We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Forty Winks Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Kapok Hotel(Port of Spain)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Chancellor Hotel(Port of Spain)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm's Hotel Trinidad(Port of Spain)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundeck Suites(Port of Spain)
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
110
68
17
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
68
17
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are basichome cooked breakfastrecommending restaurantsearly morning departurelocal personwithin walking distance of restaurantsreliable taxiwalked everywherekept clean and tidytwo nightsplace to stayfast wificozy hotelarrange taxisqueens parkoutside patiofelt safe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I chose this place because of the excellent reviews it has received and I was not disappointed. It is a charming little guest house in the heart of Port of Spain. The rooms are fairly basic so do not expect five-star hotel standard but everything was fairly clean and the room was very comfortable. The street where the place is located was quite dirty so it was always refreshing to get into the guest house and relax. Forty Winks is ideally located and is also near a supermarket on French Street. I really enjoyed my stay here and even managed to park my hire-car on the street safely!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yasminka21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for your review,

Unfortunately over the Christmas season there were a couple of days where we did not get the garbage disposal service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

40 winks is a wonderful place. 5 Comfortable rooms with private baths. A great cooked to order breakfast each morning. Pam, Rae-Anne, Karen, and Fred are warm and helpful folks who will make your stay most memorable. You'll enjoy meeting other guests in this small inn too. Just a short 3 block walk to the Savannah. Mini-marts and a mix of good eateries are minutes away.

Room Tip: If taking the taxi from airport be careful not to overpay - no more than $30US is reasonable. Be sure to try some 'doubles.'
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TheMagicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My brother and I were in Trinidad for a wedding and wanted to stay in a clean "local" place.
Forty Winks fit the bill perfectly. The owner, Pam, is on property much of the time and is friendly and outgoing. Raane, (not sure about the spelling there) was also fun and always had a smile on her face. Even the night guy, Craig, although a bit low key, was easy to get to smile and very good. The shower worked well and water was nice and hot. Breakfast was basic, but good. Typical included breakfast at a B and B type place. Being American, we like our coffee hot, and as long as you asked, it was nice and hot. Basically ask and you shall receive at Forty Winks! Pam was especially helpful with info and finding things out for us regarding the Island and where we were going or had an interest in going. She also called a taxi service and our wake up call was no problem for us on our very early morning departure and it went without a hitch. It was nice and quiet at night, so we got a great nights sleep every night. Its not the Ritz, but its affordable and delivers what it says it will. Just what we wanted. I would look forward to staying there when we return to Trinidad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Entertaining the twins was a unique experience, we were never sure which ones we were talking to.
We enjoyed all the stories and look forward to having you back with us one day again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed there for two weeks and was very happy with the service, location, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Everyone was very helpful in assisting me with anything I needed.
The B and B is comfortable, safe and clean. I will definitely stay there again. I also really appreciated the free internet service which always worked unlike some of the expensive hotels.
Thank you all for making my two weeks there comfortable.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank like2travel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Had a great time with you, photographer from the UK. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great little hotel. So friendly, good location, nice rooms. Definitely recommend to anyone.
Not far from Trotters pub, Buzo Italian restaurant, TGI Fridays, Queens Park. All Out pub within waliking distance,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 159Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Just a couple days but it was great having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews