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing