We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the girls are never wrong”
Review of Kava Kapok Hotel

Kava Kapok Hotel
Ranked #31 of 165 Restaurants in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
ireland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“the girls are never wrong”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I spend a few weeks in the Caribbean every year. Some of my female companions brought me here. Two of the girls had pizza and had the third a chicken dish. They were very impressed. I had a a salmon pasta and it was OK but the women are never wrong so it must have bee n good. Nice selection of wines

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST pizza in the world!!. Amazing upbeat atmosphere!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Walking into the bar as a single woman (here on business) can always be intimidating. I was greeted by friendly staff and a menu for any traveler as foods are ethnic and american. I truly recommend the soup of the day and their signature pizza named Kava. All pizza is a thin crust. The KAaa has the most unique carmelized sweet onions, goat cheese, sauce and a choice of walnuts (my fav) or capers. Salads are amazing and they have a wide array of appetizers called "cutters". I did not have any drinks but a full bar has many of the local liquers and imports. If you are in Port of Spain, this place is a must!!
Joyce from Florida

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maraval, Trinidad
Level Contributor
281 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Kava Kava”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Well the meaning of the word kava is "a narcotic sedative drink made in Polynesia from the crushed roots of a plant of the pepper family" with that said the drinks in Kava were quiet good and food was only average. pizza was good but the salad and appetizers need some work. the drinks we had were strawberry jazz and an rum and coke. i did see plenty of cocktails on their menu but didnt try many. the atmosphere is lobby feel as it is in a hotel on the edge of the city. the hotel itself needs an uplift which reflects on kava itself. management lets work on the staff and their attention to detail and attentiveness. more attention more sales. i will try kava again to see if there is any improvments..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lobby eating”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We went to meet friends and have pizza. We arrived early and went to sit at a sofa to await our friends to arrive.
We are told we couldn't sit on the sofa to wait as we had a table reserved and other people might come along and want to sit there!!
Food and cocktails were well made and nice.
Atmosphere is very lacking, it's in the old lobby shops and had too many different elements going on for a definite style. Ie bright coloured sofas, grey mesh, Japanese wood tables and chandeliers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellersnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food made us sick with bad service”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I would never complain about going out but kava did not only have bad service/management but food that made our stomachs a bit upset. This review is not to bad talk kava but to help them see how to treat customers with trust and respect. I just got home and we liked the pizza but when we ordered the salad that we couldn't eat it due to the amount of garlic they claimed it didnt have. i am slightly allergic to garlic so i will know. The staff is a reflection on the management and owner, They made us look like liars and walked out with our tail between our legs. A simple sorry or a manager to come over would have gone a long way.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kava Kapok Hotel also viewed

Port of Spain, Trinidad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
 
St. Ann's, Port of Spain
 
San Fernando, Trinidad
 

Been to Kava Kapok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing