We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the turtles, stay for the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Grande Almandier
Ranked #1 of 1 North Coast B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Come for the turtles, stay for the food”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Seated directly across from the Mt Plasir Hotel, Le Grande Almandier is a nice place to stay. Rooms are pretty basic, but comfortable. The beds were especially nice. Staff can provide a crib on request for small children. There's even hammocks outside the rooms on the 2nd floor. A nice touch. This is the perfect location from which to see the turtles and lime on the beach. We found the staff to be very courteous and attentive. The turtles arrived by the bushel with at least 10-15 during the night and another 5 on the beach when we came back after 0530. The beach itself is technically closed from 6pm-6am, and you can't be on it without a permit and guide. Grande Riviere is absolutely worth the visit. This is the true Carib. No frills, no large resorts, and all with a relaxed vibe. Forget about internet and TV, while there is limited access to both, we didn't bother. Le Grande Alamanier was great, and if there's any issue to raise it would simply be that it's doesn't have direct ocean views. Aside from that, great place to stay. The staff there is the best you'll find of all the resorts in the area, and the food is great. If you really want to get away from all, head towards Grande Riviere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night and part of a day. The food, staff, service and people was was excellent,especially Kaleen and Cherry ann. We went to see the nesting of the Leatherback Turtle...keeping this in mind the room was equipped with the essentials that was needed. (A shelf on the wall somewhere would be nice to rest some items.) Rooms were very clean.
The nesting of the Leatherback turtle is a joy to witness..it is incredible what this creature can do. If you love adventure, this is a spectacle you should not miss. Its a once in a life time experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 6,7,8, on the top floor is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrinidadHonnymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Wendy and Cherry were absolutely amazing. From the start we were greeted with a warm smile and friendly service. We stayed at Le Grande Almandier for one night to watch the leatherback turtles come to shore and lay their eggs...it was an unexpected and unforgettable experience.
I had read the reviews prior to booking and they all had great things to say about the cook...and they weren't wrong. Breakfast was really good and dinner was amazing and most definitely worth the drive. A few tips: turtle season is from March to Sept. however the hatching of the eggs begins in June; its best to stay at Le Grande Almandier during the week and bring a red LED light in order to see the turtles at night. A must to visit!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have stayed here a few times . It's no Hilton ,the rooms are small but the reason to stay there is to see the Leatherback Turtles during the nesting season. The food is great. the service is very good.
If you are interested in a natural getaway to enjoy nature at it's best this is the place.
All said it is a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: The best time to stay here is during the Leatherback Turtle nesting season. Remember the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I agree with sheens311, acceptable hotel, in an ideal location and 'as good as it gets'. The drive here is an adventure - very windy roads, single track in a few places.

Four of us stayed in a room in the hotel. The room was basic and clean and we had a small rodent behind perspex in the eaves. We dined in the hotel, food was good. Breakfast was good too and included salt fish and smoked herring. We saw about 20 turtles coming ashore at 9-11pm. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amriswil, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in February. Too early for turtle watching, we came for the scenery which is lovely, the lagoon adjacent to the beach in particular. The hotel was almost empty. Our room was very small with hardly any space for luggage. The balcony was very tiny with space for two chairs and nothing else; the beach view was impeded by palm trees. There was a large roof terrace, however. The room did not seem worth the rate of US$ 136 in comparison to other accommodation where we had stayed. The only place with Wifi internet was the reception where the only table was too low for typing. Dinner in the restaurant was somewhat pricey but excellent. Breakfast was satisfactory but not overly plentiful. The staff was correct but seemed to keep some distance. A lot of „buts“...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

This country inn, is acceptable for what it is, for those looking for an ideal turtle watching location in turtle season this is an excellent location. I visited this location this weekend, didn't expect any amazing hotel comforts because I knew the area. There were some positives and some negatives.

Positives:
The location is perfect directly on the beach
The rooms and bathrooms are clean
The hammocks are divine and relaxing
The staff is very accomodating
The food is good, my husband really enjoyed his dinner
Price is reasonable
This is a good spot for a family get together

Negatives:
Security wise did not feel safe as the front gate is always open and the doors to the rooms not so secure
The bathroom is part of the room, the sink is next to a bed and the door to the bathroom is not a full door.
There is no ventilation in the bathroom, so the air from the toilet cannot escape so it goes directly into the room, this is not very sanitary or won't be comfortable for families staying in one room.
The air condition is extremely loud, so loud that you cannot hear the ocean.
The breakfast is a basic continental breakfast i.e. bread, butter, marmalade and 6 choice beverage choice, this is no expanded continental breakfast, you will have to pay for that.

In conclusion, I did enjoy my environs and I really liked the location, after all this is a guesthouse so I think it exceeds normal guesthouse standards. Fussy travelers may have problems with the negatives I have outlined above but I think this place is one of the best the north coast has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheens311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Coast
0.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
182 reviews
0.0 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
866 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cara Suites - Pointe a Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grande Almandier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grande Almandier

Property: Le Grande Almandier
Address: 2 Hosang St. | Grande Riviere, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > North Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grande Almandier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Grande Almandier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grande Almandier Hotel North Coast
Le Grande Almandier Trinidad/North Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing