We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nariva Swamp

Ranked #20 of 96 things to do in Trinidad
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Several different species of birds inhabit this swamp, one of the largest wetlands in the Caribbean.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really Nice Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Having come back to Trinidad after some time this was a really nice experience. I had gone to the swamp when I was about 9 yrs old or so but could not remember it well but this trip I will always remember. A great family outing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Samir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience with Kayman of Limeland tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic Kayaking experience with Kayman! We stayed overnight so that we could leave as soon as the sunrise so as to catch sight of the Howler monkeys and even the Trinidad Capuchin monkeys and it was not a disappointment at all! We spotted them along with lots of exotic birds and crabs in the swamp. I highly recommend this experience to all nature lovers! His local snacks were especially tasty and a truly pleasant surprise!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank cherielizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandy utah
Level Contributor
217 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Scarlett Ibis heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

It was amazing to see the thousands and thousands of scarlet ibis come back to roost for the night in the trees. The mangroves are always fascinating to view. The guide was knowledgeable and a great wildlife spotter. If you have a chance go on this tour!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Rivers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You have to go there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This place is amazing all the more so with a great guide like Mahise. Arrange him through Asa Wright. It's magic

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maraval, Trinidad
Level Contributor
280 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“A great tour and place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The Nariva Swamp tour was really good. We went with Nanan's tours 1-868-645-1305. Very well organised and informative. Good value for money too. We left the dock around 4pm and stopped on the way to look at birds, fish, snake and numerous caimans. finally we arrived at the area where the scarlet ibis roost. we waited while they flew in and just before sunset headed back to the dock. The light levels were very poor so it was difficult to get good photos. Incidental the swamp is underneath the flight path for Piarco airport so there was lots of opportunity to view aircraft quite close, if you prefer that to nature watching.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank hickmagp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nariva Swamp also viewed

Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
St. Ann's, Port of Spain
 
Maracas Bay, Trinidad
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Nariva Swamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing