We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”
Review of Melbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melbourne Inn
Ranked #27 of 43 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2009

In a city where “real” hotel prices are outrageous, the Melbourne Inn offers a cheaper, no frills, alternative. I stayed for six nights at $55/night. Not a place for a vacation.
For my money I got a reasonably clean small room with a double bed & private bathroom (shower). The room also had a/c which was good and a very small colour TV with many cable channels. The hot water is solar heated .
No restaurant or room service, however you can get a cup of (instant) coffee at most times of the day and they will make you a reasonable cooked breakfast advertised from 8 am to 10 am but in reality the cook does not usually show up before 9. The breakfast timing is of course useless for anyone on business!! They have cold beer and soft drinks for sale up to 10pm.
No wireless internet. Hotel has a hook up near the reception for which the charge a very expensive $3/hr.
No problems with check in or staff however it would appear that smiling is frowned upon and reading the bible is mandatory.
Location is quite good. One minute walk up French street is the intersection with Arapita Avenue which is a major nightlife location with restaurants and bars ranging from wildly expensive to reasonable. Very busy on Friday and Saturday nights (late).
Tips:
1 minute walk away is the “Sweet Lime” restaurant & bar open from midday to midnight. It has a free wireless hot spot for customers with laptops. Reasonable food – mainly fried.
1 minute walk away is the “Curry Corner” open until 6pm. Excellent local rotis etc for take away.
5 minutes walk away is “Garibaldis” Italian restaurant. It is run “hands on” by the couple that own it. The pasta is homemade and the food excellent. Quite expensive.
10 minutes walk away is “Jenny’s on the Boulevard”. Great atmosphere and very good food in the downstairs bar.
Traffic in Port of Spain is horrendous especially at rush hours. Bear this in mind when heading for the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cayeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2008

The Melbourne Inn is a good place to stay. It is in the Woodbrook area which has plenty of nightlife,restaurants and is only a short taxi ride to down town Port of Spain. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were simple, clean and comfortable. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank KzHappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2008

If you are looking for budget accommodation and a decent location you can't go too wrong with Melbourne Inn.

It's only a 2 minute walk from loads of restaurants and bars and only 20-30 minutes walk from the Zoo and other attractions around Queens park.

The car we hired out from there was cheap and of high quality. The staff are polite and helpful.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Scrumpy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2008

Hello,
I stayed six nights and have to say that the place was nice if you are on budget or want to get around the town. In my case, I was visiting hospitals around the POS and it was very close to the places I wanted and the trans. was very close to the hotel. The only thing I did not like was the house next to the hotel. It has dogs and if you are walking at night be careful.
The employees at the hotel were decent and helpful but do not expect too much services...it is do yourself.

NO CHILDREN PLEASE- there are too many people drinking on the sidewalks at night on the ST James Street and God knows what else they are doing.

YES. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KMRochester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
barbados, west Indies
13
Reviewed 25 September 2005

would go again.A great location.Nice staff

Stayed: September 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2005

We've just returned home from a week at the Melbourne Inn. The Small Hotel was quite the place to enjoy with that special someone. It was great I enjoyed every bit of it. My boyfriend and I checked into the hotel on Wednesday night even if our reservation was not processed we still went to book in person, also we got the best rates.
Our room was quite comfy it was so lovely that it was hard to drag ourselves away from the Inn to go into the town to do some shopping.Its really a good place to be if youre not willing to speand a fortune on your holiday accommodation. also the close proximity to the town and other chinese restaurants were just AWESOME!!!! I PLAN TO GO BACK SOMETIME.

HAD A GREAT TIME EVERYONE KEEP IT UP!

JENNY & RICARDO

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 2 April 2004

The Melbourne Inn is definitely not for those who insist on great decor but it is conveniently located and clean and best of all the staff are really friendly and helpful.The telephone service arrangements are a major problem but compared to other inns of similar price the Melbourne is good value for money. Good choice of name too.Many thanks to Cordell, Bonnie and Joan who are simply wonderful and make up for any other shortcomings the inn may have.I would recommend this place to anyone who wants relatively inexpensive but clean and secure accomodation in Trinidad but some small cosmetic changes would make a lot of difference.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
1.6 mi away
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
Coblentz Inn Boutique Hotel
#7 of 21 in Port of Spain
53 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tony's Guest House
Tony's Guest House
#12 of 43 in Port of Spain
31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Thanna's Place
Thanna's Place
#6 of 43 in Port of Spain
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gascon Villas
Gascon Villas
#4 of 19 in Port of Spain
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Tourist Villa
Caribbean Tourist Villa
#22 of 43 in Port of Spain
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at 87
The Inn at 87
#4 of 43 in Port of Spain
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne Inn

Address: French St 7 | Woodbrook, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range: £39 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Melbourne Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Trinidad. The Melbourne Inn is a well maintained guesthouse with attractions nearby. Close to all of downtown The Melbourne Inn is your destination when you want to relax in Trinidad. Just minutes from scenic parks and The Hasley Crawford Stadium. Privately owned property with friendly staff and all the amenities you could need. Let our friendly staff make sure your visit is the best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Melbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel Port Of Spain
Melbourne Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing