We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forty Winks is the perfect Carnival hotel!”
Review of Forty Winks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Forty Winks Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Forty Winks is the perfect Carnival hotel!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Pam and her team are exceptionally hospitable and friendly. Breakfast every morning is delicious and served as early or as late as you want. The staff went out of their way to make everything comfortable and convenient. The room was really nice with an ensuite bathroom. It could've been a little larger, but had great air conditioning and was very comfortable. Traveling to a different country made us concerned about safety and a good location, but Forty Winks is located in a very safe and ideal location for participating in Carnival and going to events at Queens Park. I cannot say enough great things about Forty Winks!!! They were a major part of our trip and we could not have asked for a better stay and experience with them!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idigmywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortyWinksinn, Guest Relations Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We are so flattered by all your generous comments. Glad that you enjoyed the local breakfasts and a birdie told me that you also loved our after breakfast sweets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    67
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
63
43
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A nice B & B. Be aware the rooms are tiny, and the bathrooms could be cleaner.
The front desk was friendly and tried to be helpful--they didn't understand some of our questions, and we had a weird (and kindof horrible) dinner at a restaurant, so make sure you don't have any misunderstandings over what you want, but it was lovely of her to try!
Great location, right near the park, in a safe feeling area.

Room Tip: Try to stay upstairs, the first floor is "garden view", ie; underground, no real windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 43323Globe_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Yes our rooms are cosy and pretty.
The first floor is not underground but at normal street level

There are 2 sets of windows in the ground floor rooms.These are above eye level because the architecture of this of this quaint neighborhood is such that houses are narrow and very close to each other.

For privacy the windows are placed higher than usual.
However the rooms are air conditioned and windows would normally have remained closed like most other accommodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetter, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

All POI nearby, wonderful staff, nice roof-terrace. The room in ground floor with a small window just below the top, so there is not a lot of daylight in the room. The facilities in the bathrooom could be cleaner.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms might have better window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wengeraner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

There are actually 4 windows in each room, hidden by blinds. Open the blinds and yes you have full sunlight.
Newtown is a quaint historic part of the city where the buildings are long and narrow and built very close together.. so windows on the ground floor have to go above eye level. The rooms are Air conditioned and therefore the windows are kept closed.

We apologise if the white tiled baths were not up to standard.
I have been very busy getting ready for Carnival and some details may have slipped through the cracks.

I have spoken to housekeeping already.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arden, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here 3 nights en route from St Vincent. This is a safe area by POS standards, with local restaurants close by, the very popular Buzo is a two minute walk. Rooms are small but what makes this hotel is the service. Breakfast is included and since our stay coincided with my 70th birthday we wanted to do something memorable and get a recommendation for a good restaurant. Karen not only came up with the goods, she booked the taxi reserved the table and recommended the boat trip at the Caroni Swamp, the scarlet ibis coming in to nest in the evening were phenomenal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were very happy with this bed and breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful in every way. The breakfast was wonderful, good food!!!
Walking around the area to restaurants and the Savannah felt safe and people on the street were very helpful when needed for directions. The warnings in publications re crime in the city were not visible, people went about their lives as anywhere in a city in North America.
The rooms in these gingerbread houses are small but adequate. Our stay in 2 different rooms was noisy both nights though.
As a visitor to the City and Country it was refreshing not to be hassled by people trying to sell souvenirs. All in all a great place to visit and stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortyWinksinn, Manager at Forty Winks Inn, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for the review,

You two ladies were so nice to interact with.
We hope to see you again in Trinidad soon!

The Forty Winks Team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The room was clean and adequate for what I paid,The staff was friendly,polite and helpful.For me the location is perfect walking distance to the savannah and the avenue.Rumors and speculation about crime in the city are overrated.I was walking around all hours of the night on my recent trip in January and was never bothered or afraid.
Overall a good value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jason h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The staff were very helpful with directions to nearby coffee shops, travel agencies, restaurants etc. I did not feel unsafe while in Port of Spain, but I was taken aback by the heavy security everywhere: steel grills, barbed wire and so forth, but not as many guns as in some places in Latin America. I was more bothered by the traffic congestion and poor air quality. After Port of Spain, I spent 2 weeks in Surinam, and when I returned I stayed in Arima so as to avoid POS entirely because of the landfill fire.

Room Tip: If you see any mosquitos in the room, have the staff spray it immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,023 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
303 reviews
34.1 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty Winks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty Winks Inn

Property: Forty Winks Inn
Address: Warner St 24 | Newtown, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Forty Winks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forty Winks Inn!If you’re a business traveller or casual vacationer in Port of Spain, Trinidad, and you’re looking for quality accommodation that offers you a Great Location, Good Value and Gracious Style, then search no more.With Complimentary Wireless Internet and Delicious Local Breakfast, Forty Winks provides a refreshing tropical experience full of warmth, comfort and personalised service.This is not just a place where people stay, but also where people meet in the cozy lobby, and where travellers find company and comfort in the intimacy of the space and the professional support of its caring, efficient staff. With over seven years of welcoming and serving guests from all over the world, we know what excellent service is about; that’s why so many of our clients return to us again and again. Make a reservation, and come join us at Forty Winks for an unforgettable stay in Trinidad. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Forty Winks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty Winks Hotel Port Of Spain
40 Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing