We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veni Mange - Amazing Traditional Food and Service”
Review of Veni Mange

Veni Mange
Ranked #14 of 166 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Veni Mange - Amazing Traditional Food and Service”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was recently in Port of Spain for 5 days putting on a conference. I had to ensure my group of ten people got to enjoy a traditional Caribbean meal/setting for one evening. Through a bunch of online research, I came accross Veni Mange. I sent an email requesting a reservation and Rosemary responded to me within 24hours. The restaurant itself is colorful, inviting, and feels very "island" like. The staff/service was prompt and very knowledgable. Rosemary made our Rum Punch hersef! Portions are great size and a good traditional variety. If you are looking for an inviting, friendly and traditional Trinidad feel, I definetly recommend this place!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelNut497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    30
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Independent with character and atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Three of us UK visitors enjoyed the tasty local food, friendly welcome from Roses and her staff, fun atmosphere, interesting decoration and best wine we had in T&T. It wasn't too expensive either. By the time we left the place was full with a buzz of chat.
Will go again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DubaiFatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good lunch!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I was recently taken here for lunch. A nice welcoming and colourful restaurant. Good local food and quick service. Nice desserts. Good sized portions and not expensive.

Would recommend and come back.

I would not say very good or excellent but good. Shame about the rating scales on Tripadvisor!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usingen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent and abundant food with a personal touch”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Came to show a french (!) friend the quality of Trini food and service and it was worth it. We came without reservation, bit the owners are so carefully into their business that they discerned the origin of our cab and of course had a table for two. I love not being chilled to death by aircon and had a lo ely evening with relaxed, careful, very personal service by the owner and I think her daughter. Fruit punch was good, the Callaloo did not quite meet my extremely high expectations but the chicken tamarind sauce.... DELICIOUS, for lack of better words. Nice dessert, the ladies called our driver and they also accepted our credit card. My French friend and I simply LOVED the evening eating out and will be back dor sure whenever back in TT. Thank you so much ladies!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2worldtravelers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

We were in search of good local food, and found it at Veni's.

What others have written is true: very friendly owner/manager, mildly poor support staff, excellent sides, food looks like what you would get as home-cooked (great taste, but no presentation) and great Caribbean food

We had the saltfish accra, oxtail stew and stewed beef with coconut. All were delicious and didn't disappoint. We finished off our meal with stewed prunes and custard. Delicious!

As for the sides, I wish we knew we could order more as the fried plantains and pigeon peas were delicious. We certainly didn't know about that option because the waitresses didn't advise us

It was a colourfully funky, airy space and with a great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DelfinAndOso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Veni Mange also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Veni Mange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing