We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should remove Carlton from the name to prevent deceiving people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carlton Savannah
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Sunrise, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Should remove Carlton from the name to prevent deceiving people”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I checked into the Carlton based on the reviews mentioned here only to find out that all was completely wrong about this place. For starters, "Free Wifi" not in the rooms. Expedia advertises it as "free wifi in rooms". This was a lie....I then read about the reviews of the restaurant cuisine being geared to local foods. That was a lie. I ended up eating a hamburger as the menu choices were less than ten entrees. Next the room...My room had red stains on the carpet that appear to be blood but I am no forensic scientist. For a Carlton hotel chain, replace the carpet before anyone else sees this. Lastly, the taxi arrangements....there must be a kickback to the guy at the front desk as they offered to arrange a taxi at a rate of $35USD to the airport only to find out the next morning that the taxi ride will be $53USD. I also noticed that I could swear I was the only person in the hotel checked in as I saw no other guests the entire time. I would not repeat the experience at this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MRuiz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    93
    50
    32
    37
See reviews for
34
86
42
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Really nice hotel, clean, good location, free WiFi, recommend.

The rooms were really above average. Super modern, big, comfy. Really cool bathroom, great closets with hardwood shelves and drawers and lots of space to hang your clothes. Flat screen TV, nice bed, comfy chairs, desk. The room was really practical and spacious. The only downside about the room was the WiFi was pretty spotty. I had to sit in front of the door to use the WiFi, but at least I didn’t have to leave the room. That was the only negative.

Nice pool area with cabanas, but I never saw any bar service. The pool was not heated and there was not a Jacuzzi. That would’ve really made the stay perfect.

The staff was ok. The gentleman who checked me in was nice and really informative. The rest of the staff were just average.

The only other negative was the location. Not that it was horrible; but it was about a mile walk into town, and I soon found out that Port of Spain is not the kind of city you want to be strolling around in by yourself, especially after dark. Later during my trip, when I visited the mall (Fiesta Plaza), I noticed there was a really nice Marriot right next to the plaza, which would’ve have been perfect. I didn’t like having to pay US$30 for a cab each time I wanted to make a run into town for a meal. I loved the Carlton, but if I could go back in time, I would have chosen the Marriot, simply for convenience.

Room Tip: All rooms don't get a WiFi signal...ask for one that does if WiFI is important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SlowJams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

have no idea what the hotel is like but do not go to their lobby restaurant. We made reservations two weeks ago for a party of six for lunch today. We confirmed last week and even made arrangements for a birthday cake for one of the party. We arrived today to find a deserted restaurant, confused staff and a manager who made us stand for ten minutes in the middle of the restaurant before she turned up, said she knew nothing about our booking, then remembered the "cheese cake" and left us standing to go and look up the reservation. After fifteen minutes, she had not returned, the poor waiters seemed not to know what to do with us and we left.

Terrible, terrible experience....have never been treated like this in any country and it's sad. The restaurant was open but what happened made us feel that nobody cared.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed there for 1 week in september but intended to stay for 3 weeks, after the first week i left it was the worse. the hotel is for sale, the staff is not professional at all since that new manager took over. I stayed there on 2 other occasions in the past and it was great. now new manger everything is down hill from there. The food taste like fast food and the room service is very slow.
the room i got the tub was leaking real bad, so they had to give me a next room. The house keeper did not clean my room at all did not even dust. The standard of this hotel has gone down very bad. Think twice before staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60763Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here for one night a couple of days ago. Wanted some "ME" time to just unwind and relax. This is exactly what I got at The Carlton Savannah. Comfortable, quiet king size room and pleasant staff. From check in, dinner, breakfast and check out. The roof top bar Rise was a plus as well.

My only issue was the lack of vegetarian options on the menu.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nekei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for week at the hotel only to find out on the 1st night that the hotel was suffering from a severe damp problems (damp/mouldy walls, sheets & pillows!!) and on the 2nd night that they were going into receivership!! From there it just got worse. Their only saving grace was the food (just). Not 4* at all!
Stay at your own risk!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lennox D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trincity, null, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

i stayed in their King Deluxe Room for one night to celebrate my birthday. i must say, it was an excellent experience. The room had a very modern design and was super comfortable, classy and clean. The view from my room was excellent(i stayed on the 8th floor) and the service from the staff was very professional and courteous. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others, loved it :)

Room Tip: always select rooms above the 5th floor, as the view is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Savannah

Property: The Carlton Savannah
Address: Coblentz Ave | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On every island in the Caribbean there is a place where everyone goes, not to visit and leave, but to experience and return. In Trinidad, the financial seat of the Caribbean, it is The Carlton Savannah. Nestled in the foothills of the St Ann's valley, tucked in by lush bamboo and flora, is a boutique hotel especially fashioned for business travelers and locals who revel in affordable luxury - crackling with energy, sensuality and a sun dappled emotion of rest that stays with you long after your visit is over. The Carlton Savannah, located minutes away from the financial hub of Port of Spain, botanic gardens and Queen's Hall, and minutes away from a spectacular drive through mountainous rain forests to white beaches, is poised at the cusp of a tropical dream. Personalized corporate support for business travelers is our priority in the privacy of jewel shaded rooms, complete with complementary wireless service, flat screen televisions and living rooms doubling as fully equipped office meeting spaces. As a hotel committed to minutely personalized service, our concierge ensures home comforts and office requirements in a safe and luxurious environment. Rest assured... at The Carlton Savannah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carlton Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Savannah Hotel Port Of Spain
Carlton Savannah Port Of Spain
The Carlton Savannah Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing