We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alicia's Guest House
Ranked #25 of 42 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Trinidad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not bad second time around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed at Alicia's for a second time. The accomodation suited the purpose of our visit. However we had asked for breakfast to be on time since we needed to be out of the hotel by a certain time. Breakfast was late on most days, but enjoyable.

I would certainly visit Alicia Hose again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrinidadBabyFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    23
    12
    10
    12
See reviews for
11
20
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We've been there at least four times and have been always treated well. Keisha, both Jennifers, the kitchen staff, etc. have been great. They are very accommodating to us our neices and nephews who visit us during our stay and we highly recommend them. Like all guest houses and hotels there can always be improvements but the overall experience is always pleasing.

Natalie & Ron (NJ)

Room Tip: "Perfecta" and rooms on the lower level (near the pool area) tend to be larger and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is my fourth time back home, and my first time at this guest house. now i found my new home away from home.
it took the staff a while to smile, but they got it my holiday the best one ever.
will be back in June so keep my mangoes for me please.


Mike

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

This place was the worst of all the places i ever stayed, thank god i only stayed there for one night. Upon arrival the 1st floor that occupied the dining area was very attractive but upon checking in everything changed! The front desk clerk was very unpleasant and just dumped us into a room of very poor condition.The bed and my knee was the same height, the closet was falling apart, the ac unit looked like it was gonna shut down anytime! I wont advise anyone to visit hear, especially if it is for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank follower01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Ocho Rios, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My son Devon and I stayed at this place, It was relaxing, clean, very friendly and polite staff in all areas, kitchen, front desk and house maids. We will definately be back. the cost is very reasonable. its an experience to be enjoyed. Manifa is super cool. this guest house is definately the place to be when vacating in trinidad.

we are Delrose swaby-Hinds and Devon Hinds

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank del051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

TIve stayed at this guesthouse a couple of times before. We only intended to stay for a night or two as it had briefly changed management - for the worse- and we werent sure what to expect. To our pleasant surprise it had reverted to its original management retaining most of its original staff. The staff are what make this guesthouse enjoyable. They are courteous and helpful with no extra fuss. Special props to Keyshia and her day colleagues on front desk who give exceptional service. Housekeeping staff are also great, ensuring a clean environment all-round.
The breakfast is included in the price, however is basic and can do with some added variety. Their in-house food menu can also do with an upgrade to some more enticing local dished. But all in all this is a good house to stay in, and its literally 5 minutes from the Savannah.


Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLondoner1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Guyana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Having stayed from High-end hotels like Hyatt and the Hilton to cottages and apartments on business in Trinidad, I can safely safe this is the worst place to stay. It looks like a common grilled house upon arrival and not even a quaint one. The staff is discourteous and unprofessional. Some colleagues from the UN recommended it saying it was provided reasonable stay for a good price but at $87 USD a night, not worth it. Next time I'll find another place or pay the extra at a high-end business hotel for professional staff and service.I wouldn't even stay here on acheap family vacation.

Don't go here unless you don't care and just need a place to rest your head at night. And not even then can the discourteous staff be tolerated because you might need assistance and the response might really turn you off.

Room Tip: Just don't let this be your first choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cc83Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
1.1 mi away
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
#8 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
0.5 mi away
Savannah Maison Guest House
Savannah Maison Guest House
#10 of 42 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicia's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicia's Guest House

Property: Alicia's Guest House
Address: Coblentz Gardens 7, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alicia's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alicia's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alicia`s Guest House Hotel Port Of Spain
Alicia's Guest House Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing