We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friday Fish Fry!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great choice for a Friday night dinner. 2 choices of fish and 2 choices of chicken or ribs with buffet style sides. A great atmosphere and great prices. Easy on the pocket! It was a very enjoyable experience and look forward to another soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank msg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed at the beginning of July with family. The good: Courteous and friendly staff at the front desk
The Bad: The room I stayed in was very dirty and it seemed that everything in the room was broken, including the clock radio. The tub had permanent black staining all over it, which I have never seen before. I had stayed at the Tradewinds in south Trinidad the previous week and was very satisfied with my stay there.
- The manager at the hotel restaurant was very rude to one of my family members, who is a priest (might I add) Reason being is because we borrowed a cheap bottle opener but returned it the next day. The manager proceeded to give our family member an ear full?? For a cheap bottle opener? Never have I seen this behavior before.

I have stayed in many hotels all over the world, including Africa. This hotel was the worst one I have stayed in. It has its nice old charm but that's where it ends. My advice is for the ownership to invest in some refurbishment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anthonyq76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had an opportunity to stay at the Normandie Hotel between June 30, 2014 and July 5, 2014 while I attended a five-day Workshop, which was also held at the Hotel.

The Facility
The Hotel was located at the bottom of a moderately narrow gap, in a quiet area in St. Ann’s, very close to the Queen’s Park Savannah. There was a rather large parking lot to the left of the facility. If you opt to disembark your vehicle in front of the check-in area, you may find it very narrow - two-way traffic was very difficult. The facility has a simple appearance but the property was noticeably clean and tidy, with a recent paint job and all!

Be warned, there was no wheel chair accessibility and the hotel was not a smoke free environment, that is, cigarette/cigar smoking was permitted in public, (unlike Barbados).

The Conference Room
It was a large room. The air conditioner was a bit loud and a tad cool - nothing keen attention to the speaker and a light sweater won’t fix. There was appropriate space for projection of PowerPoints. Dimming of the overhead lights was not a feature, so the room was a little too bright – this was not a terribly large inconvenience.

The Staff
This depends! Some of the staff at reception are polite and friendly, those in the dining area are average! In my experience, service with a smile was not the order of the day especially in the dining area. (Do not misunderstand me, they are polite, but lack the personal charm and finesse that enhances the patron’s experience).

In my 5 plus days there, I came across only two staff members that wowed me with their customer service: Roxanne at the front desk, who consistently delivered service with a smile and genuinely assisted with my every need and Gregory in the dining area who simply floored us with his outstanding professionalism and charismatic personality.

The Room (Room 121)
I stayed in a downstairs room in the Samaan Wing. The room was of comfortable size with all the expected comforts - a functioning quiet AC, a small refrigerator, a clothes cupboard (with two sizeable drawers), a double bed (with plenty pillows), a full length mirror and a flat screen TV (with a host of channels to choose from).

The bathroom was large with the usual amenities - the tiny bar of soap, miniature shampoo, shower gel etc.

Of note though, the floor tiles are very smooth, including the bathroom - when wet, you may slip or slide, please be careful!

My room was cleaned in the mid-afternoon, and the cleaner did a pretty good job on a daily basis, inclusive of new towels, and a well made-up bed and mopped floors.

I had a convenient balcony which an excellent view of the car park and the mountains.

Meals
Breakfast: The morning meals were average, lacked variety and were presented in a very mundane fashion. Breakfast included chopped hot dogs, fish, egg, sliced bread, slices of watermelon and pineapple, dry cereals and yogurt. For 3 consecutive days, we had fish and egg for breakfast, prepared in different ways, but flipping fish and egg nonetheless… On the first and fifth days we had egg and chopped hot dogs. (Can you see a trend with the egg? Five damn days of fricking egg people...)!

Lunch: Too traumatised to talk about it… Summary - bland, unimaginative, salty at times and lacked variety. Unable to describe the horror any further! I stopped eating lunch on day 4!

Dinner: Based on breakfast and lunch, I could not bring myself to try dinner…

Internet
Upon arrival, you will receive an envelope with your room key etc, within the envelope was your username and password for internet access. You are limited to only two devices per log in. At 17:23hrs, the download speed was 3.09Mbps and upload speed was 0.62Mbps; during the day the network was so loaded the SpeedTest would not run.

Pool facilities
I did not have the opportunity to experience the pool facilities and I therefore have not commented on them.

Nearby Conveniences
There is a very large Hi-Lo supermarket about 8 minutes walk up the road, the variety of goods is exceptional. If you run short of almost anything, you can get it from there. (In some cases, the prices are a little hot).

Room Tip: Downstairs the Samaan Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Djwaunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre is very nice, the front desk staff, very helpful and friendly, the dining room staff very polite and helpful the breakfast was not of my liking as there is not much variety the fruit is good and the pastries ohh so good. It is a good quiet hotel to stay and have some alone time and be at peace.

Room Tip: I love room 101 it is cozy and secluded and you can just be at peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The grand name of this mostly charming little hotel was misleading. I was expecting a generic conference center style hotel. Far from it, this hotel has old world charm, and yes, a slightly worn look to it. But in this style hotel, that slightly worn look is part of its charm.

The rooms are nice, The pool looked nice (not time to swim).

The restaurant is good, and the service is very good.

It gives you a tropical feel in an area of TT which does not.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I've stayed at the Normandie many times over the past few years. I've always loved the design and feel of the place - and the staff have always been very friendly, welcoming and helpful - but it was getting tired and a bit shabby. Visiting again, I have been so impressed with the improvements: redecorations, nice little gym added, a welcome drink on arrival and a new menu.
The staff are as lovely as ever - but even more attentive. Small but well selected changes have put the Normandie back in a class of its own - Trini, quirky and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnUrbanplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I had afternoon tea at the Normandie it is called Thursday High Tea. I was surprise to see the amount of desserts to choose from the service was warm and inviting their waiters were polite and helpfull especially Gregory.Their Desserts were fresh and tasety.Tea is only on thurdays from 4.30pm to 6.30pm.Later we were showed Female Traveller, friendly room by Miss Kimmy Collins .I would go back to have tea at the Normandie again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13camiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Trinidad & Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cascadia Hotel & Conference Center
2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Port of Spain
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: Nook Ave 10 | PO Box 851, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: £80 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between the rain forest and Queen’s Park Savannah, Hotel Normandie features 70 rooms, 6 meeting and conference rooms, an outdoor swimming pool and bright, attractive accommodation. Just 1 Km from the Savannah and 3 Km from Ariapita Avenue, at the end of The Nook Normandie manages to relax you with its tranquil surroundings. Each stylish, air-conditioned room and suite at The Normandie has colourful décor and includes a coffee/tea station, cable TV, and complimentary Wi-Fi; some of the rooms include a refrigerator. The Normandie also has a restaurant that offers a continental/international breakfast and an Italian flavour for lunch and dinner, a 24-hr front office, 24-hr security, complimentary parking, a concierge, a spa, and provides a tour desk and the only pilates studio in Trinidad through our in-house partners, Island Experiences and Madeleine Miller Pilates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Normandie Hotel And Conference Centre
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing