We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Managed Nature Centre”

Asa Wright Nature Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Asa Wright Nature Center Guided Tour from Port of Spain
Ranked #3 of 96 things to do in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small resort, buried among mountains deep in the Trinidad rain forest, is famous for its amazing diversity in animal and plant species.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Managed Nature Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

"Brilliant peaceful environment in a Rain Forest"
Apart from the occasional insect bite which one expects in a rain forest, the centre nestles in a quiet restful serene area, with birds in abundance !!! The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful in accommodating your needs. We stayed for 8 days and our guide Roodal was excellent, showing us over 150 species in 4 days. He was very helpful, patient, and understanding. The Centre provides everything from pick ups at the airport, to half/full day trips, night birding, turtle trips, or walking in the grounds to see the Oil Birds in their natural setting.
I would recommend this centre to anyone interested in birding in the West Indies without any hesitation - Brilliant !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Glowstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    84
    19
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Such a great healer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

They say that 'Nature is a great healer', well then this place will definitely do the trick. It worked for me, just being surrounded by the clean air, the lovely greenery, the unique birds and the tour guide made our experience worth while.

We were able to appreciate the many ways in which nature contributes to our lives and I gained a greater appreciation for it.

The drive is a bit rough but once you arrive, you forget the bustling, hectic world!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wow”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

If you like to SIT and watch birds this is the place for you. If you like short walks in forest to see birds and wildlife, again, this is the place for you. Great to place to stay for a few nights

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mecanopsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Birds and nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I did the 10:30 am morning tour with a guide assigned by them. The drive to the park is very scenic but the road is bumpy (there was also some construction going on, at the time of this writing.). The park has a wide variety of birds and plants and the tour of 1.5 hours goes by very quickly. There is a lunch buffet for $140TT, which I think is a bit overpriced, but the nearest food place is an hour away by car.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohit19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Birders Paradise! - At a Price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great birding venue! The terrace at the main house is festooned with sugar-water feeders and so there are vast flocks of hummingbirds and honeyeaters. Personally I preferred the rather less hectic offerings in the various walks in the grounds where we had great sightings of 2 of the 3 trogons, the bearded bellbird and many others.
It is a pity that staying at Asa Wright is so expensive as it put a longer stay out of reach for us - we just visited for the day.
On the whole I'm glad I visited in spite of the cost as I was able to see species which had evaded me on a previous trip to TT. However, the bird life is so good on the islands that one can have a really good birdwatching experience at almost any location, and without bankrupting oneself!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Layces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asa Wright Nature Centre also viewed

St. Ann's, Port of Spain
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Maracas Bay, Trinidad
 

Been to Asa Wright Nature Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing