We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME”
Review of Par-may-la's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Par-may-la's Inn
Ranked #22 of 43 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This hotel me and my husband give it thumbs up I have nothing bad to say about the hotel or staff. they are very friendly espically the Supervisor. They make sure that you stay with them is very comfortable. We thankd the staff for treating us with nothing but respect. The rooms, bathroom were very clean. The staff have excellent Customer Service Skills... I would recommend this hotel to anyone because they made us feel like we were at home............ Thank You Par-May-La's Inn...... I hope to see you guys again.

One Love
From Tanya & Silk

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanya_silk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2010

Pricewise and location this is a gem of a hotel/Guesthouse in Port of Spain, Trinidad. It's very close to the wonderful Queen's Savannah park that adorns the area, where you might spend some time relaxing the day away.
I found the hotel staff to be truly wondeful, rooms are fine, maybe a trifle basic, but it's great value for money, considering the location in Port of Spain.
It's also a block away from Trotter's Bar/Restaurant that has a great menu as the hotel does not do food, only a free continental breakfast, which is pretty decent.
A good option for anyone and don't forget to check out the balcony on those hot nights.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damian120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

hi i was travelling back home from studying i flew from Guyana to Port of Spain trinidad when to connect to my other flight little did i realize my visa was expired, i had to stay in trinidad i had to exsauce the little cash i had to reach my work and used my credit card of the last i had. i could do anything at the bank because it was a weekend and also a hgoliday so i was suggested to stay at the Par-may-la's guest house i had no money i was frustrated if would be able to stay at the guest house. i was up and down at banks and western union but could get through until the next day i finaly went to talk to the owners i met her and she could have seen the frustration in my face she calm me down and said i give you a room and u can relax i was so tired i had a huge head ache. the next day i explain the whole thing to her she said dont worry i can stay until i get throught, i actually stayed thier for four days becaused i had to be rerouted i was so greatful to her for understanding the courtecy was so warm the service like a five star hotel. emagine stranded in a country you know no one and meet people that are very understaning and open hearted.

thanks very much to the Par-may-la's guest house where they welcome you with open arms.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tubecaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Stayed at this place for three nights. Single cheap hospital beds. Got bitten by fleas, my face was covered with it. Horrible bathroom. Breakfast staff rude. Knock on my door: "You have to pay the kitchen staff for breakfast you know" Three pieces of toast with 4 tiny pieces of butter and some jelly is their complementary continental. When I ordered bacon an eggs they came with an omlet with vegetables. 5US$ extra Awful awful. They cheated on the phonebill. Paid per night 55US$
The problem is that this hotel reflects to the T the situation in Trinidad. The place is dangerous, gangwars and the majority thinks it's too good to work. The beautiful gingerbead houses fall apart because they have no eye for history and preservation of patrimony, that is whiteman stuff. Everybody is just waiting the third outbreak of major violence. Meanwhile don't stay at this Trinidadian run hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dosP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I really was reluctant to stay at the Par May La's Inn since this was my first bed and breakfast. I will have to agree with others who said that there's nothing to do here but sleep. The rooms were old, but I felt they were clean upon arrival. They don't have free internet, but want to charge you $3 USD per hour. A work around is; on the balcony you can get an free Wifi signal. If you are used to staying in a resort...............DON'T STAY HERE. But, if you are looking for a clean place to sleep, you might want to give this a try. The bed was.....................THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE AND UNSTABLE EVER!!!!! We felt that it was just one wrong turn from falling apart (literally). They did have 24 hr security, which made me feel better after many local's stories of crime. I paid about $64 per night and this included all taxes and fees. I actually would stay here again for the price.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Fabulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2008

I stayed here for 4 nights. This a very modest hotel, but it was clean and nice. Staff was friendly.

You will NOT find any luxuries here.

The location is great if you're going to the US Embassy (as I did), it just one block away.

  • Stayed: January 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
14
Reviewed 25 May 2006

Stayed here on a business trip, but don't expect any modern facilities! The single bed collapsed on the first night - it might have been something to do with the weight of all the fleas in the bed!

Some staff were friendly - others were damn rude! You do get breakfast in the price - if you call 4 pieces of toast a breakfast - everything else is charged extra.

If you put this hotel in perspective - its perhaps one of the decent ones out of a bad bunch!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.0 mi away
Sundeck Suites
Sundeck Suites
#11 of 21 in Port of Spain
25 reviews
1.8 mi away
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
Palm's Hotel Trinidad
#8 of 21 in Port of Spain
63 reviews
0.5 mi away
Caribbean Tourist Villa
Caribbean Tourist Villa
#21 of 43 in Port of Spain
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#27 of 43 in Port of Spain
26 reviews
1.0 mi away
Savannah Maison Guest House
Savannah Maison Guest House
#12 of 43 in Port of Spain
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gascon Villas
Gascon Villas
#4 of 19 in Port of Spain
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Par-may-la's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Par-may-la's Inn

Address: Picton Street # 53 | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range: £61 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Par-may-la's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Par-may-la's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Par-May-La`s Hotel Port Of Spain
Par-May-La's Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing