We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

My family and I stayed in a Double Deluxe room (2 adults and 1 child) through my Hilton Premium Club membership. On entering we were very impressed with the wonderful scent of the room and it's appearance. The room was very spacious and generally clean. My husband and I having stayed at the Hyatt previously, found the room at Hilton more impressive with better amenities. We only stayed 1 night and did not experience the dining, however my husband and son enjoyed the pool immensely. Would definitely stay again and have already recommended the Hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear m p from Port of Spain:

Thank you for the review of our property on Tripadvisor!

We are glad you and your family were very satisfied with our services and facilities during yur recent stay with us, especilly the comfort of our rooms and amenities, as well as the pool area.

We look forward for your continued preference soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    616
    349
    166
    127
See reviews for
299
399
125
709
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed at the Hilton after a while of staying at the Hyatt.
The rooms are much improved and are good if not better than the Hyatt.
However breakfast at US$34.00 was poor quality and I didn't return after the first day.
The bar is still boring and there is no entertainment in the evening.
If you have the budget go to the Hyatt for the ambiance in the bar,better food etc.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEILCAntigua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear NEILAntigua:

Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor!

Thank you also for your positive comments regarding our rooms and ratings of rooms, cleanliness and sleep quality.

We are sorry to learn that we did not offer the expected experience especially refering to entertainment and breakfast quality / price. We have been doing important renovations in most areas and we are also working on entertainment options and theme nights at our Pool Terrace Garden Restaurant.

Feedback like yours is definitely the opportunity for us to improve and offer the service and facilities we strive for at Hilton.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights...located not far from the centre of Port of Spain with good views over the city , the hotel was built about 40 years ago and definitely shows its age mainly in the public areas and outdoors where a good coat of paint is needed in places.

I was in an executive room which was very nicely decorated with a balcony and a view over the tennis court. Bathroom was spacious with a nice walk in shower, no bath . Lighting in the room was good as was the wifi signal. Bed was really comfortable and the linens were clean and crisp. A Samsung TV offered a good picture with the usual TV channel selection.

While the Hotel adequately served my needs there were disappointments and highlights in equal measure.

Food and Beverage service in general is sloppy and not professionally delivered.I sat at the pool and no one in hour and half that I was there asked if they could get me a drink despite there being a number of people behind and in front of the bar, the only time any effort was made to approach me was when I went to leave so that I could sign the bill ... out of habit I included a tip but I should not have as there is already service charge and no service was provided.

I ordered a chicken sandwich at the bar on the first night which took an age to deliver.

On two positive notes I asked for a Bottle opener and a Wine glass to be delivered to my room from Room Service and it promptly arrived and secondly on departure the room attendant took the trouble to look at her list and used my name to bid me farewell.

So all in all a very mixed experience with some employees making an effort and others not seeming to bother.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 747/400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear 747/400 from St Vincent:

We are sorry to learn that we partially met your expectations especially with regards to our food and beverage service from our pool bar and our lobby bar areas Feedback like yours is definitely the opportunity for us to correct and improve to offer the service we strive for at Hilton.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and for your valued comments and ratings on our services and facilities.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Greenwich, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Views that indulge your eyes...and soul..Parang Music @ the Christmas brunch.. brought a must come back for Carnival attitude, immediately to mind.
Great buffet breakfasts mixed with typical local dishes like Bul Joh & bake.. fruit in abundance.. worth staying in the executive suites.. that includes the buffet with the price of the room.
Large roomy suites with refreshed rooms that make your stay very comfortable.
Old style 70's West Indian architecture, with spacious grounds perched on the hill top.
It's the Southern caribbean so patience is needed..however the staff is extremely helpful and Trinidadians may just be "the happiest people on earth!"

Room Tip: Book a suite..worth all the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APreudhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear APreudhomme:

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on tripadvisor!!

We are glad to know that we met your expaectations and you and your family enjoyed your stay in Trinidad.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the spectacular views, qualilty of buffet breakfast, comfort of our rooms and helpfulness of our team.

We look forward to be selected again as your preferred choice next time you visit Port of Spain.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I stayed here just one night while on business.

The hotel is on top of a mountain (or some may say a hill), and rooms are build from top down.

It has an older feel to it, but has recently seem some upgrades and refreshes.

The food is great and all of the restaurants have a formal feel to it.

I plan to visit this hotel again, if nothing else, for the food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestIndian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear WestIndian4ever:

We appreciate your feedback on Tripavisor!

Thank you for choosing us for your stay and also for your positive comments on our food quality and ratings on our services and facilities.

We look forward to host you again next time you visit Port of Spain, for business or pleasure!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Hotel by taxi from Port of Spain airport costing $30 US.
Check in was quick and easy and as I was a Diamond member we were upgraded to a deluxe king bedded room with a balcony overlooking the city and the ocean. A free WIFI code was also issued for each of our devices. The executive lounge was closed but we were issued with vouchers for two alcoholic drinks from the bar.

The room was spacious with a king sized bed and a desk with fast internet cable provided.

There are three bars that you can get your drinks from. One in the main lobby one downstairs (by the breakfast area) and one by the pool. The pool terrace restaurant is where dinner and breakfast is taken. The dinner buffet is pretty good, lots of salads to choose from and plenty of hot items. Breakfast has a good variety of hot and cold foods and juices.

The pool area was of a good size with plenty of sunbeds available. The poolbar provided snacks and drinks at a reasonable cost.

The location of the hotel is not near the City Centre and taxis should be used at all times as there are areas of the city which are not safe. An area I would recommend for night-life is the movietown area where there are an abundance of restaurants cafe/pubs and fast food outlets. Make sure you book a return taxi as there is no taxi rank at the complex.

Although I was there only a short time I enjoyed my stay at the Hilton but unfortunately due to the safety factor in the city I will not be returning to Port of Spain.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sospangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear sospangar:

Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor and thank you also for having selected Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre for your stay in Trinidad !

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities. Detailed feedbacks like yours are really appreciated so we can offer better experiences in future exceeding guest expectations.

Safety is one of the main areas that governemnt and tourism board are focused on so Trinidad and Tobago continue to be considered as the True Caribbean destination for international leisure travelers.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

This is a fairly run down hotel that operates well as a business venue but is not really a holiday destination.

On a plus point the staff are brilliant and do as much as possible to make you as comfortable as possible.

Breakfast is always very good with lots of choice however lunch and dinner is limited to buffet or room service. The Savana lounge is closed ( has been for a while) and whilst we were there the exec lounge was undergoing renovation and slap closed. Worth checking if you book an exec room and expect the normal Hilton lounge service as without a lounge you are subjected to an ad hoc voucher system for comp drinks that appears discretionary and is administered by reception.

Pool area is really run down and good luck trying to get poolside service.

In fairness to the hotel they handled my complaints extremely well and to satisfaction.

There is a new GM ( Mr Leroy Brown) who has a tough job improving this 1960,s hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianJSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBD-HTrinidad, Director of Sales at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear BrianJSurreyUK:

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and for your valued comments on our services and facilities.

We are sorry to learn that we did not offer the expected product value. We have been doing important renovations in most areas. We are glad to say that renovation works will continue and include some of the areas you have included in your review.

Thank you for your positive comments referring to responsiveness of our staff. Feedback like yours is definitely the opportunity for us to correct and improve and offer the service we strive for at Hilton.

We look forward to having the opportunity to offer you renovated facilities next time you visit Trinidad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,069 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
864 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#15 of 21 in Port of Spain
285 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre

Property: Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Address: Lady Young Rd. 1B | St. Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 418 guestrooms, a State of the Art Fitness Centre, Executive Club lounge and 10 flexible Meeting rooms. The hotel is strategically located just minutes away from the busy downtown shopping centre, but ideally situated away from the congestion of the city. Enjoy dinning in the cool Caribbean ambiance of the Pool Terrace Garden Restaurant or in the modern contemporary décor of LUCE Sushi Bar & Lounge. The hotel is famous for being one of the few upside-down hotels in the world, is built into the mountainside and set on 25 acres of lush, green landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Hotel Port Of Spain
Hilton Hotel Trinidad
Port Of Spain Hilton
Hilton Trinidad Hotel
Hilton Port Of Spain
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing