We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay with charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
“great stay with charm”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from a 4 day stay at The Normandie. They have just renovated their rooms in the business wing. Nicely done with artwork in the rooms and nice sized widescreen tvs.

The staff was great, and attentive.

If you need to stay in Port of Spain this place is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinidadHiltonAlkhan, Owner at The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Mr Diaz
Greetings from warm and sunny Trinidad !

We hope the recent snow in East Coast is not obstructing your business.
We are elated to see your kind and generous review on Tripadvisor.
We thank you immensely.
We continue to improve our offerings so our customer experience at this house of culture, art, music and literary circle is enhanced. Your feedback and very positive review rewards our team with more passion to practice the art of hospitality on continuous basis.
We hope that you will soon return to see myriad of new initiatives our team in planning.
Thank you ,
Stay ever blessed.

Ali khan
Executive Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    35
    37
    18
    28
See reviews for
13
25
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Our well-behaved college group stayed here for 4 nights in January 2014. Students were ecstatic with the triple lofts after staying at much closer quarters during previous days. The Normandie was within easy walking distance of the zoo and the botanical gardens on the Savanna. Close, but not too close, to the bustle of downtown Port of Spain, the Normandie's new owners (as of April, 2013) have made steady improvements in the, facilities, amenities and service. Within the hotel is a quaint mini-mall with an excellent bookstore, according to our discerning faculty attendees.

The pool in the courtyard is beautiful, with a 9-foot deep end (no diving, though - just as well!) First and second floor rooms and suites facing the courtyard have views of the pool, as well as tables and chairs along the balcony for balmy evenings. Even ashtrays are provided outdoors, which is a refreshing feature for those who might be wondering about the smoking policies.

Palm trees provide privacy for the single rooms from 201 to 205 (and perhaps others), which are shielded from the pool by design. Housekeeping is impeccable inside and out. Fresh bedsheets and linens are provided every day, and unlike some other places in T&T, there are also blankets for those who wish to sleep with the A/C very cool. Recently renovated bathrooms are very nice. The standard poolside rooms have very large showers.

The restaurant is very good, but be sure allow some extra time at meals, and don't plan to eat and run. The complimentary continental breakfast is minimal, but our group upgraded across the board to the full breakfast, which gave us plenty of fuel for hiking, swimming and touring until mid afternoon lunch on the road.

There is another restaurant next door, and also one of the very few cigar stores for reasonably priced Cubans. Adjacent to the Normandie property is the president's mansion (or is it the Prime minister's?). Anyway, the dignitaries are rarely there, but you have the benefit of additional security in the neighborhood, if it makes you happier.

I didn't notice if there were spas or fitness facilities; we didn't use them if there were. We also did not use the meeting or conference rooms, but it was good to know they were available for class discussions. Internet access was not always consistent, but our most savvy techies say the Normandie's wireless routers were operating perfectly. It was internet service in the neighborhood outside the hotel that was spotty, as was often the case in Port of Spain and elsewhere in T&T.

All in all, good comfort, peace of mind. Just enough off the beaten track for peace and quiet, but close enough to town for clubbing on the avenue.

Room Tip: Some triple lofts face the pool, others face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prof_Leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinidadHiltonAlkhan, Owner at The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Professor Leone
Greetings from Normandie team
We are thankful and elevated at the feedback from you and students ,and we are grateful to you and students for highlighting some of the improvements you all have noticed.
You have described the property so well that no brochure can describe the soul of this property and ambiance as beautifully you have illustrated.
We have all started this journey to take this house of art, culture, music and literary circles to the next level where we truly reflect the essence of true hospitality as well focusing our attention on one guest at a time,we are now improving our complimentary WIFI,our continental breakfast is further improving it's selection to include more healthy options as well doing lot of training so service level is further enhanced to accommodate all generations. We trust that feedback as such yours provides us opportunity to really become a jewel practicing the art of hospitality.
We thank you again and hope to have many more visits from your students, families and other institutions desiring to have a unique experience of local culture and community.

I wish you all a great year ahead.

Ali khan
executive consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaguanas, Caroni, Trinidad and Tobago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had our Christmas dinner there in December 2013. I will never return. Food was bland and they acted like you were begging for the food which you paid close to $275.00 for. The staff was a bit courteous but the room where we had the dinner, needed much improvement.. was dull and basic looking and there was no music. Christmas in Trinidad and Tobago is centered around music and liveliness and Normandie in my opinion is definitely one hotel we would not be patronizing around that time again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodcritic-csyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinidadHiltonAlkhan, Owner at The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear food critic from Chaguanes

Greetings and happy new year

We want to thank you for your very candid feedback.we are sorry that our Christmas selection was not to the standards you had wished,we do sincerely apologize for this less than perfect experience.
We assure you that we have taken serious notice of this and can guarantee that not only critic as such ,gives us opportunity to improve our services and offerings.
We hope we earn to have you visit us again so we can amend on our shortfall in this seasonal event.
We thank you.
Best regards
Ali khan
Executive Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I just returned from spending two weeks in Trinidad and Tobago with a class trip. I stayed in the Normandie Hotel with a group of twenty others. They had recently been doing redoing the area and it is beautiful. I stayed in a room with three other girls. All of us had our own bed. It was designed with a loft. The bottom floor had a large fridge, a queen size bed and ample amount of space to put clothing. There were two closets and a dresser. The bathroom was very clean and organized with multiple towels. Unlike other hotels we had a large amount of shampoos, conditioners and soap. There was also a hairdryer. Upstairs was another dresser, closet and desk as well as three twin beds. The doorway to the left of the bed led to a balcony that overlooked the entrance to the hotel. As we arrived we were given the wifi password and username. It only worked for two people per room, but the people at the front desk were very accommodating in finding another password and following through to make sure that it worked. The pool area was very new and relaxing including having a fountain and steps to walk into the pool. There were about four to six lounge chairs and three tables to hang out in. I was very surprised by how well were were treated especially being a large group of students. Other places I have stayed tended to treat us with less respect because of my age. I learned that management recently changed and they are revamping many parts of the hotel in order to be more accommodating. I was surprised that there were bad reviews because I had been treated amazingly. There is also a grocery store, botanical garden and zoo within walking distance to the hotel. I also had an amazing experience with their tour guides. The company was Island Experience. Our tour guide Tano was aboustely amazing and I would recommend him to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinidadHiltonAlkhan, Owner at The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Mar,
Our humble gratitude and thanks for giving us the opportunity to host you and your fellow student leaders. We are delighted that you and all your associates enjoyed their stay and experienced genuine hospitality.
We are further elated to read that our housekeeping as well our front office team were able to enhance your experience of the destination .
I have taken the liberty of complimenting Tano of Island Experience ,who are located in Normandie.
Once again we thank you for your very detailed review of us and we hope you ,your families and other associates will return to visit our island again and again.
We wish you a great year ahead.
Best regards,
Ali khan
Executive Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I live in Trinidad and had it in my mind to just visit Normandie restaurant and the surrounding "shops" to see if it would be worth a trip there in the evening with my husband. Imagine my surprise when I never made it past the parking attendant. I wasn't sure if it was the fact that I wasn't a tourist, or that my car was old, but she interrogated me on my business there, and promptly told me since I wasn't going strictly into the hotel, that I couldn't park in their half empty car park. I had no patience for her discriminatory attitude and just left and drove home.

If that is the attitude to locals, it's no wonder that you're struggling and have been unable to recruit more tourism at home. How do you expect me to spend my money there if I am made to feel unwelcome and unwanted? Surely there must be a better way to treat potential customers, despite their skin colour, economic status, or country of origin.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AstraZenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrinidadHiltonAlkhan, Owner at The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Honored Guest

Greetings for a blessed festive season ,
We thank you for your kind feed back ,and we regret how you were unable to experience our hospitality.
The Normandie is a minority owned and operated Caribbezn hotel that is home to the artistic and creative culture and heritage inherent to Trinidad,
It houses paper based a unique book shop crammed full of all things Caribbean,The signature collection,Island experience, Pilates Studio,The Market Place ,Soma, and houses Bocas Literary as well Under The Tree which show case local artists, local music, and is known for supporting culture ,music and art..
We have adequate parking space ,though since hotel enjoys tremendous following in the local and tourist circles and lately has been very busy during this festive season ,therefore for safety of our customers and Inorder to facilitate adequate free parking ,our parking security may verify the purpose of visit. We apologize if this incident we may have been over zealous?
We assure you that we continue to engage our team members in learning and training so we can cater to experience of ever evolving customer demographics of all ages and need.
Please allow us to have the pleasure of your visit so we can demonstrate our single most important asset our passion for practicing the art of hospitality .this is part and parcel of our strategy to reposition rebrand our unique house of culture ,music, art and literary circle.
We hope we earn your trust and confidence of patronizing us again. We wish you ,your family a blessed festive season and a bountiful 2014.
Thank you
Ali Khan
Executive Consultant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 days.First,when we got into our first room, the bathroom was good but the second floor of the hotel room had no blinds or curtains to block out the light coming in,it had no closet to keep our clothes, and we had a view of the carpark. So, we moved to another one.This one had a closet, blinds to keep the light out and a view of the pool instead.The bathroom needs refurbishing and the A/C need an upgrade. The location was great.There were many restaurants and attractions nearby.We got good service from the front desk attendant Dwayne.
In general, it was a fairly good hotel experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the the ground floor are bigger and nearer to the pool(for the pool lovers).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaymondChinLee, Owner at The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Jonathan M,

We apologies that we have not responded to your review in a timely fashion, however we have recently made some organizational changes to our holding company and we are now embarking on a journey of restructuring, repositioning, and rebranding of the Normandie at Nook. We are being assisted by our executive consultant Ali Khan, veteran hotelier who until recently had managed Hilton Trinidad, former Hilton Tobago, and Jaloussie Plantation St. Lucia. Ali Khan is facilitating.the complete refurbishing of the hotel as well as enhancing quality brand standards.

This house of culture, art, music, and as the hotel is well known in the literary community is preserving the legacy of iconic social philanthropist Fred Chin Lee and his affable wife Anna Chin Lee. We urge you to revisit us to see and witness how our team is practicing the Art of Hospitality.

We sincerely thank you for your candid review of the premises and assure you the entire enterprise under new management and direction is planting the seeds for you and your associates frequent visits and your referrals.

Best Regards,

Ray Chin Lee and Ali Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Tobago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My friend and I stayed here for the cricket weekend. When he checked in, he was sent to a dirty room and returned to the front desk to hear “oh sorry.” He checked out but unfortunately there were no availability at other hotels soooo it resulted in him returning that the Normandie. He never experience this before so it caight him of guard and was very worried. He was then checked into another room, didn’t have time to actually check the room out, to observe if it was in at least good condition. When I finally got there around midnight I walked into the room there was hair on the bed, bathroom, and floor. It was so uncomfortable and disgusting!!!! But I didn’t let it spoil my fun in Trinidad. In the morning we got up and no water, big shocker there! Called the front desk, lame excuses and no follow-up, had to call a few times before we were able to get another room to shower. Upon check out we didn’t even get an apology no one was concerned, no managers were involved, but that’s the level this property is at. After so many problems you would think someone would be concerned, but think again. Don’t waste your time booking there but if you do don’t expect much :)

Room Tip: Don't choose any rooms at this property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sa'ida V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RaymondChinLee, Owner at The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Saida V,

Our greetings from Port of Spain,St. Ann's, first of all We would like very much to thank you for your very candid and honest review and allowing us the opportunity to respons even if is a few months late. We have recently made some critical changes to the organization of Normandie, we assure you that these changes are a direct result of the recent feedback we got from our valuable customers such as you.

We are now embarking on a journey of restructuring, repositioning, and rebranding of the Normandie at Nook. We are being assisted by our executive consultant Ali Khan, veteran hotelier who until recently had managed Hilton Trinidad, former Hilton Tobago, and Jaloussie Plantation St. Lucia. Ali Khan is facilitating.the complete refurbishing of the hotel as well as enhancing quality brand standards.

This house of culture, art, music, and as the hotel is well known in the literary community is preserving the legacy of iconic social philanthropist Fred Chin Lee and his affable wife Anna Chin Lee. We urge you to revisit us to see and witness how our team is practicing the Art of Hospitality.

On your next visit to Trinidad/Port of Spain, allow us the opportunity to demonstrate to you, how our team has adopted the best practices of "can do" attitude and customer focused attitude thus enhancing our customer's experience. We sincerely thank you for your review which has prompted us to make the complete makeover of out standards. Please give us another opportunity to host you.

Appreciating owner,

Ray Chin Lee and Ali Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
622 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
304 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#15 of 21 in Port of Spain
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Nook Ave 10 | PO Box 851, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between the rain forest and Queen’s Park Savannah, Hotel Normandie features 70 rooms, 6 meeting and conference rooms, an outdoor swimming pool and bright, attractive accommodation. Just 1 Km from the Savannah and 3 Km from Ariapita Avenue, at the end of The Nook Normandie manages to relax you with its tranquil surroundings. Each stylish, air-conditioned room and suite at The Normandie has colourful décor and includes a coffee/tea station, cable TV, and complimentary Wi-Fi; some of the rooms include a refrigerator. The Normandie also has a restaurant that offers a continental/international breakfast and an Italian flavour for lunch and dinner, a 24-hr front office, 24-hr security, complimentary parking, a concierge, a spa, and provides a tour desk and the only pilates studio in Trinidad through our in-house partners, Island Experiences and Madeleine Miller Pilates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Normandie Hotel And Conference Centre
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing