We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here when in Port of Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stay here when in Port of Spain”
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Hotel staff is very courteous and friendly. They will do just about anything for you, BUT: Check you bill and verify all charges, on my 1 night stay there was an incident of service provided with a charge that was not advised.
Not satisfied with concierge services at all, concierge did not want to provide any information prior to arrival. This hindered planning my 1-big night in town. When at the hotel, concierge provided incorrect info on steelpan yard and mascamp location and times.
We were assigned a room with ocean view. Looks like all ocean view rooms had unobstructed full water views. Great view was actually of the rode with ships at anchorage. Hotel is directly next to a container port with freighters coming and going all through the day and night. This provides nice scenery, no noise or other negative distractions. Only corner rooms have small balconies with illogical layout. Our balcony was on side towards the port and at night there was noticeable noise from air-conditioning units on rooftops of port service buildings. Try to get a balconies on the south wall facing office and government buildings instead.
Bring lots of USD $5 and $10 bills. Need a taxi to go even 2 blocks as entire Port of Spain area is determined unsafe due to armed robberies specifically after dark. All taxi rates are in USD (not in TTD $ - weird, right?). Beware: Taxies are not marked and do not have meters, to return to hotel, call hotel and request a car to be dispatched to come pick you.......
Given the Port of Spain location and all the negative crap that comes with it, the hotel itself is very nice, very clean, presents a safe and pleasant ambience, it even has a pretty cornice type walkway along the waterfront and walk to/from ferry port.
Club is very nice offering sodas all day with hot hors d'oeuvres and fine selection of wine and liquors during cocktail time. (consider upgrading!)
Lobby bar with outside terrace has live music nightly and provides a little haven of tranquility.
If I ever have the need to overnight in Port of Spain again, I will certainly stay at Hyatt no hesitation at all! If I don’t specifically need to stay in Port of Spain however, I will check out the city of San Fernando or stay a beach instead.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,268
    526
    120
    37
    33
See reviews for
362
482
104
773
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Just returned from another wonderful weekend spent at the Hyatt Trinidad. The management and the staff get it! We were greeted by name and every member of staff that we encountered, whether front desk, housekeeping, restaurant or spa greeted us with a smile and went out of their way to make our stay better. Right from the start we felt important, which is something you want to feel while on vacation. Comparing our initial visit to our most recent, the management and staff have made tremendous strides. Can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithkj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Probably my favourite Hyatt so far. The room was very nice. It did get some time to get used to the shower in the middle of the room, but otherwise it was great. The hotel is right in the middle of Port-of-Spain which enabled us to get around the city well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall a good experience!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

The Hyatt is an excellent place to stay if you're in POS but their staf.... It could be me but I had a very bad experience at the restaurant of the hotel as myself and my husband were waiting for our table and the hostesses decided to skip us and give our table to other people. I was really confused and asked them why did that happen and they pretty much ignored me. Apart from that experience, the hotel is lovely, great rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_in_Jamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here three nights and was impressed by the service we received. Everyone we came into contact with went out of their way to see our needs were taken care of. A gentleman by the name of "Weekly" was outstanding and remembered our names everytime we came across him.

The rooms are beautiful, modern and clean. The beds and bedding so comfortable. The restaurants superb. (Unless the breakfast buffet is included in your room price I would just order off the menu. Buffet is a bit overpriced) The view from the pool, awesome.

The manager has a social time poolside on Tuesday evening. Drinks and hors d'oeuvres are free at the pool bar area. The lobby bar serves dinner and has live entertainment nightly. One night was a DJ with lots of dancing on the boardwalk overlooking the ocean. It seems some of the locals use the Hyatt restaurants as a place to dine for special occasions. We saw a few celebrating anniversaries and such. Very nice.

The place is great and actually reasonably priced for Trinidad.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyfreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2011

I am working on a long-term project in Trinidad. I decided to fly my wife down from Virginia to be with me over Christmas. I booked a weekend package at the Hyatt in downtown Port of Spain, Trinidad. I also booked a Deep Tissue Massage for my wife for a Christmas present at the in-house spa.

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we were treated very, very well. The Customer Service was First rate, the cleanliness beyond expectations, the attention to detail was superb. But above all, the friendliness and willingness to go the "extra mile" by everyone on staff was just incomparable. My wife was very well attended to and enjoyed the time in the spa very much. If it wasn't for the Christmas Holiday and the fact the spa personnel needed some well-deserved time with their families, I would have booked further services for her. The spa, totally understandably, was closed for Christmas Day

The Hyatt organization but above all the Hyatt General Manager in Port of Spain has to be congratulated for maintaining extremely high standards for comfort, ease, service and an absolutely fantastic atmosphere for a customer to relax and enjoy the moment.

Two, very huge, thumbs up!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agilejbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Well if you are going to stay anywhere in Trinidad this is the place to be. I have stayed at many of the so called rivals to the Hyatt but in all honesty there are no rivals

The hotel is managed and run by professionals The service is impeccable The staff are well trained and are very motivated. Special praise goes to the pool bar staff who are excellent and exceptional. Well done Jonathon and Celeste.

It must be noted to those never having visited Trinidad that beaches do not figure heavily on this Island, it is primarily the business island,. If you are looking for beaches then Tobago is for you.

The Hyatt gives you a great Ocean view and is set in a great location close to the centre of POS Close to the ferry terminal and about 30 minutes from Piarco International airport. There are always taxi’s available to take you where you wish

In summary if you are visiting Port of Spain and want to stay at the best hotel with the best staff service and location then look no further than the Hyatt

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kewreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port of Spain
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
Radisson Hotel Trinidad
#6 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kapok Hotel
Kapok Hotel
#5 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
34.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Carlton Savannah
The Carlton Savannah
#14 of 21 in Port of Spain
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Trinidad

Property: Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Address: No 1 Wrightson Road, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Port of Spain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Port of Spain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Trinidad 4.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Trinidad is a high rise hotel at the Port of Spain International Waterfront Development along the waterfront of Trinidad and Tobago's capital city. This 423-room hotel offers contemporary style and a comfortable luxury for Trinidad visitors. Featured in the design is a 16,000-square-foot Grand Ballroom, a 10,000 square-foot multipurpose facility and twelve smaller meeting rooms including two boardrooms. In addition, guests can enjoy a 9,000 square-foot spa with en suite facilities and a serene rooftop infinity pool and terrace with beautiful views of the Gulf of Paria and provides a relaxing escape for business travelers. Dining options range from a fine-dining restaurant, 24 hour café, sushi bar, lobby lounge and bar, in-room dining and poolside bar. Currently the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment. There is limited access to some areas but all amenities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Hotel Port Of Spain
Hyatt Regency Hotel Trinidad
Hyatt Port Of Spain
Port Of Spain Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Trinidad Port Of Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing