We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Port of Spain
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice - Kathleen took care of my room very well.
The big improvement needed would be to have the same TV reception in the room as in the lobby - There is a much better channel selection in the lobby and they need to make it available in the room also.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Don H,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay with us.

Kathleen takes pride in her job and endeavours every day to provide a personalized housekeeping experience, she will be recognized among her peers for your feedback.

Please know that your comment about the channel line up is a concern for us however, currently there are restrictions in place by the local cable provider. We will continue to look into it though so that we can improve the line up once the opportunity arises.

We hope to have you back with us sometime soon.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    302
    47
    11
    14
See reviews for
160
166
59
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad and Tobago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

During the 9 days my wife and I have stayed here, we have been treated by far better than any other Marriott hotel. Extra attention given by all staff including front desk, bar, restaurant and especially by Racine who has been our house keeper, she has been wonderful. All staff have been extremely friendly, helpful and attentive. Congratulations to you Nicol Khelawan and all your staff. A wonderful stay, which I will share on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the front of the building may be disturbed by the main road running in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Phil R,

We appreciate your recognizing the efforts of our team who really are committed to ensuring our guests are satisfied during their time with us. I had the pleasure of reading your comments about Racine in the Housekeeping morning meeting, she was very appreciative of your recognition.

Our regards to your wife and we hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just off of the main Highway that travels to the East and West of the island and right next to a major shopping mall with multi-screen theatre and many restaurants. The Hotel has it's own restaurant which has really great food, but having it in the middle of the lobby seems too open. Okay for breakfast and Lunch, but not private enough for dinner in my opinion. The market (a micro grocery store) also provides simple snacks, drinks and basic necessities for purchase. This is super convenient and often comes in handy. The basic King bed room is nice and roomy, but wouldn't be good for more than 2 people and only small children. A microwave was free on request and was worth having. The in-room safe is a nice touch and the balcony window actually opens, so those with small children, be careful! The bathroom has a nice sink area and is a good size. The pool has a nice walk in step with hand-rail and a deep end that isn't too deep, just over 5 feet. It could use some toys or inflatables to entertain kids, but is still a decent size for families.

Room Tip: Fourth floor facing the highway, sports complexes and mountains is very nice. Room 430 was a good ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Don M,

It was our pleasure having you stay with us and we do appreciate your taking the time to share with us about your stay.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on our restaurant, we do have a semi private area that offers our guests a more private dining experience. We are happy that our 24 hour Market met your needs during your time with us.

Your comments on the pool has been passed on and will attended to within the next couple of days.

Don M, we certainly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to Port of Spain and we hope that you will join us for our Sunday buffet lunch.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I travel to Trinidad every five weeks fir a week. I always stay at the Marriott Courtyard, Port-of-Spain. I cannot tell you how welcoming and how hospitable the staff here is. They know me by name by trip number two and trip number 100. It doesn't matter, they always make things right. The property is good for the price - nice lobby area, nice restaurant and great bar staff. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. But what really gets me is how great this staff is all around. There has not been one time at any moment in the many years that I've been coming here that anybody has ever done anything to upset me or where I have been treated without a smile, hello,good morning or good afternoon. This makes being away from home palatable. This is a great place. It is also next-door to Movietown which houses several restaurants, a movie theater and several stores. You can walk there and feel safe at any moment. As a female traveler for business I always stay in places that make me feel comfortable and safe. This one is it.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sol305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Sol305,

We appreciate you taking the time to share on your experience at our hotel.

Thank you recognizing our team for creating connections with you so that you are known and your preferences are remembered and catered to.

We understand that being away from home can be challenging and are truly pleased that we can make life on the road easier and safer for you as a female business traveller.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your business brings you back to Port of Spain in four weeks.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Don't expect your room to be ready when you arrive after a long flight at 6 PM.
Don't expect laundry to be done on the weekend.
Expect them to get your order for breakfast, lunch and dinner wrong on a daily basis.
Don't expect room cleaning and towel replacement to happen before 5 PM, if at all.
Don't expect the printer in the 'business centre' to work.
Expect a 15 minute wait for coffee, longer for anything more complicated.
(Minor detail, but the South American wines at the bar are dreadful)...

....Then appreciate why Trinidad is not a major player in the world of business and commerce!

Room Tip: Try the Hyatt
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Jim953,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us.

Unfortunately, my attempts to look into your concerns were futile since we do not have any record of any of the issues you identified being reported to any of our team.

I am very interested in getting more details so that I can look into your concerns, kindly email me at cy.poscy.guestcare@courtyard.com

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, Bahamas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My stay at this hotel was a six (6) day stay. All positive reviews you may have read, I totally agree with. The housekeeping staff here was amazing. My attendant was AVRIL at the hotel and the manner in which she took care of the room was amazing. It was as though she worked at the Ritz-Carlton and this was the only room she had to attend to. Everything was immaculate. TLC was clearly visible in her service. I want to thank her for that and the other staff members for making this stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: For a view of the Mountain and Stadium, room on the Fourth (4th) Floor, even numbers side, between 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Patrick C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

We really appreciate your generous comments about our housekeeping team and in particular Avril. Avril takes pride in her work and continues to exemplify Marriott’s spirit to serve.

It is music to our ears to hear that you think Avril’s work is of the standard of one of Marriott's luxury brands, Ritz Carlton. That is such a wonderful compliment. Your comments will be shared with Avril and she will be recognized for her efforts.

We do look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

In June, I had the pleasure of vacationing in Port of Spain,Trinidad (coming from Atlanta). This was my first time to this country and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Marriott Port of Spain. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Not only were the associates accomodating, they made sure we made it to our destination safe and on time. I highly recommend staying at this property while in Trinindad. The following showed/displayed excellent customer service: Adana, Jamaal, Joleesa, Marvin, Shenice, Melisa, Pauline, Paulina and Tojo !!! I am a Marriott Rewards Member and I am proud to say this visit was second to none !!! The enitre staff deserve a RAISE !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCYPOS, General Manager at Courtyard Port of Spain, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Walter H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to hear that your overall experience was an excellent one.

We are constantly striving to improve our guest’s experiences and it is encouraging to hear when our guests enjoy their time with us. Your recognition of our Front Desk and Centro staff will be shared with them.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay!

Regards,
Nicol Khelawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,111 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
312 reviews
35.0 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Port of Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Port of Spain

Property: Courtyard Port of Spain
Address: Invaders Bay, Audrey Jeffers Highway, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Port of Spain 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago in style when staying in the Courtyard Port of Spain. Our contemporary hotel is situated in close proximity to some of the area's best shopping, dining and attractions, such as Hasley Crawford National Stadium and Maracas Beach. Guests of our hotel love our spacious and inviting guest rooms, complimentary high speed Internet access, peaceful pool and state-of-the-art fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Port of Spain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Port Of Spain Hotel Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Courtyard
Courtyard Port Of Spain Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing