We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Carlton Savannah
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still a nice hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I had a nice stay at this hotel. My room was clean. Had ac, cable etc. I ate breakfast in the restaurant which was good, eggs and toast and some veggies.

I think what this hotel needs is a little touch up. That's all. There's some paint scrapes, a cracked table in the lobby and some minor water marks here and there. Things that could all be fixed in a weekend.

Otherwise this hotel is great and has friendly staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Daveded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    93
    50
    32
    38
See reviews for
34
86
43
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A group of us went to Trinidad for Carnival and stayed at this hotel at which Royalty have stayed. I do not recommend this hotel and would not stay there again. Staff are not friendly and do not smile. Rooms are not properly cleaned. Toilets do not flush properly. Towel racks fall apart. Towels are late, old and lint filled.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Latoya519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Trinidad
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Everyone has there preference but for me, this is the best accommodation in Trinidad.
CONS: A bit distant from attractions. Requires transportation.
PROS: Absolutely fantastic accommodation. Quiet. Great bedding food, lounge and other facilities. Friendly staff.

The hotel's slogan is "Rest assured,: and by all means, when I choose to get away and relax for a weekend, this would be my first choice.

Room Tip: King Rooms are located on the corners and have more space than Queen Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShawnB_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman Wells
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Experienced warm and attentive service from the staff. Nice hotel, decent lobby, large clean rooms. Amazing water pressure :). Staff in the restaurant were so nice and charming. Our server went out of her way for us, treated us like family. Food was AMAZING. A real great welcome!

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chica1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I would avoid this hotel if you want to avoid disappointment. Had to wait 2 hours after the official check in time to check in due to staff shortages. No maintenance, everything looks run down, old and tired. Staff are not attentive and seem to have low morale.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerGR988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is my 2nd time at this hotel (the first was in 2012) and like most have said, this place is definitely on the decline.

The good:
- the rooms are still beautiful and large. Some with entire kitchens and washer/dryers!
- the grounds are immaculate
- the pool is beautiful
- it's very safe
- ample parking across the street - which is safe.
- Check-in staff is great.
-Wonderful views of the city or of the mountains (depending on which side you get!).
- The Rooftop bar is wonderful! It's not open early in the week, but it's definitely something to check out. Even if you don't want to drink, you should still check it out!

The bad:
- Ice machines are broken/non existent. You have to call down to the front desk and request ice to be sent up. It never arrived.
- There are plumbing/water issues. They shut off the water over a few days. However, this was mostly done during the day when most people were out, so it didn't impact us too terribly.
- Although it's a safe location, it's somewhat far away from everything else. You will need a car or some sort of transportation to get food or get anywhere else.

All in all it's a great spot and you can usually get a deal on hotwire, so it's a great alternative to the Hilton or Hyatt.

Room Tip: Choose a city view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ridge86er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helena, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I am from Northern Minnesota, about two hours from Ft. Francis, Ontario, Canada, I had a really good time at the Carlton, many locals go there. I do know that this is not the first time that I had a real good time at a place that was made to look like a mud hole from personal reviews. In a way that is good for me because it is more likely that I can book a room at a place with bad reviews. Sometimes I do think that maybe these people had a bad hair day and nothing looks good through their eyes.

Maybe about for the past ten years I have been traveling around just singing karaoke and sharing my life with women. As for singing karaoke, it is by far the very best that I have ever seen in the world. What a location. What a view from the roof top with open air concert sound. The KJ, she was excellent, she always had a smile and was non-stop one singer after another and if you wanted to change your song at the last minute, no problem. Be prepared, Trinidad has many good singers- american songs- and really, really good dancers-they do the wine. I did like all the hotel workers that I spoke too. The hotel is made of stone and very beautiful and in great condition.

As for the taxi, you only get the rights that you assert, now I am a long haired white guy and I have been in Trinidad since November 2, 2013, now this is mid-day and before my taxi started to leave the motel, I asked him how much, he said $30.00 US, to the main transit bus stop,I said pick up who ever you want along the way but I will only pay 6tt, that is equal to $1.00 USD and he said okay how about 11TT, I said Okay,I thought to myself this is not too bad for about a 16 minute taxi ride. If you want too, one can ride inside an ac full length, very much like a modern grey hound bus for 4 tt all day back and forth across the island all day from about 7 A.M. until about ten p.m..

As for Trinidad, check it out on the internet the murders here are about the same as in Minneapolis for the year 2011, but Minneapolis is more populated,.Life here is very much like the twin cities, everyday traffic jams, but the weather is like the fourth of July year round.Here they have two seasons, wet and dry.

As for available women, go to Ariapita Avenue any night of the week, and you will see plenty of women and prostitution is somewhat legal here, they have special buildings to go too and every taxi knows where they are as well as in the newspapers under personal adds you will find many listings for women that do hotel calls, which is legal.

It is about a fifteen minute taxi ride from the motel to Ariapita Avenue, lots of eating places and lots of bars,At night the travel time is cut in about half to get there. At night you do want to previously know the taxi driver and his phone number, At night, from the motel it does cost 100 tt to Ariapita Avenue, about $16 USD, it is another 100 tt to call that same taxi to give only you a ride back to the motel. Taxi driver do sometimes at night get held up along with the ridders, so you ride along at night time.

They do speak a little different than us, but I just ask them to spell out the word.

I did not go into the spa. I did not sleep here; I spent about seven hours here.

I am on a diet and lost 30 pounds down here in two months, so I really do not care much for waiting to eat, I prefer to eat raw veggies/juicing.

The ground is like clay down here, so they do not grow carrots or cale here but they do import them,they do grow tomatoes, potatoes, celery,pepers, coconut, mangoes,avocatoes, bananas and lots of other unknown fruits and spices for me.

Hey, this is a small island, about 90 miles by 13 miles, bottom line, for here this is a very good place to stay, lots of poor people here that just wished that they could stay here.

Room Tip: wear a smile,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easygoing937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,027 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Savannah

Property: The Carlton Savannah
Address: Coblentz Ave | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On every island in the Caribbean there is a place where everyone goes, not to visit and leave, but to experience and return. In Trinidad, the financial seat of the Caribbean, it is The Carlton Savannah. Nestled in the foothills of the St Ann's valley, tucked in by lush bamboo and flora, is a boutique hotel especially fashioned for business travelers and locals who revel in affordable luxury - crackling with energy, sensuality and a sun dappled emotion of rest that stays with you long after your visit is over. The Carlton Savannah, located minutes away from the financial hub of Port of Spain, botanic gardens and Queen's Hall, and minutes away from a spectacular drive through mountainous rain forests to white beaches, is poised at the cusp of a tropical dream. Personalized corporate support for business travelers is our priority in the privacy of jewel shaded rooms, complete with complementary wireless service, flat screen televisions and living rooms doubling as fully equipped office meeting spaces. As a hotel committed to minutely personalized service, our concierge ensures home comforts and office requirements in a safe and luxurious environment. Rest assured... at The Carlton Savannah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlton Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Savannah Hotel Port Of Spain
Carlton Savannah Port Of Spain
The Carlton Savannah Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing