We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch experience”
Review of Dennis' Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mayreau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dennis' Hideaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Mayreau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stopped off at Mayreau during our trip to the Tobago Cays from Bequia aboard the sports fishing vessel Contender. Our captain Dwight obviously knew Dennis well as he opened up for lunch especially for us during low season.

The Hideaway is exactly what it says and no more but the food Dennis cooked was fresh and divine. My wife had two small lobsters which were lovely apparently and I had the red snapper which was simply but beautifully cooked.

Dennis is a real character born on the island then lived in the UK before returning and apparently introduced electricity to the island!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slowhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Denis Hideaway has collected many good reviews on this site and rightly so too. What you do have to realise, and it didnt concern us at all, is that the property is not only located in the Mayreau community, its part of it. There are only 300 people on the island and they all live just a short walk from the ferry pier, up the hill. So don't expect privacy. It's noisy and some of the local children occasionally use the pool with the permission of Dennis of course. Dennis is always there on hand, in the bar or kitchen. He looks a bit like the Bond villain in the early films. When you meet him you will know what I mean. You also have to realise that water is precious here so don't expect high pressure, warm showers. The water is pumped from a tank. But it's The WINDIES for goodness sake. If you do want hot water, Dennis will provide you with a kettle! He has wi-fi but you will have to stand next to the office to get it. He's a great cook. See if you can get him to get some fresh Amber Jack. It was probably the best fish dish I have ever eaten.

The rooms are basic all have great views. The whole place looks a bit tired if you look carefully but that's to be a bit picky but he does need to make a few repairs here and there.

Snorkelling is great. Dennis will provide a affable driver to take you to the best reef and of course The Tobago Cays is just around the corner.

If you want a place of complete r and r then give it a go. If you are fussy you will be disappointed perhaps. But if you are like that, what are you doing in The Windies without fully inclusive?

Room Tip: Avoid the room with the squeaky bed. It's the worst I have ever hear. Up the steps, first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scaleyscales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I've been enjoying Dennis's Hideaway since he first opened it many moons ago. The location is stunning with awesome views of the Grenadines, and Dennis and his team have done a fantastic job, creating a place that is simple yet has real character and ambience. And, extraordinarily for Mayreau, even a delightful swimming pool.

The food is excellent (Dennis is a first-rate Chef in his own right), the staff are lovely, and it's just a super place to hang out, with or without a drink or a great meal.

I was there about 4 years ago for a 50th birthday party with a group of around 20 people - Dennis was a star. The food was as good as you'd get in a 4 or 5-star resort, the live entertainment was spectacular and it was a fun-filled evening.

The one thing for visitors to bear in mind is that this is the Caribbean, where things may not run as speedily as in Europe or North America, and, secondly, that this is Mayreau, which runs at a slightly slower pace than the remainder of the Caribbean! This is not poor service, however, it's "the Caribbean way".

Dennis is a character (and, by the way, a Justice of the Peace). He's friendly, gets on well with folks of all ages and from all walks of life, is a passionate sailor and does great beach barbecues.

I am not in any way associated with this place in return for a positive review, but after many, many years of visiting Dennis's, this is my honest opinion of the place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vompogula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

While on a 10 day charter we decided to scuba off of Mayreau. Two of our friends do not scuba and wanted to be dropped off at the beach while we dove. They walked up the huge hill out of curiosity and accidentally stumbled on the best place we found on the entire trip. Dennis' Hideaway was so much fun. Our friends told us how great the cocktails and food was. We decided to moor in the bay for the night and grilled dinner on the boat. We took the dingy to shore and hiked back up the hill on a full stomach that night for cocktails. Dennis the owner was present and greeted us with great enthusiasm. The blender was fired up serving Banana Cows, my fav drink of the trip. We sat around the little round tiki style bar and chatted for a bit. Then out of no where comes 4 plates of food that was set in front of us. Conch fritters, a sautéed seafood mixture, and fresh sliced coconut. We all looked puzzled as we hadn't ordered anything. Dennis stated that it was complimentary as we had tasted something from his bar, he wanted us to also taste something from his kitchen!!! Dennis does all of his own cooking as well as grows many of the items on site used in his dishes. What an amazing example of home grown island specialities.

Dennis also has the market cornered with the best pool. We brought suits along and after sampling the complimentary appetizers we headed for the pool at 10pm. It appears there is no set closing time. Dennis' attitude is if you are buying he is staying open. We swam and had cocktails in the pool until the wee hours. Reluctantly, we stumbled back down the hill and into our dingy.

The next morning we continued on our charter journey north toward St V. Several days later while making our way back south towards Grenada we decided the trip would not be complete without one more stop at Dennis'. This time we planned to have dinner by the pool. The meal was amazing although apparently the cocktails were potent because I can not now remember what I ordered.

The prices were more than reasonable with cocktails averaging $12EC which is only about $4US. The first night we drank until we stumbled and only had a $40US tab.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeahMarie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I travelled with 12 students from St. George's and we stayed one night with Dennis. The pool and treehouse were great places to lounge during the day and the meals were excellent. Dennis made sure we could get the cheapest and easiest transportation to our next destination and also found us as we waited for the boat to make sure we were in the right place as well as to bring us items that we had left in our room. Everyone had a great time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arobins67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stopped by just for a drink as we were staying on a yacht but it is a lovely villa, just a 5 minute walk from the dock. The night we stopped by there was a local band playing which added to the atmosphere nicely. Friendly people at the bar too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Brittsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

good accomadation with very clean rooms plus efficient air conitioning. Dennis a charming host and only too please to organise taxi to beach and early morning fast ferry. Pool superb food good an staff could not have done more. Saltwhistle beach is one of the best in the Grenadines - quiet and very clean with great swimming .Mayreau very small - if you are looking for retail therapy and nightlife dont bother coming. Will definately come again.

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Dennis' Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dennis' Hideaway

Address: Mayreau
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Mayreau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mayreau
Price Range: £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dennis' Hideaway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Dennis' Hideaway Mayreau, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing