We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner on the Avenue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angelo's

Angelo's
Ranked #6 of 157 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner on the Avenue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Fine dining in a casual setting. Recommend the lobster Thermidor. Waiter was very helpful with menu advice and very entertain gracious and obliging.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    98
    25
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible value for money, run down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The food was ok but the atmosphere left much to be desired. Noisy, and the tables were very close so much so that you hear the conversations on other tables. The place needs maintenance. Does not fit well with the fine dining portion sizes and prices. We ordered starters and main courses and left hungry. The mushroom starter for $15US plus 15%VAT and 10% service charge for example was 3 small button mushrooms. And the ravioli in cream mushroom sauce for upwards of $20 USD plus 15%VAT and 10% service charge was 5 ravioli.
You can make an informed choice from this. Hope it helps.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravelermons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Trinidad is not really known as a mecca for Italian food, but this is the best I have found in T&T in my dozen or so visits. I've been here 3 times including October 2013. Atmosphere is very nice, as the restaurant is located in a very old historic looking converted house. Woodwork and high ceilings make for a really nice atmosphere. Food is pretty good and they have a very good variety on the menu (seafood, steaks, veal, lamb, pasta). The dessert variety and quality is excellent. Service is typical of what you will find in the islands, slow by American standards but typical of "island time". If you want the best Italian you ever had then your probably going to have to leave Trinidad, but if you want a solid meal, try Angelo's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Went here a few times and the food was great. Not all menu items available at times but they are very willing and helpful to put together something using ingredients that you like. I love that flexibility. The few times I've been there it was relatively quiet and it was a bit weird to see the extra waiters just standing across the room and looking around. The setting of the restaurant gives a feeling of sitting in an old vintage house with too many tables too close... way too close. Will be taking a break from this place honestly but do recommend it for those who have not tried it before as their food and wine is worth trying at least once.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank candy_dqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fabulous lobster.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Angelo's was recommended to us by a Trini friend and we also read a mention online. Although we didn't especially want to eat Italian cuisine in Trinidad, we heard that it had a range of seafood, so we made a dinner reservation. It far exceeded our expectations.

First, the setting is wonderful. A historic Creole house, with gingerbread and charming fretwork, set off by soft lighting. An excellent place for a romantic dinner or birthday occasion. Didn't seem cramped to me at all. Partially because the ceilings are about 15 feet high. Just a very charming setting.

Second, good service. Unobtrusive, yet attentive. Cordial, but professional.

Finally, the food. I think this may rank as one of the best meals I've ever had anywhere. My husband and I shared the beef carpaccio. Terrific. Flavorful, great sauce, just perfect carpaccio.
Then my husband had lobster in a creamy dijon mustard sauce (lobster taken out of the shell). It was insanely good...but I liked my lobster tail even better! It was infused with herbs and perhaps even garlic and served with a side of melted butter. Didn't even need the butter because the flavors of the seasoning were infused in the lobster. A lot of lobster can be rather bland, but this has tremendous flavor, which somehow did not overwhelm the subtlety of the lobster meat. It was served on a bed of mashed potatoes that tasted as if they were a cross between traditional mash and scalloped potatoes -- fantastic. Also, a side of vegetables done just right. Not overcooked, not undercooked.

All in all, we were just blown away. I hope to return to POS just to eat here. The prices were high, however. About $50 per lobster dish. Almost didn't get it, but so glad I splurged. The desserts looked good but we were just too full. Angelo's is a real winner, from the delightful locale to the cuisine to the staff. Worth every penny.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FlaTravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angelo's also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Angelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing