We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good”
Review of Chaud

Chaud
Ranked #3 of 166 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Chef Khalid Mohammed's Chaud Restaurant offers modern, international cuisine with a touch of Caribbean flair. Favourites include the guava barbecue shrimp and creamy cheddar grits with applewood-smoked bacon or a tasting of three tartares - yellowfin tuna, Atlantic salmon and Chilean sea bass. Chef Khalid prides himself on freshness, quality and creativity with entrees that include tamarind-glazed double-cut pork chop, and the maple-glazed double duck breast with apple butter. Be sure to end your meal at Chaud with some of the best desserts on the island.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So good”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I had a full course meal. Everything was delicious and paired with a new wine for each course, including dessert! All the food is prepared so elegantly and presented very artistically and it's filling as well! None of those tiny little courses that leave you wanting more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Finemind1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    91
    23
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memorable Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Visited Chaud for our anniversary and as usual we were more than pleased with the service, ambiance and quality of food. The staff and chef made sure that our evening was special and we especially liked our surprise anniversary dessert. Our server was helpful and knowledgeable about the menu and wine list, and although we are not regular wine drinkers, she made an excellent recommendation that we enjoyed. Will definitely return. I must note that our choice of restaurants was between Chaud and Tamnak Thai for that evening. Although Tamnak Thai has excellent food, the service is very poor. Since this was a particularly special occasion, we decided to go with Chaud and didn't regret it at all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TriniTraveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Town
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The food is average at best, ambience average. Average service nothing really special , just overpriced food.
Disappointed of the mediocrity of the restaurant from this chef, who is supposed to be best in Trinidad. Restaurant, menu service and quality needs to be revamped
Food was no bad, just would not spend that amount of money on that quality of food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank navindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My meal was very disappointing ! I had the lamb, which was not at all to my liking. To add insult to injury, the prices are too high!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salima2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad WI
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Lovely restaurant, overlooking the Queen's Park Savannah. Service was good and the waitress even assisted us in choosing the meal. Food was delicious as well as dessert. Would highly recommend the cold coffee alcoholic drinks. Overall a good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue64TrinidadWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chaud also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 

Been to Chaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing