We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Better Beaches in trinidad”
Review of Maracas Bay

Maracas Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Trinidad Highlights and Scenic Drive Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular beach spot fulfills the fantasy of the ideal Caribbean beach, but is just as famous for the scenic rainforest drive that must be made to reach it.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the Better Beaches in trinidad”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Its a nice beach.

However, beware of the lifeguard signs and follow them. There can be strong currents.

Wonderful for famous Bake and shark. However, you can get Potato pies, Gyros, Chicken and chips and other types of food

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TriniSuperBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    588
    164
    30
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This place is a must see. There's always a really nice energy and feel to this place. All the locals go here, so it's not full of tourists and annoying people. Because all the locals go here there's also no tacky souvenir shops or similar which is always a relief when visiting a popular site like this,
You MUST get a bake and shark, Richard's restaurant seems the best to me. If you go here and don't have one of these then you've missed out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DanFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great beach”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

shark bake is an amazing fish and chip experience,quite the best fast food I have ever tasted.lovely beach good yellow sand and tree fringed beach

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tjgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the best beaches I've been to, and I've been to many”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Maracas Bay is simply beautiful!

It was fairl empty when we went, and i reslise some people might have had bad experiences there but we felt very safe all the time. A lot of locals hang out there which is awesome. It is also easy to get to by bus from POS bus station (leaves at 8am for 4TT$) and usually comes back around 3.30pm. You can also go back to POS by van which is also very safe and easy (and a lot more frequent)

dont try Shark and Bake though as its not sustainable - the fish and bake they have is just as good and a lot more environmentaly friendly

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NyC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Its the best beach in Trinada and you must eat bake and shark. Spend the day with food/ drinks. Will take a few hrs to drive there from POS

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rasansie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maracas Bay also viewed

St. Ann's, Port of Spain
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
Trinidad, Trinidad and Tobago
 

Been to Maracas Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing