We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Kapok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kapok Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Defiantly would recommend this hotel to anyone, very clean and good service. Will be back soon, shame to be back home. The area is great with a great view from outside the window, we even had our own en suite with a beautiful bath inside, loved every bit of it. Overall excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonarichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    139
    57
    14
    19
See reviews for
49
70
26
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Kapok Hotel in Port of Spain for business. The friendly professional staff provided consistent service. We traveled with valuables due to our business trip an we were confident that our belonging were safe. Their service exceeded all areas of hospitality, from housekeeping, bellman, front desk and servers at the Tiki restaurant made our trip comfortable. It is truly a home away from home. Perfect location, clean rooms, friendly and knowledgeable staff, and delicious food makes this property outstanding. I want to give a special shout out to Kimberley, Joel, Brian, Lorraine, Diane, and Leba. My partner and I miss our Kapok family.....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABoyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed just for one night when we travelling back to UK after a week in Tobago. Found the hotel to be very pleasant with helpful, pleasant staff and good amenities.

Great pizza restaurant with very good value and well made cocktails. Friendly staff.

Rooms good size with nice design features. Clearly a business hotel which suited us very well and would be happy to return if we were in Trinidad again.

Arranged a sight seeing tour at very short notice the day we were travelling back and this was very interesting and good value. Hotel managed this very quickly and easily. Also got late check out and used pool which was a good size with comfortable loungers.

Good value for money in comfortable hotel with very pleasant team of staff.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank debw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The level of professionalism displayed by the Kapok Hotel staff was outstanding. I stayed there on a business trip during the height of the Carnival season despite this, their quality of service remained unaffected. Every facet of my stay at the Kapok Hotel was perfect infused with smiles and laughter. Everyone made their work seem effortless. The front desk, who provided expedient service and optimal care for both my business partner and me.
The expertly designed Tiki Village restaurant, which offered a stunning panoramic view of the city of Port of Spain, with attentive waitresses that served fresh breakfast, packed with traditional West Indian and Trinidadian staples, which made me feel right at home, as I come from a West Indian background.
The rooms were immaculate and the room attendants were efficient, kind and friendly. I was always greeted with, "Good morning", coupled with a warm smile, which was very refreshing and reassuring.
A major plus was that the hotel was located minutes away from the Emperor Valley Zoo, the Botanical Gardens & Queens Park Savannah, where most of the action took place.

I would like to thank the hotel management for their wonderful hospitality. To Kimberly, Leba, Kenvern, Brian, Joel, Stacey and the entire hotel staff for making my trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: The third floor was great with the front of the hotel view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROCKSTAR_D718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Kapok worked well for us. We found it well-run, clean, quiet, and comfortable, although the rooms (we had two) were a bit small. We had chosen it because (at the right time of day) we could walk to Woodbrook from there. The restaurants were excellent, including the 8th-floor view of the city. A couple people at the front desk were unpleasantly quick, but Randy and Brian were cheerful and effective in adjusting a critical taxi reservation for us in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpetball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Spent Old Year's night here since there were no available rooms at nearby hotels. The lobby and Kava restaurant on the ground floor were assumed to be representative of the rooms, but we were in for quite a surprise.

Pros
- Good service at Kava
- Helpful waitress at breakfast
-Decent view from the room (6th floor), much improved from Tiki Village (8th floor)

Cons
- Reception staff abrupt, unhelpful (with the exception of the manager/supervisor who switched our rate to the local one)
- One working elevator, resulting in long waits
- Itty-bitty, tineesy-weensy room
-Ice only available on second floor (may not have been as much of an issue had we not needed to wait so long for the elevator)
- Awful smell in hallways and elevator
-Discolored pitcher filled with "filtered water" in room, no bottled water (given the look/smell around us, I can't comfortably say that I trust that the water was "fresh")

Overall a very disappointing stay that is not worthy of even the local rate. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We came here for two nights before going on in Trinidad. This hotel was recommended as a locally owned boutique hotel which we like. The rooms were reasonably spacious and our room had a refrigerator and coffee maker and excellent wifi (free--to boot). The service was friendly and excellent. They had no problem helping us with dinner reservations at other restaurants. In addition, it is on Savannah Park and right next to the zoo and botanical gardens. The pricing was pretty good and included a continental breakfast. All in all, it was an excellent value.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,058 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#15 of 21 in Port of Spain
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#3 of 21 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapok Hotel

Property: Kapok Hotel
Address: 16-18 Cotton Hill | St. Clair, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kapok Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kapok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapok Hotel Port Of Spain
Kapok Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing