We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bird watching, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great bird watching, poor service”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The best part of the stay was bird watching from my balcony, as the property is located on a lush hillside. There is a problem with parking, especially if they are having an event. Don't expect good service. A very few of the staff are good. Others treat you as if they are doing you a favor by serving you. At the bar, the bar tenders try to find out your likes so they can put you down for them. They seem to love arguing about what football is and how wrong you are about anything and everything you like. There is nothing to do nearby. It isn't family oriented. You're basically treated as an imposition to them. The concierge lounge had a very poor selection, but one of the few attentive wait staff. I'm not planning a trip back to Trinidad.

Room Tip: My room was a decent room on the 6th floor facing the tennis courts. It was quiet with a lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank besttsktsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks for your response. I will look into your concerns and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    621
    350
    169
    130
See reviews for
304
403
126
718
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

A property in a location that offers great views. Was here for work, for one week. Room was excellent (just renovated apparently), breakfast buffet was really good, gym was ok, pool area was ok. Overall a good experience although in parts of the hotel you can really feel it is an old property. Maintenance is not at it’s best. WiFi was not the best either. Constantly dropping, and weak signal in the room ; low strength in the room and in the meeting room. Good strength in public areas. On the negatives: the ridiculous system of vouchers that you need to show for breakfast. If you forget the voucher, servers are not too happy, although in general I thought service was excellent, always with a smile. If I come back for personal reasons, one turn off would be that it is far from everything, and taxis from the hotel are a rip-off (14 USD for a ride to the Long Circular Road Mall, which should cost no more than 2 or 3 dollars). Breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xaviero76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks for your feedback and suggestions. This will go a long way in improving our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Front desk staff was not attentive, was curt and not very helpful in providing any info on things to do during my visit. What disturbed me more, was when I checked out, the staff was unbelievably rude! I asked her if she could assist me in finding out if my flight was on time and her response was, she is not my secretary and it is not her job to provide such help. I found that kind of behavior unbecoming for the service that is expected from the Hilton brand, it is not the kind of experience I am accustom to and come to expect when I stay with such quality name brand hotel. However the location and the surrounding was pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jackie072011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Please accept my appologies for your experience. Please also contact me at leroy.browne@hilton.com for follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were put in room 165 which is very close to the Cartlon hotel roof bar next door. The noise from the live band at the roof bar was incredible and went on until 1am. The problem though was not particularly the noise from the Carlton Hotel next door, because the Hilton are not in control of this, but our issue was with the way the staff treated our concerns about this noise. Their apathy was appalling. At 9pm I telephoned the front desk to ask what time the Carlton roof top bar closed, because, if it was by 11pm we would be ok, but if it was going to last after that we wanted another room away from that part of the Hilton. I was promised a call back with this information. I never got that call. When I called again at 11.45pm another member of staff said the music would last until 1am and that "nobody had ever complained about it before". The next morning I complained to the manager Derek Singh about our wasted night without sleep and he said "All I can do is apologise".

Luckily, later in the day I complained to another senior member of staff (Kenneth) who offered a breakfast voucher as a gesture, which went a little way to calming us down.

On the positive side, however, the Hilton is very well positioned in the hills above the Port of Spain and is a very stylishly designed hotel. Perhaps in a different room my experience would have been so much better.

Room Tip: Avoid 165 on Saturday's unless you can't hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. I appologise for the way this was handled and I will look into the issue you described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is one of the better hotels to stay at while in Trinidad whether on business or leisure. It is affordable, comfortable, secure, and nestled in the city but away from the center of traffic and convenient enough to all amenities such as airport, restaurants, and shopping malls.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We thank you for your assessment and hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key west, florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

And I did not at the Hilton in Trinidad. I used the free internet in the lobby, along with most of the other guests. Inconvenient for sure. I will not go back to the Hilton in these circumstances; there are other nice places in Port of Spain who value customers more than the Hilton. I am old enough to remember cheap hotels where you had to pay for TV. I put hotels who charge for Internet in 2013 in that category.
Other than that very inconvenient and inconsiderate issue, I found things generally Okay. Well, the hallways smelled musty. Not a good thing. Where I come from (Florida) that is a precursor to mold. I don't like it.
There was a lack of lighting in and around the closet. I just hoped I had matching socks when I left the room for my business meetings. The bathroom was nice and well appointed but a bit snug for my liking.
Breakfast was okay for sure. The other meals can be taken outside in the town on the "Avenue." I am sure I heard the waitress incorrectly when she told me the price of the evening buffet - it cannot be that much!
The staff were friendly and helpful. The place is clean. Two plusses. Their motto is the "upside down hotel" because it goes down the hillside. I would amend the motto to be: "upside-down and backwards," for their outdated policies on customer care (use of internet).
My final word: Dear Hilton, please get into the 21st century, you can (should) do better.

Room Tip: It is the upside down hotel, so get a room on a lower numbered floor, the view will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks for your comments. We value your feedback and use your suggestions to improve our services. Thanks for caring enough to mention them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I can't believe I'm just getting around to writing this review. Stay here. It is one of my most memorable experiences about my trip to Trinidad. The hotel is very interesting. It's out of the way from most eating and attractions but the hotel itself is very relaxing. Stayed here after a week of visiting more bustling sections of Port of Spain and surrounding communities. We stayed on the ground floor. Definitely was a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlkFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you and come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
878 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
312 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#15 of 21 in Port of Spain
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre

Property: Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Address: Lady Young Rd. 1B | St. Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 418 guestrooms, a State of the Art Fitness Centre, Executive Club lounge and 10 flexible Meeting rooms. The hotel is strategically located just minutes away from the busy downtown shopping centre, but ideally situated away from the congestion of the city. Enjoy dinning in the cool Caribbean ambiance of the Pool Terrace Garden Restaurant or in the modern contemporary décor of LUCE Sushi Bar & Lounge. The hotel is famous for being one of the few upside-down hotels in the world, is built into the mountainside and set on 25 acres of lush, green landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Hotel Port Of Spain
Hilton Hotel Trinidad
Port Of Spain Hilton
Hilton Trinidad Hotel
Hilton Port Of Spain
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing