We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service!”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was my first stay in a Hyatt, and you definitely won our heart... hope that all the other Hyatt are the same. Since the moment we arrived everything as been perfect. From the welcoming at check in with the complimentary juice or wine, the agent was so friendly, genuine, and energetic. The bellman showing around was also very professional. Our hotel was very spacious, great view of the ocean, very nice amenities, bed very comfortable . We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the Waterfront Restaurant nearly every day, the food was very tasty, and the service was very professional, and once again the staff was very friendly and genuine. When we did not have dinner in the restaurant we had room service , very good presentation, quick delivery, and I really appreciated the person taking my order always calling me by my name and repeating the order as well as given the time that the food will be delivered. They even offered me a glass a wine because they had forgot to bring it to me. The pool is fantastic, would suggest to go early to reserve a long chair by putting hat cloth, or something. They have great fruit cocktail. On our last night I went to the concierge desk and Alicia, was great she made all the arrangement to get a car to take us to the airport, our breakfast in the restaurant was included in the rate, and because we were leaving very early I asked to see if we could order room service instead, and she was so kind she left a note in our reservation to not be charge. Usually when breakfast is included in the restaurant , they do not accept in room dining. So I was very please. Location is great walking distance to the city center, and the pier to take the boat for Tobago. Great place congratulation to the management team to have hire such a great staff. Thank you for a very relaxing time.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nycp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    526
    120
    38
    33
See reviews for
363
484
104
777
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Immediately upon arrival you know you are at a first class hotel. The very friendly staff from the doormen to the front desk are very attentive and helpful. This extended throughout the week long stay with the staff at the bar and restaurant. The weather that week allowed outside dining which was very enjoyable in the early morning and late evening overlooking the water. The breakfast was excellent with a variety of offerings including a great smoked salmon. On an upper floor overlooking the water with a great view. This is a harbor so no beach view. Very up to date room, glass shower, very comfortable bed, typical size. Room does not come with Wifi, this is an extra. Cost was on the high side but service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Business46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Second visit back for me.
I liked it last time and went back again this year. for a business stop over this hotel is fantastic. On the Seafront with views of weither the ocean or the city. Go for a city view, its a beautiful sight at night. All restaurants and bars are good and the gym too. Sitting outside at night with the live music was excellent and the sea breeze coming in - Great. Rooms are up there with Asian/ Middle Eastern level, which was a really nice surprise and made the trip perfect.
I can't rate this place high enough - Well done Hyatt !

Room Tip: city view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil499485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Trinidad is a beautiful city with friendly people. Really enjoyed a relaxing stay at the Hyatt in downtown Port of Spain. The food was wonderful! The tour of the city and and other attractions made the stay even more exciting. Great value for an ocean front room!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senior601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

After paying such an exorbitant price to host a wedding, one would expect class, excellent management and professionalism. This wedding was sadly the opposite. What is your view …Smoking by bar, tables arranged contrary to agreement resulting in groom sisters at the back. Groom’s mother told Hyatt’s event manager and Hyatt’s wedding planner, if this seating arrangement not resolved, she cannot attend. The response from Hyatt’s management ---- For your son wedding, placing his two biggest sisters and their families at the back is what your son requested. Mother said NEVER, call him and they said NO. Result groom’s mother never went to wedding and some sisters left early. Or I forgot, one of the back seated sister’s husband was the groom only speaker. Yeah bride speaker in one of the 3 front tables and groom speaker quite in the back. Hyatt was contacted but claims they did nothing wrong. So remember, would you like this type of treatment. Nothing wrong means YOU can be the NEXT one to be treated like.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ThinkBefore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Myself, husband, daughter and her cousin spent a lovely week in Tobago. We had plans to visit Trinidad for 1 day but decided to stay 2 nights. We had no reservations. The hotel was beautiful and to our standards being that we travel all over the world. It was disheartening when they quoted us a price for the double occupancy room at $450 US per night. We decided we would take it anyway, we were on vacation and we did not have a reservation, but they then came up with this ridiculus stapulation that my daughter and her cousin both 16 year old teenagers had to have their separate room at th same price per night. They are both wonderful teenagers but I was totally upset. We have never heard of such nonsense. We asked to speak to every head of every department and they saw our girls who would want them to be in a separate room and not keep a watchful eye on them. In the ened they reduced the price to $325 per night per room. Since it was late we took it and I told my husband we would complain to the company and online making sure other families were aware of this. I did not sleep well over night. The girls had fun watching movies but their room was down the hall not even next door or across the hall. This is poor business mangement style. It doesn't foster yearly return customers. I was in Negril Rose Hall Jamaica resort an met a person who had been coming there for 2 years . Well Hyatt Trinidad won't have that level of attendance ever !!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice over the past few years for a weekend and two weeks. From the time you entire you are greeted with top class service. Rooms are comfortable with either a view of the city of Port of Spain or a view of the ocean. Big flat screen tv with cable.There is wireless but you have to pay for this(i think this should be free:(........ ) Complimentary robe and bedroom slipper. Infinity pool on the second floor with bar to the side is very nice. There is a wide choice of breakfast and lunch. Breakfast, lunch or dinner can be had indoors in a/c or outside with an ocean view. My visits to this hotel was in 2012 and

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npc4HRT, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Trinidad, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Brian, Thank you for your wonderful comments.We strive to offer the highest level of service and comfort and and It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
34.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Property: Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing