We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Budget Experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Budget Experience...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had an opportunity to stay at the Normandie Hotel between June 30, 2014 and July 5, 2014 while I attended a five-day Workshop, which was also held at the Hotel.

The Facility
The Hotel was located at the bottom of a moderately narrow gap, in a quiet area in St. Ann’s, very close to the Queen’s Park Savannah. There was a rather large parking lot to the left of the facility. If you opt to disembark your vehicle in front of the check-in area, you may find it very narrow - two-way traffic was very difficult. The facility has a simple appearance but the property was noticeably clean and tidy, with a recent paint job and all!

Be warned, there was no wheel chair accessibility and the hotel was not a smoke free environment, that is, cigarette/cigar smoking was permitted in public, (unlike Barbados).

The Conference Room
It was a large room. The air conditioner was a bit loud and a tad cool - nothing keen attention to the speaker and a light sweater won’t fix. There was appropriate space for projection of PowerPoints. Dimming of the overhead lights was not a feature, so the room was a little too bright – this was not a terribly large inconvenience.

The Staff
This depends! Some of the staff at reception are polite and friendly, those in the dining area are average! In my experience, service with a smile was not the order of the day especially in the dining area. (Do not misunderstand me, they are polite, but lack the personal charm and finesse that enhances the patron’s experience).

In my 5 plus days there, I came across only two staff members that wowed me with their customer service: Roxanne at the front desk, who consistently delivered service with a smile and genuinely assisted with my every need and Gregory in the dining area who simply floored us with his outstanding professionalism and charismatic personality.

The Room (Room 121)
I stayed in a downstairs room in the Samaan Wing. The room was of comfortable size with all the expected comforts - a functioning quiet AC, a small refrigerator, a clothes cupboard (with two sizeable drawers), a double bed (with plenty pillows), a full length mirror and a flat screen TV (with a host of channels to choose from).

The bathroom was large with the usual amenities - the tiny bar of soap, miniature shampoo, shower gel etc.

Of note though, the floor tiles are very smooth, including the bathroom - when wet, you may slip or slide, please be careful!

My room was cleaned in the mid-afternoon, and the cleaner did a pretty good job on a daily basis, inclusive of new towels, and a well made-up bed and mopped floors.

I had a convenient balcony which an excellent view of the car park and the mountains.

Meals
Breakfast: The morning meals were average, lacked variety and were presented in a very mundane fashion. Breakfast included chopped hot dogs, fish, egg, sliced bread, slices of watermelon and pineapple, dry cereals and yogurt. For 3 consecutive days, we had fish and egg for breakfast, prepared in different ways, but flipping fish and egg nonetheless… On the first and fifth days we had egg and chopped hot dogs. (Can you see a trend with the egg? Five damn days of fricking egg people...)!

Lunch: Too traumatised to talk about it… Summary - bland, unimaginative, salty at times and lacked variety. Unable to describe the horror any further! I stopped eating lunch on day 4!

Dinner: Based on breakfast and lunch, I could not bring myself to try dinner…

Internet
Upon arrival, you will receive an envelope with your room key etc, within the envelope was your username and password for internet access. You are limited to only two devices per log in. At 17:23hrs, the download speed was 3.09Mbps and upload speed was 0.62Mbps; during the day the network was so loaded the SpeedTest would not run.

Pool facilities
I did not have the opportunity to experience the pool facilities and I therefore have not commented on them.

Nearby Conveniences
There is a very large Hi-Lo supermarket about 8 minutes walk up the road, the variety of goods is exceptional. If you run short of almost anything, you can get it from there. (In some cases, the prices are a little hot).

Room Tip: Downstairs the Samaan Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Djwaunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    34
    36
    17
    26
See reviews for
13
24
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Nevis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre is very nice, the front desk staff, very helpful and friendly, the dining room staff very polite and helpful the breakfast was not of my liking as there is not much variety the fruit is good and the pastries ohh so good. It is a good quiet hotel to stay and have some alone time and be at peace.

Room Tip: I love room 101 it is cozy and secluded and you can just be at peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The grand name of this mostly charming little hotel was misleading. I was expecting a generic conference center style hotel. Far from it, this hotel has old world charm, and yes, a slightly worn look to it. But in this style hotel, that slightly worn look is part of its charm.

The rooms are nice, The pool looked nice (not time to swim).

The restaurant is good, and the service is very good.

It gives you a tropical feel in an area of TT which does not.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've stayed at the Normandie many times over the past few years. I've always loved the design and feel of the place - and the staff have always been very friendly, welcoming and helpful - but it was getting tired and a bit shabby. Visiting again, I have been so impressed with the improvements: redecorations, nice little gym added, a welcome drink on arrival and a new menu.
The staff are as lovely as ever - but even more attentive. Small but well selected changes have put the Normandie back in a class of its own - Trini, quirky and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnUrbanplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had afternoon tea at the Normandie it is called Thursday High Tea. I was surprise to see the amount of desserts to choose from the service was warm and inviting their waiters were polite and helpfull especially Gregory.Their Desserts were fresh and tasety.Tea is only on thurdays from 4.30pm to 6.30pm.Later we were showed Female Traveller, friendly room by Miss Kimmy Collins .I would go back to have tea at the Normandie again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13camiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Most surprisingly, I had a lovely experience today at the Normandie's afternoon tea service. Food was fresh, desserts were divine and service was wonderful. Hats off to Gregory, his warm, easy going style makes you feel right at home. And his colleagues were no slouches in their service either. I agree that the building needs improvement, but you can clearly see that they are upgrading the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I had a comfortable stay and their rooms are amazing. There waiters at the restaurant are very polite. They have wonderful room service. The pool was nice as well. The people at the desk are also quite reasonable. I would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: Nook Ave 10 | PO Box 851, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between the rain forest and Queen’s Park Savannah, Hotel Normandie features 70 rooms, 6 meeting and conference rooms, an outdoor swimming pool and bright, attractive accommodation. Just 1 Km from the Savannah and 3 Km from Ariapita Avenue, at the end of The Nook Normandie manages to relax you with its tranquil surroundings. Each stylish, air-conditioned room and suite at The Normandie has colourful décor and includes a coffee/tea station, cable TV, and complimentary Wi-Fi; some of the rooms include a refrigerator. The Normandie also has a restaurant that offers a continental/international breakfast and an Italian flavour for lunch and dinner, a 24-hr front office, 24-hr security, complimentary parking, a concierge, a spa, and provides a tour desk and the only pilates studio in Trinidad through our in-house partners, Island Experiences and Madeleine Miller Pilates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Normandie Hotel And Conference Centre
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing