We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Port of Spain
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed as a family here for 2 nights and experienced exceptional service from beginning to end. On arrival we had been upgraded to 2 spacious rooms with balconies and a fabulous bathroom in one. The front office staff were incredibly attentive and helpful but we found the bar staff and breakfast staff to be very pleasant too. Nothing seemed too much trouble and any request was attended to immediately. The a la carte breakfast had something to suit each family member. and was good value. My only small gripe was that none of the wines offered at the bar were to my personal taste. We would have stayed in Trinidad longer had we known the hotel was going to be so nice and well situated next to the Movietowne Plaza. If we come to Trinidad again I will certainly make this my number one choice.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Allison E,

We were happy to serve you and your family during your stay with us and appreciate your feedback on our wine selection.

We hope that you will visit Trinidad again sometime soon and stay with us, your home away from home.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Visited this property from 3-10 Aug 13 and had a wonderful experience. The staff was super friendly, professional and courteous. My wife was born in Port of Spain and hadn't been back in over 40 years and this was my first visit...the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The staff are all top notch! We wish to give special thanks to Dana (Housekeeping), the Front Desk staff (especially Joleesa), and the Bar Staff (Melissa, Rhonda, Maria, Alyssa, Beena, Netty, Edomite, and Mario)!!! When our travel journey brings us back to Port of Spain, we'll make a beeline for this facility! Thank you all for the smiles and warmth!

Tim and Susan Johnson

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Timothy J,

We are happy that we made your wife's return to Trinidad a comfortable one and that we were able to demonstrate true Trini hospitality to you on your first visit.

Thank you for recognising our associates, be assured I will share this with each of them as well as the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My family (4persons) made our first vist to Trinidad on July 4th 2013. We arrived at the Courtyard Marriott around 12.00noon after a 5.5 hour flight from Toronto and were greeted politely and reminded of the check in time. However the front desk staff was able to accomodate us with a room by 1.30pm.
On the first night of our stay the guests in the room beside us had a very loud argument which lasted from 11.30pm until 2.15am. The next morning I spoke to the Manager Dinelle Rivers and vented my concerns about staying there for another 8 nights not knowing what to expect. Well the manager certainly listened carefully and showed facial expressions of her concern to my issue and offered her regrets and apology and promised to do something about my concern. Within fifteen mins of speaking to the manager I received a phone call offering us a room on the 4th floor which we accepted. The second night we slept well and every night of our stay. Don't let one ugly guest turn you away from an excellent hotel. The Courtyard Marriott staff made a quick recovery to what could have been an unhappy visit to a quality hotel with great location.
The hotel was very clean, lots of TV screens to check on your sports teams, business and world news. Breakfast was very good enjoyed the bacon, pan cakes and eggs. My wife tried the local breakfast of salt fish and bake also herring. We felt safe at this hotel. The staff was professional, smiling, and showed that they cared about making us feel welcomed and comfortable. Early 2014 we will be going back to Trinidad and WE WILL STAY AT THE COURTYARD BY MARRIOTT AGAIN.

Room Tip: 403 or 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bertie798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I traveled to Port of Spain to conduct a workshop on hospitality education and was housed at the Marriott Courtyard. From the moment that I stepped into the hotel the services and attention to detail was excellent, ALL staff was polite and professional and very helpful with any need that I might have had. At at the restaurant several times (breakfast and dinner) and the service and meals were excellent and service quickly (and they were busy). Atmosphere was relaxing and appearance was clean. Room was comfortable.

Room Tip: Request room on back side of hotel so that the traffic will not bother your rest (very busy highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMarc9491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We spent a Sunday here working on our presentation to the Society for Severe & Inherited Blood Disorders (Trinidad & Tobago) Ltd. as the power company was doing scheduled maintenance in the area where we lived.

They offer open booths that seat about 5 with your own personal television with cableTV. Each booth also has two power plugs for charging laptops and cell phones. They also offer free wifi internet access and printing services.

We also had lunch there which was very good. The staff was attentive and very helpful.

All round, a great place to get some work done and have a great meal while you're at it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

After a lovely welcome at the airport and speedy journey into town, our burning desire to get to the cricket match yesterday was thoroughly drenched by the staff at The Marriott Courtyard Hotel. Sadly the reviews said it was a good hotel and, as no better alternative was available, we checked in for 4 days to go tot he cricket. BIG mistake. The staff here are firmly of the opinion that only their voices, their rules and spouting endless policy matters. All of them were women, of course, and the Manageress was the worst. All we wanted was a quick shower and change and to get to the West Indies v India cricket match. So simple. But made impossible. We won't be Back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Sarah B,

Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback, we regret that you had to wait for your room upon arrival at 11:35am.

For future stays with us we would recommend advising us that you will be arriving early (check in time is 3:00pm) so that we can try our best to facilitate your request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Our recent stay at the Courtyard started out with a simple email requesting information, which ended up as the best stay that I have experienced in a long time! Gina, (one of the people that I communicated with) was simply amazing in getting the information for us and seeing it right through to the end, thank you so much! You made a complicated group booking a simple task.

Everyone in this hotel was so friendly and courteous from the housekeepers to the management. Nothing was too small for them to look after. I would definitely go back to this property and would recommend to any of my friends and family. Good job guys, keep it up! Paul.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrpuff61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to recognise the service received from Gina, she will definitely be recognised for her excellent service, that exemplifies the standard that Marriott is known worldwide for.

I do look forward to meeting you someday.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,189 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
316 reviews
35.0 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Port of Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Port of Spain

Address: Audrey Jeffers Highway | Invaders Bay, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range: £114 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Port of Spain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago in style when staying in the Courtyard Port of Spain. Our contemporary hotel is situated in close proximity to some of the area's best shopping, dining and attractions, such as Hasley Crawford National Stadium and Maracas Beach. Guests of our hotel love our spacious and inviting guest rooms, complimentary high speed Internet access, peaceful pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Port of Spain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Hotel Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Courtyard
Courtyard Port Of Spain Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing