We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chancellor Hotel
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Reviewed 10 February 2008

Our family of five stayed at this wonderfully designed and conveniently located hotel. The bar staff were friendly and had excellent conversational skills, we had easy access to the Carnival festivities and the swimming pool provided a nice 'cool down' after jumping up in the Carnival heat. We had a room overlooking the pool and the bedrooms were lovely and spacious. Our rooms were always immaculately clean when we returned at night and the hotel continually supplied us with clean towels. But it was Molly, Ronaldo, Renaldo, Ryan and Keisha (and I'll include Lisa the manager) who made our stay a delight to remember. I should also mention that the price we paid was substantially less than what other hotels were offering for their Carnival packages (and I hope that doesn't change).

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Family_of_five08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2008

We ( My Finance and myself) stayed her for 7 nights from 1/30 thru 2/6/08 in order to participate in Carnival -- We felt the location was great (located behind the Botancial Gardens) and to get to Queens Park we journeyed thru that breath of fresn air. It took 2.5 hours at customs so did not arrive until midnight. The Hotel had a driver at airport to pick us up (he waited for 2.5 hours on us) and they put some sandwiches and drinks in our room since the bar and resturant were closed by then (usually close around 9:30 PM). The breakfast (6:30 to 10AM) was wonderful and plentiful -- The employees made calls for us, they helped us navigate thru the madness of Carnival, got us taxis, guided us in our journey -- We had the good fortune to meet the owners (eventhough we didn't know whom they were) and had many a pleasant experience with them. One must understand this is Trinidad and you must roll with the flow so we did and had a great experience but we didn't have a lot of expectations to start with abd the beach was NOT our focus !! the culture and people were-----

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2008

We were booked into this hotel for 5 nights while in Trinidad on a business trip but only stayed one night.
We arrived at 10.15pm after a long flight from UK to find that the bar was shut, so was the restaurant and there was no room service! We were given a standard room despite paying for an executive one. The room was clean but very shabby, the breakfast was awful and the 'swimming pool' resembles a pond.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Archie_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Our extended family, including teenagers and grandparents in their 80s, occupied two full suites with two bedrooms per suite.

The ambience of this gem of a hotel was perfect for our vacation and the attention from the friendly staff was exceptional. As an example, when we asked for food beyond the dinner menu, a new menu was prepared which we much enjoyed.

Tourists in Port-of-Spain we were particularly comforted by the 24-hour security at the hotel, with a gate which was normally kept closed and attended throughout the night. Whether this was necessary in this quiet area we happily shall never know.

The hotel is a short walk to a good supermarket, the Botanical Gardens, and through these the central Queen's Park Savannah. We walked to downtown Port-of-Spain and back on the first day.

This hotel is great value for Port-of-Spain.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheTorontoEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2006

I have stayed at this hotel on three separate occassions, the last visit being in December 2006. Each visit has been a more than pleasant experience. The staff and the manager of the hotel were more than accommodating with all requirements and requests made. The bedrooms are spacious and cleaned regularly, I have never had any problems at this hotel and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank HBEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2006

My wife and I began our business trip staying at a large “name” hotel. Unfortunately, we were non-smokers stuck in a smoking room for four days. On day five, we decided to try our luck and to move to another accommodation. We had heard a few people mention the Chancellor, and we are quite thankful they did. The remainder of our stay was more pleasant than we expected. The employees were not only attentive by Caribbean standards, but sincere. We became fond of several members of the staff. The management and/or owners must have a specific type of person in mind to work at the property. The rooms were clean, completely tiled (another plus for allergy sufferers), and spacious. The ability to use the wireless internet capabilities throughout the complex was especially nice as well.
We returned from a long arduous day and returned the first night to find the hotel lit up in pleasantly colored lights, especially around the pool and the nine-foot waterfall. My wife and I were both exhausted and fell into a couple of chairs by one of the tables near the pool. We were greeted warmly by a bartender/server. We ordered and each had a glass of a surprising satisfying cabernet from Chile ($5 US including all tariffs and taxes). The meal was very pleasing and about half the cost of a meal at the afore-non-mentioned hotel.
We retuned to the room and slept well. The following morning we slowly maneuvered to breakfast (also included in the room charge). A selection of fresh fruit, warm entrees, various backed goods, cereal, coffee, tea, and juices awaited us. The mango was my favorite. Replay the previous comments for the next four days and you have our experience. We will definitely return to the Chancellor for our next excursion to Trinidad and Port of Spain.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Turnkeyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2006

I stayed in The Cancellor for three days before going to another place. Location is fantastic, quite neighborhood, easy access to the bothanical garden and the Savannah. However, service is terribly bad ( apathic ) , rooms are big, but uncomfortable ( who said that bigness is good? ). Old decoration like in a motel and the rooms smell. Trinidad hotels are expensive, but some of them worth it, this one does not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed: March 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paisajista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
902 reviews
1.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
316 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,186 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Normandie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chancellor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chancellor Hotel

Address: Saint Ann's Avenue 5a | Saint Ann's, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: £80 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chancellor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chancellor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chancellor Hotel Port Of Spain
The Chancellor Hotel Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing