We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for long-term stays”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 42 Port of Spain B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for long-term stays”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I was on business in Port of Spain from May through August 2011 and was looking for a long-term place to stay. When inquiring at many different guesthouses throughout the area, it was easy to choose Thanna's. The owner, Anna, was responsive from the very beginning and promptly answered all of my questions and was quick to address any of my concerns. The reviews of Thanna's were good, and the rates that Thanna's was charging were excellent (compared to the nearly 2,000USD monthly rates of her competitors).

My only concern before I arrived was about the safety. I had heard that Belmont, the area of Port of Spain where Thanna's was located, was not particularly safe. However, Anna was quick to reassure me that Thanna's was in a safe part, and I was comforted to learn that Thanna's was gated, with two locked gates in addition to the lock on my individual room. Also, Anna and her family lived right next door, so if there were ever any problems, they would be close by.

As soon as I arrived, all of my worries disappeared. Anna was extremely friendly and welcoming. Her hospitality was especially touching considering her daughter had given birth on the very day that I arrived! Yet, she went out of her way to make me feel comfortable and to let me get oriented around the neighbourhood.

My room was small, but immaculate, and had everything I needed - a bed, linens, satellite television, and air conditionining. Since I was staying for a longer period, Anna even moved a desk inside so that I would have some working space. The washroom that I used was always clean, and I was given fresh linens whenever I needed. I was given a lockable cupboard in the communal kitchen to store pantry items, and I was invited to make use of the refrigerator for any of my groceries. The kitchen was equipped with everything that one might need, so it was easy to prepare meals for myself. I know that short term guests are treated to breakfast made by Anna in the morning.

Other common areas such as the dining area, sitting areas and garden were always clean and quiet, and I enjoyed making use of them. My only complaint - and it is a slight one - was that the internet was occasionally a little slow; however, during my stay (a year ago) I know Anna was making a business centre in the lower level of the guesthouse, so I expect that would have improved by now.

The location was perfect for me. It was a 10 minute walk for me to get to work. Thanna's is also a short 5 minute walk to the Queen's Park Savannah, a large park where people go jogging, where cricket is played and where many food stalls, concerts, and festivals are held. Surrounding the Savannah are a few good restaurants, a gym, and an arts and music hall where nice concerts can be seen. Thanna's is also relatively close to Woodbrook (a great spot for nightlife in Trinidad), which is about a 20 minute walk away.

Anna is also great at arranging any taxis or transportation that you might need. She is also very knowledgeable about Trinidad, and can make a number of suggestions for sightseeing. Thanks to her, I was able to join an exciting hiking and trekking group during my time in Port of Spain.

Best of all about Thanna's is that you really feel it is your home away from home. Anna and her family are always there to help and make you feel welcome. It was so nice to come home every day from work and see Anna and have a chat with her after a long day. She truly made my stay in Port of Spain an unforgettable one, and I would recommend Thanna's to anyone going to Trinidad - whether for a short trip or long stay. Thanks Anna!

Room Tip: Thanna's has a few different types of rooms - some with twin beds, some with double beds, some w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KEJS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
35
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prospect Park, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is my first time in Trinidad. Staying at Thanna's Place was a very good decision I made. The place is very quiet and very clean. Anna and her daughter are so sweet to me. Places of interest are very close by and within walking distance. I highly recommend Thanna's Place for your home away from home stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floyd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was our third stay at Thanna's Place. Anna makes the best breakfasts, always including fresh fruit, juice and baked goods. Everything is spotless and the free wi-fi is a plus. The beautiful patio garden is perfect for relaxing after a long day. The neighborhood has everything: convenience stores, a nearby bar, a pizzeria and bakeries. Plus whatever you need is only a question away. If Thanna's is booked we schedule our trip when it's available. We always enjoy our stay and look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachluv2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I was working in Port of Spain for 5 days at the beginning of March 2012, I don't like hotels and decided to stay at Thanna's Place,excellent I must say, Thais was great very helpful her omelets for breakfast are to die for, I also liked the security gates, she even emailed me 2 days before arrivel to ask if I needed picking up from the airport, certainly would recommend it
Alan A

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwyn Heights, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at Thanna's Place for Carnival 2012. It was simply marvelous! Anna, Marina, Thais and all the Thanna's Place family made us feel like we were at our home away from home. We felt more like family members visiting than hotel guests!

They worked with us in advance on our itinerary and helped with all the logistics while we were there, such as airport pick up/drop off, purchasing of tickets for carnival events, driving us to the few destinations that were not within walking distances, suggesting events to attend, arranging tours and travel to Caroni Swamp and Asa Wright Center, etc. etc. etc. The location of Thanna's Place was very convenient to most of the carnival events, the Queen's Park Savanah, and downtown. The accomodations were very clean, the food was great, and the customer service was terrific.

I cannot say enough good things about Thanna's. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will definately go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheresaBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Tanna's place. The service is personalized, they help you to plan your trip, get tickets, rent a car, they give you really good advices. Anna and her daughters are exceptional. The place is well located in town. It safe, convenient, really clean, quiet. I just have good comments for this place. I will certainly go back there, it is one of the best B&B I have been.

I really recommend this place!

Yanick

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yanick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I know the title is a cliche, but it is true. Anna, along with her whole family, is incredibly warm and will do anything to help you on your trip. The rooms are clean and a nice size. Breakfast is home cooked by Anna and very tasty. Her daughter even picked us up from the airport and waited over 1.5 hours extra because our flight was late. Belmont, where the B&B is located, is a nice area and a quick walk to Queen's Park Savannah where you can get street food for dinner. It is also close to some museums and about a 20 min walk to the bus/maxi taxi terminal. She arranged all our taxi rides and gave us directions for every place we needed to go. Anna and her daughter even gave us a hat and umbrella for our walk when it was raining. The only issue we had was that one of the guest's child was very loud and woke us up one morning, which does NOT reflect upon the owners. I'd say this is the perfect place to stay while you are in Port of Spain, Trinidad. I can't wait to return and stay at Thanna's B&B!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah199112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port of Spain hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Forty Winks Inn
Forty Winks Inn
#4 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast

Property: Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast
Address: Erthig Road, Belmont 27, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a "Trini home away from home" haven which boasts friendly, helpful and courteous staff. Thanna’s Place is a family run business with a unique feature of privacy - "you call us when you need us." Thanna’s owners are just a stone’s throw away. Located 15 minutes from the heart of the capital, Port of Spain and a 5 minute walk to the Queen’s Park Savannah, Thanna’s location offers you convenient transport when planning a business or pleasure trip. Whether for shopping, eating out or night life, there is a choice of public transport or private taxi service at your doorstep. At Thanna’s Place you can look forward to convenience, affordability, comfort, warmth and a friendly atmosphere! We welcome you to your Trini home. Come join us at Thanna’s Place, Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanna's Place, Bed & Breakfast Trinidad/Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing