We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential but be aware”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carlton Savannah
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Folks this hotel is the newest addition to the room stock in Trinidad.
I am a from Trinidad living overseas and when I visit this island I stay at either the Carlton, Hilton or Hyatt.
I have made the following observations about this facility.
In comparison to the other two mentioned the rates at the Carlton are marginally better.
The rooms are modern and large. The lack of art on the walls makes the rooms seem sparse.
They gym was yet to be completed earlier this year.
The roof top bar was yet to be opened due to some obscure legal requirement.
There is a generously sized fridge with no stock.
2 x 250ml bottles of Water are provided and replenished.
Cable with flat screen TV is included.
Catering is good but not fantastic. There is no breakfast buffet and the service is adequate.
This hotel is built on a very small footprint of land. Think of a downtown Manhattan styled hotel. No grounds to walk through etc.
Location is right next to the Hilton which is 10 minutes drive from the City. and 40 minutes drives from the only airport. (Piarco Int.) The only hotels closer to the city centre are the Hyatt (opened in 2008) and The Crowne Plaza (Very old)
My concern is however. Having stayed twice at this hotel in different rooms on different floors i still had issues with the plumbing. The toilet simply would not flush as expected.
I would stay here again once the price is right,

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathieuissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

For my husbands birthday, I decided to book a room in this hotel as a gift for him. Normally, for these occations, we stay at the Hyatt, but I wanted to try something new.
We arrived saturday afternoon and were directed to the parking lot on the other side of the street.
Check in took longer than I would have thought, even though we pre paid already over Expedia.com. The receptionist was just a little misorganized. I asked if it was recommended to have a reservation in one of the restaurants for two persons on a Saturday evening. He said that it was recommendet. Than I asked if he could make a reservation for us for 6.30 pm and he looked confused. After a while he just responded "yes" and handed us the key to our room. He never asked for which restaurant he should make the reservation, since they have two.... In the end we just went to one of them and were nearly the only guests. But later more to that.

We had the room 1206, on the top floor, with a King Bed. The room was spacious, even a little too spacious. It looked a bit too empty.
The view was nice, even though most of it faced the back of the shabby Hilton Hotel. At night, the lights of Port of Spain looked really nice.

We went out to dinner to "Casa", got a table on the balcony. It is fine dining, so the portions are not that big but the prices are a bit high. The food was really nice. Although I think for a restaurant in that high class in a, supposed to be 4 1/2 star hotel, the tables shouldn't be shaky, scratched and dirty... Sometimes a table cloth helps. Also, one item on the menu was not available because the chef was not happy with the outcome of his sauce, so he didn't want any guest to eat it. After my husband ordered his starter, and we both waited app. 20 minutes, the waitress came to tell us that the chef didn't like the appatizer how it came out, and said my husband should order something else.... Again, 20 minutes later, we finally got something to eat. No bread before....

After the restaurant we decided to have some cocktails at the rooftop bar.
Unfortunately, the bar was not opened. It was not stated anywhere that the bar was closed.
Therefore we decided to change and hop into the pool and have some cocktails at the pool bar. The pool was nice, but unfortunately the pool bar was closed too....
Since we would have been the only guests (on a saturday night!) to sit at the other Cocktail lounge at the hotel, we decided to order drinks on the room.
We enjoyed the rest of the evening with our drinks and tried to watch some TV. Again, unfortunately, there was only analog TV, which is often disturbed in Trinidad. Aswell, there was no hotel channel, no pay TV.

Next morning I wanted to take a shower. It was, at first, impossible to get warm water. Something about the thermostat in the shower was not functioning right. After about 15 minutes, and endless turning the knob into all possible directions, some warm water came from the hose. I also tried the water for the bathub. That was hot right from the beginning, but it was orange/brown. This, too, should not happen in a hotel of that class.
We found, not really dirt, but spots in the room that simply could have been cleaned a bit more.
To add to the list: the flush of the toilet was more than uneasy to use. The aircondition was annoyingly loud. No Spa. No mini bar. No drinking-water provided by the hotel.

All counted together: it was okay, and for Trinidad still a very great hotel to stay in (if anybody knows some hotels in Trinidad, they would know what I mean). But I do not think that the hotel should state that they are 4 1/2 star class, because they are definately not!
Next time we would again go to the Hyatt. There you have the guarantee that you get the standart you expect!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaKrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The location of the hotel is ideal. The decor, service, heated pool and all around atmosphere is simply divine. The room we stayed in was equivalent to a bachelor apartment including a washer/dryer.

At Carnival time, this hotel is PERFECT. Walking distance to the Queen's Park Savannah, and for anyone who has played mas knows how great it is to have a hotel you can walk to after.

Next time you are in Trinidad, by all means book your suite at The Carlton Savannah.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiminLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frochaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
Thank donalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markyb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,234 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
669 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Savannah

Address: Coblentz Ave | Cascade, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: £168 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Savannah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On every island in the Caribbean there is a place where everyone goes, not to visit and leave, but to experience and return. In Trinidad, the financial seat of the Caribbean, it is The Carlton Savannah. Nestled in the foothills of the St Ann's valley, tucked in by lush bamboo and flora, is a boutique hotel especially fashioned for business travelers and locals who revel in affordable luxury - crackling with energy, sensuality and a sun dappled emotion of rest that stays with you long after your visit is over. The Carlton Savannah, located minutes away from the financial hub of Port of Spain, botanic gardens and Queen's Hall, and minutes away from a spectacular drive through mountainous rain forests to white beaches, is poised at the cusp of a tropical dream. Personalized corporate support for business travelers is our priority in the privacy of jewel shaded rooms, complete with complementary wireless service, flat screen televisions and living rooms doubling as fully equipped office meeting spaces. As a hotel committed to minutely personalized service, our concierge ensures home comforts and office requirements in a safe and luxurious environment. Rest assured... at The Carlton Savannah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Carlton Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Savannah Hotel Port Of Spain
Carlton Savannah Port Of Spain
The Carlton Savannah Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing