We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Hotel For Short Stays Only” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alicia's Palace

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port of Spain
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alicia's Palace
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Trinidad
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Average Hotel For Short Stays Only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Spent one night at the hotel with my spouse this week to attend a Carnival activity in POS.Hotel is ok for an overnight/weekend stay,would not recommend for longer.It is a winding 6-7 minute drive uphill,be weary of the joggers/runners 24-7.Reception area is very tiny,we had the least expensive room which is very average,clean,small,double bed is smaller than tne normal regular size.Breakfast was OK,small pool for lazing not swimming.nice view from dining area,not much choices at breakfast.All in all ok for very short stays.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back had views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassiecage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    20
    9
    10
See reviews for
7
25
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Alicia's palace accommodated our group of 19 students and three faculty in January of 2013. The hearty daily breakfast buffet of local cuisine got us off to a great start every morning. For the price, It is the best available value for a group like ours, with various rooming configurations, although there were no quads, which had been popular with students in other locations.

Being set in the hills above Port of Spain, the view from the dining terrace is fabulous, Transportation to downtown is available, but the cab situation in Port of Spain can be confusing. We often took the hotel shuttle downtown to Alicia's House (a related property), and back for downtown excursions.

We may have been a bit fussy, but the staff addressed our suggestions as they arose (such as supplying ping pong balls and leveling the pool table on the recreation terrace). The WiFi- was spotty, but once we learned which routers to use, we could usually get online to upload photos and FB status of our trip.

The pool was nice, and the staff accommodated our group's desire for extended pool hours.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front have balconies, with views of the beautiful grounds, but not of the city belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prof_Leone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Here is a great place to stay.. the service, the atmosphere, the environment, its amazing!!! The view from the hotel is amazing and you can sit out in the dining area and enjoy it to your heart's content. I found the staff to pleasant and the food was excellent, there is also internet access at the front desk. The rooms are fine. If you like a bit of exercise then you can always walk down to the bottom of the hill and then back up again. When ordering meals or beer pay by cash as it is cheaper!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARIBBEAN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed at this property and all I can say is never again. Our room was located on the top floor and had to put down our luggage to switch on the lights in the hall way so we could see where we were going, when we finally got to the room the door was staring open and very hot inside. Next day we woke up to a heavy banging noise like someone was hammering something or the other which was really annoying.

We had an early business meeting and were greeted with no water at all, try calling the front desk to report that there’s no running water in the room to find out there was no extension to front desk from the phone system or at least we didn’t know what the extension was because it wasn’t listed on the phone. After waiting for about 45 minutes the water came back on which made us late for our meeting.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CoolahBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port of Spain hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having read some reviews of this accommodation I have a couple of things to say to fat Americans - get a life and get some exercise! Is it any wonder you can't fit in the bathroom? And this place is built on the side of a hill so why would you expect an elevator? The view from the hotel is amazing and you can sit out in the dining area and enjoy it to your heart's content. It is slightly irritating that the tv and loud music are on at the same time. I found the staff to pleasant and the food was excellent, there is also internet access at the front desk. The rooms are fine - they do what they say on the tin - if you want luxury and want to pay through the nose then go elsewhere. If you like a bit of exercise then you can always walk down to the bottom of the hill and then back up again. When ordering meals or beer pay by cash as it is cheaper!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a separate kitchen with a fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jondurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

When booking the room, I asked about the size and whatnot to make sure it would be a room I would want to stay in. I was assured that it was a nice room and that even though there was no balcony there was a decent view out of the window and there was a balcony down the hall.

The pricing scheme was:


1st & 2nd Floor = $562
3rd Floor with decent view = $484
Not much of a view = $420

We were given a room on the 3rd floor like I had requested thinking it would be decent with an okay view.
The room was big enough to fit a double bed in the corner with a fridge pushed into the corner and a (maybe) 20 inch TV in the corner.
The bathroom was just as bad, TINY.
Combined with the low ceiling you felt like you were in a box.

We had paid for 4 nights at a total of $1936 and had to pay an extra $400 to upgrade to a room on the first floor.

The upgrade was only slightly better. The room was definitely bigger with higher ceilings holding 2 double beds and a single bed, with a mini fridge and TV. The bathroom was also bigger. However there was a giant pillar in the middle of the bedroom as well as the bathroom.
Think of it this way, if you sat on the single bed you would need to be able to see through the pillar to watch TV.

There was a desk of sorts with a mirror around so I guess it was to double as a vanity. However, to be able to use it as a desk you would have to be about 6 feet tall as the chair given to use the desk was so short.

There was no kettle, iron, ironing board, safe or mini bar in the room either.

The bed was a spring mattress and spending more than two nights on the bed is not recommended. By the time I left my neck and back were hurting.

The bathroom is a matter on its own. There was a tub for which I was grateful, however, the pillar was flush against the tub making movement once you were in the tub difficult. The worst of the bathroom was if you left the toilet seat up there would a constant pee smell. Only if the seat was down could you breath easily.

The room description boasts that there is a balcony but it is not a private balcony. There ware 3 rooms facing the front of the hotel (driveway side) with balconies but all 3 are connected and the last is connected to the stairs.

The room was cleaned everyday by house keeping. Again though nothing went smoothly here. We were normally in the room when it was out room to be cleaned. The last thing done by house keeping was the mopping of the floor. The chemical used to clean the floor was suffocating. Once that was sprayed I had to step out on to the balcony to get some fresh air and wait for the room to be aired out.

Breakfast was served from 7am-10am in the dining room. The dining room was on a large porch overlooking the rainforest and the city. The first day we had breakfast there was a large range of choices and was enjoyed thoroughly. On the next two days things took an about turn. There was a limited menu and if you came anytime close to 10am be prepared to only get bread and toast.

What was sampled form the menu for breakfast on that first day and once from the dinner menu was well prepared and extremely tasty.

There is a small pool that looked clean. On the third day I discovered the pool table and gym. However, there is no signage or anything of the sort to indicate that they are there initially.

All in all I wouldn’t recommend Alicia’s for anyone unless as a one night if you must.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 2 if you have to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damascus, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I decided to take my girlfriend to Trinidad for a vacation and had the WORST time at ALICIAS PALACE and this was no palace but more like the devil's house itself.The staff was discourteous
and rude lacking personality and customer service.The shuttle driver's Mr LOPEZ and Mr SINGH are EXTREMELY LAZY,IGNORANT AND IMPOLITE..I would never recommend this hotel to anyone not even my enemies because they seemed annoyed with anyone who are ambitious and educated.We had no access to down town PORT OF SPAIN and they are so close but would rather have their guest pay for a cab to be dropped off.There isn't enough time in the world to list the insipid experience in the hotel but my blogs would suffice in the NEAR FUTURE...........

Room Tip: I would never recommend this hotel to anyone..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rosa1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alicia's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicia's Palace

Property: Alicia's Palace
Address: 3/4 Mile Post, Lady Chancellor Road | St. Anns, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly staff and comfortable accommodations will welcome you with the magic that Trinidad is famous for. Just minutes from the capital city, an absolute oasis of peace and tranquility await your arrival. Set in the midst of tropical flora and fauna The Palace abounds with scenic decks and modern-styled rooms to its mid-sized conference rooms and multiple reading nooks, it’s just the refreshing escape you were looking for. Alicia’s Palace can accommodate you today. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicia`s Palace Hotel Port Of Spain
Alicias Palace Port Of Spain
Alicia's Palace Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing