We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ordinary place”

Independence Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
Eco-Cultural Tour from Port of Spain
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Also called Brian Lara Promenade, this crowded area runs the width of the center of Port of Spain.
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An ordinary place”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Independence square is an ordinary place; nothing special. The environs was nothing unusual to talk about. There's an abundance of places to eat, and walk as you check out the various stores looking for souvenirs or some clothes or so to buy. This place is not remarkable and not particularly beautiful. In fact I do not like this downtown area - no tourist attraction whatsoever. The renowned Woodford Square is just a bit minutes further north, but it too is quite pedestrian.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pete p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    31
    60
    30
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Islip, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SOMETHING LIKE JAMAICA AVE”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I visited Independence Square while staying at the Hyatt. The madness around there is not foreign to me, coming from NY. I solo-ed it on foot going to various shops looking for souvenirs. There's an abundance of food, produce & fish vendors. Not to mention the humongous 24 hour KFC (spicy chicken is all the rage in TnT) and I found some delicious doubles & curry from one of the side stores. The walk around there is not for the faint at heart, and just like Jamaica NY, keep your eyes & ears open & your valuables close!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank B1TRUTH2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
217 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not for all”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Independence Square by itself as a destination is terrible and waste of time but the place around and the hustle and bustle around it is what might interest a few. Feel the music, people, trini way of life, culture and food in this place, which is crowded during weekdays. Beware, do not venture by yourself further south or west chances are you will loose your independence. In those areas we were asked to roll up our windows and take photos only after camera string tied around our hand so even if someone tries to snatch it would be safe. Going with a local or in a group would be sensible thing to do. Just like any big city say for Washington DC you have restrictions can't venture too much away from tourist spots and definitely not after sunset.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay_as_tripvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“just good to chill”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

firstly there are too many street dwellers in that area leaving a stench that is very unpleasant (in certain areas only) generally the square is a very cool place that i wont mind recommending to someone who wants to chill and just be in a city kind of atmosphere

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Street market...”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Be careful don't go as far the Frederick street because you will be in the unsafe area. Some Interesting old building like church in renovation but not as much

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieGravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Independence Square also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
St. Ann's, Port of Spain
 

Been to Independence Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing