We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in POS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carlton Savannah
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Sangre Grande
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite place to stay in POS”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel has a very cozy feel to it. I think it's because of those lovely beds and the carpeted floors. I stayed here for a week and I loved just laying in bed and watching tv. I loved my bathroom a lot. Didn't have a tub, thankfully and I love all the little details like the mirrors. Lunch and dinner were great on all days but I was not a fan of the breakfast. The eggs were a bit too runny for my liking. I particular remember having sweetbread as one of the desserts one night and it was the best sweetbread I've ever had in my entire!!! Love Rise and the view of PoS in the night. Staff rarely interacted with me but the bartender was a nice guy. We had a great conversation. Overall, I had a very comfortable stay. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    93
    50
    32
    37
See reviews for
34
86
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was living in this hotel, it is comfortable, the people are very friendly and the attention is good. And best of all is the location, just a few meters walk from the Savannah Park, and the best Hotel close to down town.

Room Tip: Choose a room with pool view (are quieter). Bring your own portable router, the WiFi signal in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Went to trinidad as part of a multi city holiday. Got a friend who lives there and recommended this hotel.
Nice location, great service and great room! We had just the standard room and it was superb.
Didn't really get a chance to explore the hotel as my friend took us sight seeing, but from what we seen was very good.
Just a heads up, this hotel is very near Brian Lara's actual house and my friend tells me he's seen frequently jogging around the green in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aladhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Our stay here was great very professional staff,the room was cozy clean very very comfortable, didn't get the opportunity to dip in the pool but from what i saw from my room (7th floor) looked great...but we had one minor mishap...my phone charger (Blackberry Q12) was left behind after checking out but didn't realize until i reach home...after calling the hotel house keeping department they said they never found it, but someone is dishonest in that department,my advice "make sure you leave with everything you carry". other than that we would definately return. Great Hotel !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellest24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here Independence night the ambiance and setting were great, went for some drinks with and inexperience Bartender, Roof top DJ was uneventful and music was distorted, Links machine didn't work so I had to be up and down the elevator to purchase a drink.

7 a.m. Breakfast was not served until 7:42 a.m. Over heard a waitress asking a Chef if breakfast was ready with attitude in front of me and several other guest He Shouted "No what them feel it is" When it finally was I ate and returned to my room , was called by a attendant with Attitude "I need to come clear my breakfast bill" After being told it was complimentary to the room while checking in.

Later a couple at the pool was under they same unprofessional act and were not charged for Breakfast hmmmmmmmmmmm I questioned a member of staff who's excuse is they checked in yesterday so I guess the later you checked in the stupider this excuse got.

Need to buck up on staff knowledge about special events

Room Tip: Ensure what the staff tells you, you get in writing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The staff was very friendly and professional, my boyfriend and I enjoy the ourselves the pool was excellent, the roof top bar was great and the room was beautiful and comfortable it was like home away from home but with great service, Will be definitely going back.

Room Tip: Room from the 5 floor have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Cool boutique hotel just off the Savannah and easy walk to town and parks, rooms are very comfortable and large, the roof top bar was a great place to have a cocktail or two although service was slow as just one member of staff. The cafe restaurant served a good breakfast and all in all the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the Savannah on on one of the higher floors for fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwfhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Savannah

Property: The Carlton Savannah
Address: Coblentz Ave | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On every island in the Caribbean there is a place where everyone goes, not to visit and leave, but to experience and return. In Trinidad, the financial seat of the Caribbean, it is The Carlton Savannah. Nestled in the foothills of the St Ann's valley, tucked in by lush bamboo and flora, is a boutique hotel especially fashioned for business travelers and locals who revel in affordable luxury - crackling with energy, sensuality and a sun dappled emotion of rest that stays with you long after your visit is over. The Carlton Savannah, located minutes away from the financial hub of Port of Spain, botanic gardens and Queen's Hall, and minutes away from a spectacular drive through mountainous rain forests to white beaches, is poised at the cusp of a tropical dream. Personalized corporate support for business travelers is our priority in the privacy of jewel shaded rooms, complete with complementary wireless service, flat screen televisions and living rooms doubling as fully equipped office meeting spaces. As a hotel committed to minutely personalized service, our concierge ensures home comforts and office requirements in a safe and luxurious environment. Rest assured... at The Carlton Savannah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlton Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Savannah Hotel Port Of Spain
Carlton Savannah Port Of Spain
The Carlton Savannah Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing