We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around very nice”
Review of The Verandah

The Verandah
Ranked #83 of 166 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“All around very nice”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Ate at The Verandah last night. So far, this is the best dining we've had this trip. A handwritten menu, hospitable hosts and a great location near other establishments, we loved the dinner. We enjoyed a tomato based lentil soup to start followed by grilled shrimp and a crusted chicken stuffed with crab. Add a few rum and tonics and we were fully happy. Met the owners who are very kind and they have a bar in the back that is really cool next to the outdoor verandah. Worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gammish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“My Clare day”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

So I decided to have a family lunch at The Verandah. The day was rainy, we had just been wed and Clare and I had decided to eat at this restaurant that we had never visited before. Mrs. Viera was always hospitable with a phone voice that made one feel always welcome.

.On arrival the staff treated our small party of eight as though we were the only customers there. Met at entrance my 84 year old mother was treated as a special guest with staff helping her navigate the wet staircase on that rainy day. There was nothing we needed that they could not provide, umbrellas, towels and a room for our celebration that did not humbug other patrons

This renovated old house has a wide verandah allowing for open air seating a garden adding to the ambiance and a menu that I would describe as TriniMetro. No time to explain the conjunction except to say it was tasty.

Anyone interested in a peaceful relaxing meal with exceptional service must eat here. Mrs Viera takes a personal interest in the guests’ experience at the restaurant. Her staff emulate her efforts to provide a welcoming and hospitable experience. Invest your time in a wonderful meal and do pay close attention to their opening hours. Have a great time. Clare and I certainly did and will do so again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KingEdwardIamhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This is our favorite restaurant for dinner - and plan carefully - while they are open for lunch all weekdays, they are open for dinner only on Thursdays and Saturdays. The food is excellent, the service great. We love it and recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karin18_10583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lange park, Chaguanas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice little getaway restaurant.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Nice relaxing restaurant from the hustle and bustleof Port of Spain.

The food is excellent, lots of local dishes.

There is a little wait on the food though so it's a great place to relex with friends or connect with loved ones.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andre_Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great Venue and Food”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel when their own was full. It was very friendly and the staff were very helpful. We ate in the courtyard - lovely ambience and very quiet apart from the croaks of the tree frogs! The menu was a little limited but the choices suited us and the food could not be faulted.It was maybe not the cheapest of place to go but was well worth it

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milliemax64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Verandah also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to The Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing