We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Par-may-la's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Par-may-la's Inn
Ranked #23 of 42 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location with Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I stayed at the Inn for Carnival 2K13 and was very pleased with the accommodations. The Inn is in a great location and walking distance or a short taxi drive to most places. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and tidy and setup for a comfortable stay. The internet service was fast and I never had a problem with connection. Overall I would recommend this Inn and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roshelle212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    17
    13
    2
    6
See reviews for
6
11
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Ok, it's not the Hyatt, but it's much cheaper and great value for travelers on a budget. Centrally located, clean and tidy and in a safe neighborhood. Very close to Queen's Park Oval to watch the cricket too. I would definitely return here next time I am in Trinidad.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Almost like a hostile, but cleaner and nicer. Good location right by local cuisine as well as a Rituals Coffee Shop, internet cafe and an America Sports Bar. It's not a standard hotel with pools, landscaping and all that but it is a great place to stay if you are on a budget and looking to be a traveler and not a tourist. Great staff, super friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I'm a student traveler on a budget and I decided to stay here to make my dollar stretch. This place is worse than a hostel. The front desk staff is rude and did not even try to make me feel welcome. I arrived in town early and needed an early check-in: they would not accommodate me (did not even try). I found mouse poop on my shower ledge; beds are held together by two-by-fours and about to fall apart; one trash can without liner; remote control and the glasses in the room were dusty. Complimentary breakfast = four pieces of burnt toast served by a rude staff person who looks at you like you're the reason for evil in this world. I took a cab back from downtown one evening and only had 100 TT and no change to pay the fare (and the driver did not have change, either). I told the driver I would get him change at the front desk. The woman at the front desk would not help me!! "You don't have change?" I asked, incredulous. "No, I do not have change for you. The driver should have change." She said this coldly. This after I paid for my stay in cash and saw the register full of US and TT dollars. Terrible! This place is the pits. Spend the extra $30 and go to Gingerbread House or some other place with better reviews. Oh, and I'm not reviewing as some snotty American with impossibly American standards. I'm a rough traveler and usually stay in hostels/inns. When I read the reviews for this place I thought maybe reviewers were judging by unfair standards, i.e. personal standards formed from what they're used to and not from objective standards. This place can't even meet the basic standards of any decent inn/hotel/motel/hostel: hospitality and cleanliness. Blech!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank petra327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

The quality of the hotel is below a Motel 6 in the U.S. and definitely not worth the money. Even though the manager was courteous and helpful the receptionists were standoffish and unwilling to help.
Breakfast is only served between 8am and 10am with no early coffee available. No laundry services are available.
One refrigerator is available for the entire floor.
The window air conditioning unit was old and loud. One fluorescent fixture was on the ceiling and no bedside lamp. Light shone in the room all night from outside and the hallway.
This should be your last option before sleeping in your rental car.

Room Tip: None of the rooms here are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauraflorida09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

This hotel me and my husband give it thumbs up I have nothing bad to say about the hotel or staff. they are very friendly espically the Supervisor. They make sure that you stay with them is very comfortable. We thankd the staff for treating us with nothing but respect. The rooms, bathroom were very clean. The staff have excellent Customer Service Skills... I would recommend this hotel to anyone because they made us feel like we were at home............ Thank You Par-May-La's Inn...... I hope to see you guys again.

One Love
From Tanya & Silk

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tanya_silk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

Pricewise and location this is a gem of a hotel/Guesthouse in Port of Spain, Trinidad. It's very close to the wonderful Queen's Savannah park that adorns the area, where you might spend some time relaxing the day away.
I found the hotel staff to be truly wondeful, rooms are fine, maybe a trifle basic, but it's great value for money, considering the location in Port of Spain.
It's also a block away from Trotter's Bar/Restaurant that has a great menu as the hotel does not do food, only a free continental breakfast, which is pretty decent.
A good option for anyone and don't forget to check out the balcony on those hot nights.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Damian120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.1 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sundeck Suites
Sundeck Suites
#10 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#25 of 42 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Inn at 87
The Inn at 87
#3 of 42 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tony's Guest House
Tony's Guest House
#9 of 42 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travel Suites Ltd
Travel Suites Ltd
#1 of 15 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Par-may-la's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Par-may-la's Inn

Property: Par-may-la's Inn
Address: Picton Street # 53 | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Par-may-la's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Par-may-la's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Par-May-La`s Hotel Port Of Spain
Par-May-La's Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing