We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate mostly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Campinas, SP
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Adequate mostly”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Coming in and expecting more from a Hilton hotel, this is the third time I get disappointed by the chain (others were in New Orleans and Atlanta). The hotel is rather old and you get some rooms very down below which smell moisty. Located near a busy road, you do get a bit of noise throughout the day and night. Breakfast was rather standard with few local items. It is also a rather isolated hotel as it sits on a hill which gives it a nice mix of plants but leaves you with no restaurants or shopping options. It is also about 1-1h30m from the Airport, considering the city's heavy traffic jams. Food is expensive considering other places in the country and internet was NOT free, something that Hilton seems to be pushing further than other chains which have eliminated this nonsensical option. Would look for other places next time I travel to TNT.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the new tower - not located in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR_JLF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your response. I am dissapointed to learn that your stay was anything other than hassle free and enjoyable. Please contact me directly at leroy.browne@hilton.com so we can make it right for you. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    616
    349
    166
    127
See reviews for
299
399
125
709
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was at this hotel last month. It took so long to get my room. They clean the rooms midday and room service takes a lifetime. The facility was clean, but everything is on "island time." The pool is nice, but it closes at night. I tried to get my Hilton honors points but they still have not been given to me. The staff is very kind and polite, just let me emphasize... SLOW. The grounds were beautiful. However, I was at an older end of the hotel and it smelled really bad in the hallway to get there. Overall, it was an okay visit.. I am a Hilton fan and this by far was not up to the Hilton service that I am accustomed to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vashti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your response. I do appologies for the wait for your room; we clean our rooms once guests depart in an effort to have them ready for the scheduled 3:00 PM arrival time. As for the smell on the corridor, please accept my appologies. We always prefer to have knowledge of any issue while it occurs so we can investigate it but we will certainly continue to monitor and maintain our corridors as you would expect us to. Thank you for brining this to our attention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 week while visiting friends. The rooms were nice but some of the fixtures needed updating or repaired. The location is ok, but be prepared to do some walking (uphill and down) as the hotel is on a hillside. Staff is nice, and overall the hotel is clean. I recommend eating at local restaurants or vendors as the hotel food is rather expensive for the country.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aprilia_Motogp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your response which was very balanced. The property is 52 years old and we are constantly updating to ensure your comfort is maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Some rooms are very noisy as they overlook a busy street. The property itself is very nice. Nice pool. Food mediocre at best and very pricey. Nice views overlooking the city. There is NOTHING else around the property as far as dining or shopping goes.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms overlook a busy street. Otherwise, the room itself was very nice,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your response. We are located accross from the savanah which can sometimes be busy at some times of the day. Noise in the rooms from traffic is very infrequent and thankfully not a common comment we receive. I may sound a bit defensive discussing our food but it really is a point of positive feedback normally. I acknoledge however that I do not have all the facts surrounding your comments. Please contact me at your convenience at leroy.browne@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

no complaints. wonderful ambiance with all the plants around. eventhough just outside city, you feel so at peace. Best location ever with the savannah right there. Great staff and food. Great for families too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Judith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for your response. Glad you enjoyed our great location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The "Upside Down" Hilton is a hidden gem, tucked in the hillside overlooking the park downtown.
We felt very safe here. The rooms were very luxuriously appointed and comfortable. Loved, loved, loved the buffet and breakfast. Also, the manager's reception on the veranda was a nice touch as well. Pool is an oasis and very relaxing. Would not recommend walking anywhere off property, but we had no issues with cabs. We will be back to stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zax725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your response and recommendations. Happy to have you back everytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am happy I did choose to stay at the Hilton. Would recommend it to anyone. Place is nice. Pool great. Restaurant had great variety of food. Buffet is a must! After all that eating do what I did and enjoy AC Fitness Centre with modern equipment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank KingCobraTaxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonTrinidad, General Manager at Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for recommending our property and happy you enjoyed our fitness center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,070 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
864 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#15 of 21 in Port of Spain
285 reviews
33.6 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre

Property: Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Address: Lady Young Rd. 1B | St. Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 418
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 418 guestrooms, a State of the Art Fitness Centre, Executive Club lounge and 10 flexible Meeting rooms. The hotel is strategically located just minutes away from the busy downtown shopping centre, but ideally situated away from the congestion of the city. Enjoy dinning in the cool Caribbean ambiance of the Pool Terrace Garden Restaurant or in the modern contemporary décor of LUCE Sushi Bar & Lounge. The hotel is famous for being one of the few upside-down hotels in the world, is built into the mountainside and set on 25 acres of lush, green landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Hotel Port Of Spain
Hilton Hotel Trinidad
Port Of Spain Hilton
Hilton Trinidad Hotel
Hilton Port Of Spain
Hilton Trinidad And Conference Centre Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing