We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”
Review of Samise Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Samise Villa
Ranked #9 of 43 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I had a fantastic stay at Samise Villa last month. Two friends and I (ages 20-22) stayed there, then headed over to Tobago and when we returned to Trinidad decided to go to Samise Villa for another stay!

The best part of the Villa is Denise. She is a quiet lady but full of tons of useful information if you ask her things. She sat down with us; showed us where to go and where to avoid (for safety) in Port of Spain. She was a great source of knowledge. The breakfast she served was also good, we had fresh bread, fruit and eggs. And she had some meats, cheese spread and jellys. This added to our appreciation of this 'good deal'. Despite not encountering her husband Sam and their son as much, they both seemed very nice as well!

We stayed in room number 8, which was for groups. It had a double bed, single bed and set of bunk beds. It was very comfortable, with air-conditioning controlled in the room and a TV. The bathroom is shared, and it is best described as 'big and blue'. It was very clean, and there was hot and cold water.

The Villa is close enough to walk to Port of Spain (about 20-30 mins) which we took advantage of to save on transportation costs, but a bus does pass by as well. There slogan is true, that it is nature near the city. Very green but also very convenient. It does share a wall with the Psychiatric Facility but it was very safe.

I will most definitely stay there again if I am back in Trinidad and I would recommend it to any of my friends & family too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We were happy to delight all three of you at our facility, particularly with our breakfast offerings. You were very pleasant guests and we always strive to keep guests like yourselves happy and contented. We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back to Samise Villa on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
12
24
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht Province, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I had a short but very pleasant stay. Both Denise and Sam are very nice and helpful to find my way around the island. The room was very good and I got everything I could have needed. So instead of getting a very expensive hotel room, I definitely recommend this. If I ever get back to Trinidad & Tobago, I know this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn_van_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We always endeavour to give our guests 100% quality service. We thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Great value, accommodations and service for Carnival 2012. Denise and Sam were really accommodating and helpful in getting myself and my friend to all of our Carnival 2012 activities and were warm and genuinely kind. The room was excellent and provided us with exactly what we needed. I would definitely go back. In addition, the location is convenient as well and a good transfer point to other destinations. Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samisevilla, Manager at Samise Villa, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
It was indeed a pleasure to be of service to you. You were wonderful guests and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We Loved staying at Samise Villa! The breakfast was excellent, I was looking forward to it every night. Coffee was amazing and Denise`s breakfast specialities very delicious. The hosts were always smiling and friendly. The room was beautiful, confortable and very private. Thank you so much Denise and Sam, looking forward to coming back! Best wishes Iti & Justin

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
We are always happy to be of service to wonderful guests. We thank you for coming and look forward to hosting you again and hearing the sweet sound of steelpan music played on mornings by Justin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed at Samise Villa with young children and loved it. Denise was great with the kids. Also, the location is great. It's near the zoo, gardens, savannah, just down the street from a pool, 30 minutes from Maracas Beach, etc. That food was great too. When I go back to Trinidad that's where I'll stay, no worries.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samisevilla, Manager at Samise Villa, responded to this review, 12 February 2012
Thank you for your comments. It was certainly a pleasure hosting you and we had fun hosting your children. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Loved that samise villa was close to transport and the savannah and other sites.

The hosts treated us well and breakfast was a treat.

We especially loved that the place was clean had a nice relaxing ambience especially in the garden.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
It was certainly a pleasure to host you and we are happy to know that you were comfortable. We look forward to hosting you again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Samise Villa located on St. Anns Road. It is not a nice and safe place to walk at night time. Also it is next to Physiatrist hospital!
Be prepare to deposit $100 and have some unexpected deductions for the laundry and more during check out time.

Never will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samisevilla, Owner at Samise Villa, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We are saddened and surprised by your expressions of concern of the safety involved in getting to and from our location at night. Obviously we felt flattered when you checked out of another popular Port of Spain hotel after spending time there and came to our facility where you initially booked and stayed four (4) nights and subsequently extended your stay for an additional four (4) nights and then another three (3) more nights. We really thought that when you increased not only your stay with us, but also included another member of your family to stay at the Villa that you were having a different experience as expressed in your review during your eleven (11)nights stay.

As you would have seen, the St. Anns suburb is a well known location for tourist accommodation in the Capital City of Port of Spain. It is in close proximity to many tourist sites and attractions such as the Emperor Valley Zoo, The Botanical Gardens, Queens Park Savannah, Presidents Grounds, the Magnificent Seven, the National Museum and Churches among others. Furthermore, the St. Anns Main Road provides the entrance to many large and medium sized Hotels, Guesthouses and Bed and Breakfast facilities. In addition to this, the official residence of the Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago and the Diplomatic Centre are accessed via this Main Road. This St. Anns Main Road is well traversed both day and night as a course for normal commuting and public transportation. Further, it is common knowledge that as a lone traveller, particularly female, walking the streets at night possesses its own safety challenges and this is relevant to instance and any destination.

Also, we have to say that we are unaware of the existence and location of the “Physiatrist hospital” of which you mentioned . However, the St. Anns psychiatric hospital, which comprises a very huge compound of acres of land borders many properties of which Samise Villa is one. This has never been a problem as evidenced by the many positive visitor reviews of our facility.

The security deposit of which you referred, is a refundable deposit requested of all guests to cover any charges or costs incurred during their stay and this was clearly communicated upon your check in. Our website clearly shows that laundry is a chargeable service. Guests are also reminded of the charges when a chargeable service is requested to avoid unexpected deductions from the security deposit at the conclusion of their stay and this was done in your case when the laundry service was requested.

We cannot help but mention that at no cost to you, it was indeed a pleasure for us to take you to the mas camp and pan yard visits of which we thoroughly enjoyed exposing you to the culture of Trinidad and Tobago.

Samise Villa will continue to strive for excellence in providing quality accommodation to our visitors and to make each person’s experience here at the Villa a positive and memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.2 mi away
Sundeck Suites
Sundeck Suites
#11 of 21 in Port of Spain
25 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#27 of 43 in Port of Spain
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 43 in Port of Spain
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Savannah Maison Guest House
Savannah Maison Guest House
#11 of 43 in Port of Spain
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samise Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samise Villa

Property: Samise Villa
Address: St. Anns Road 47 | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samise Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Trinidad and Tobago Tourism Industry Certification (TTTIC) approved Trinidad Guesthouse/Bed and Breakfast Accommodation (small hotel) situated close to the Central Business District in the Capital City of Port of Spain, on the main thoroughfare of the St. Ann's Road and only five (5) minutes away from the main shopping area in downtown Port of Spain. We are also located approximately 35 minutes from Piarco International Airport. With public transportation at our gateway, access is easy and cheap to and from this Guest House. Our beautiful B&B/Guest House and Vacation Rental offers quality rooms in a clean, safe, secure, quiet and comfortable environment for both business and leisure travellers with low, inexpensive, competitive and affordable rates starting at US$35.00 Per person per night with complimentary Breakfast. We are an inexpensive hotel which offers short-term and long-term vacation rentals for interns, professionals, researchers and vacationers, backpackers accommodation, hikers accommodation and student accommodation. All our rooms are of good quality with air-conditioned, cable television and hot and cold water. Wireless Internet is also available on the entire compound. We provide high quality budget accommodation in a secure, peaceful and convenient environment. Our personable service is evident by our highly rated testimonials from our past guests. "Our hospitality and personalised service will delight you!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Samise Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samise Villa Hotel Port Of Spain
Samise Villa Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing