We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Price!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tony's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tony's Guest House
Ranked #11 of 43 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location and Price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I visited T&T for 2 weeks in April and May 2013 to do a solo backpack trip. I stayed a few nights in Port of Spain at another guest house when I first arrived. It was almost twice the cost of Tony's Guest House. After locating Tony's Guesthouse, they came and picked me up from my another location at a nominal fare. The location where I stayed at Tony's was immediately next to bus stops. The "taxi" fees in T&T are very cheap once you learn the system. Tony's provided a clean room, good water pressure, and cable television. The room I was in was farthest from the wireless internet, so I had a hard time connecting. That is really my only complaint. I would recommend this to anyone staying in or around PoS. The taxi ride to PoS from his locations was maybe 10-15 minutes, but well worth it when interacting with locals and learning the transportation system for the rest of your trip (i.e., how to point in right direction with correct finger to indicate where you are going along with whether to use a taxi, bus, etc.).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
418 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

It is Tony's ancestral home. It is old and he keeps it very clean. However, some stains are too old to get rid of. If you are looking for luxury, it is not your place. If you are looking for a reasonably priced place in POS with airport pick up and drop off for US$35 each way no matter what time of the day and night it is, with clean room, a well equipped kitchen, and a super friendly, helpful owner who gives a free tour of the city in the evening in his van, it is your place. My husband was sick when we reached there. I needed to buy some food for me and for him. Tony drove me around all over so that I can buy fruit, ginger ale, cooked starchy vegetables for my husband and other kind of food for me. When I did not have local currency, he paid for the items and I paid him back once we returned at the guest house. He treated us like his own family members. The evening city tour was fabulous. Internet was good as well. When we reached, our room was air conditioned fully. Although the hot water was not available in our bathroom, it did not really matter. It was very comfortable for my husband to lie down and fall asleep right away. Because of Tony's care he recovered by the evening time and took the tour with me in Tony's van. Thank you Tony for everything you have done for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Purobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I like to stay at tony's guesthouse becaue it's nice and the rooms are clean also I like where it's.s I would go back and stay there anytime I go to trinidad I will tell all my friends that want some where to stay in trinidad about tony's guesthouse and the price is good.I stay in room 2 it was small but I like it because it was me alone I got time to rest my body with douth nobody trouble me.and tony's is a nice man he will do anything for u if he have the time also he is friendly.so all that is why I would stay at tony's guesthouse again and again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nigelwalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Tony is who makes "tonys guesthouse" a wonderful experience. He is a social butterfly with tons of information about Trinidad, his personal travels and his favorite local spots. But he is also interested in your culture and your questions also. Tony went out of his way to drop my cousin and I places that we had a hard time getting to, he even invited us for a night out to experience some of Trinidad night life. The rooms are clean, simple, comfortable, you get exactly what you pay for. I plan to stay here on all my travels to Trinidad.

Room Tip: Room 6 was an excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bajanguy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Tony's is a great place for a traveler on a budget who is looking for a simple place to stay. Tony (the owner) is a great guy who is willing to go out of his way to make sure you are comfortable. There is nothing extravagant about the place, but it is quiet, nice, and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Tony's guesthouse has probably the best service in Trinidad/Tobago. Anthony is very helpful! For us he organised taxis early in the morning, once to the ferry, and once for the airport. We arrived at boxingday, and almost everything was closed, but he drove us around town, just to find a place where we could buy some food. He is the friendship himself. The rooms are simple, but they are clean, and got what you need.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Tony is who makes "tonys guesthouse" a wonderful experience. He is a social butterfly with tons of information about Trinidad, his personal travels and his favorite local spots. But he is also interested in your culture and your questions also. Tony went out of his way to drop my cousin and I places that we had a hard time getting to, he even invited us for a night out to experience some of Trinidad night life. The rooms are clean, simple, comfortable, you get exactly what you pay for. I plan to stay here on all my travels to Trinidad.

Room Tip: room 3 was nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
4.1 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
4.4 mi away
Melbourne Inn
Melbourne Inn
#25 of 43 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.6 mi away
D'Lime Inn
D'Lime Inn
#1 of 3 in Diego Martin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tony's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tony's Guest House

Property: Tony's Guest House
Address: Papnis Dr, Cor Morne Coco & Sierra Leone Rd | Petit Valley, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tony's Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tonys Guest House in the suburbs of Port of Spain.Our Guesthouse prides itself in catering to a variety of guests. Whether you are planning a vacation, romantic getaway or your next business trip. Our guesthouse promises to provide first class service and amenities at affordable rates. Situated on 5, 000 square feet we offer high speed internet access. Desk available for tours, transfers and local reservationsWe value your privacy and rest, and are proud to offer you our clean and secure guest rooms at economical prices. A variety of dining, shopping and entertainment denies are just minutes away. You will never have to give up any aspect of your daily routine during your stay with us. Begin to unwind and enjoy relaxed and informal atmosphere, of this welcoming guesthouse. We are close to the beaches on the North Coast 30 minutes or 20 minutes the Macqueripe beach..The water ferry to Tobago, San Fernando and Venezuela are just 15 minutes away. Ten minutes from the National Stadium.Located in the lush residential area of Petit Valley/Diego Martin, you will find Tonys.Just 15 minutes from the capital Port of Spain and 30 minutes from the popular Maracas beach on the North Coast road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tony's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tony's Guest House Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing