We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Grande Almandier
Ranked #1 of 1 North Coast B&B and Inns
Trinidad, West Indies
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel is on the beach with a wonderful staff. Spent one night to go turtle watching. The Visitor's centre is very close to the hotel. Turtles were mere metres in front the hotel. Saw at least 10 turtles. Breakfast was filling and you MUST try the homemade coconut bread!! Room was adequate and very comfortable. I am fussy when it comes to toilet and sheets and was totally please. The room is clean and the sheets were sparkling white and felt so so clean. If you are loking for 5 star hotel with the frills.. this hotel isn't for you. It is rustic and beach house environment with necessary comforts. Only con for me is there should be tea / coffee in the room and a microwave as there were no kitchenette area. After a long walk on the beach looking for turtles.. something warm would have been welcoming. IF you are going for turtle watching, walk with a torchlight and wear white.. reflects better at night.

Room Tip: Room 8 is on a corner, second floor ocean view with a small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    24
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Nice Staff. Everybody was friendly....Very reasonably priced and the breakfast was simply but tasty!! Oh the view and the turtles and stuff!! The bread they make is addictive and the view from the room was perfect

Going there again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don_rambarran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

It's like getting a dream vacation away from everything without ever setting foot on an airplane. Initially, the stay was supposed to be for one night, just to enjoy the turtle nesting and return home. However, that changed when we got there.The view from the room was amazing and the room in itself comfortable and cozy. If you never intended on over eating, that quickly changed as the food was comparable to any 4 or 5 star hotel....delicious and making you anticipate your next meal. The phones stayed on vibrate from Friday - Sunday, and we never missed the television or radio. Cherry was a gem, her warm personality encouraging you to stay. She even recommended some bar-be-que just out the road on Saturday at lunch time (which was to die for). At the end of the weekend, I couldnt say I was happy that work was the following day. We're heading back there soon...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camille W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
380 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Seated directly across from the Mt Plasir Hotel, Le Grande Almandier is a nice place to stay. Rooms are pretty basic, but comfortable. The beds were especially nice. Staff can provide a crib on request for small children. There's even hammocks outside the rooms on the 2nd floor. A nice touch. This is the perfect location from which to see the turtles and lime on the beach. We found the staff to be very courteous and attentive. The turtles arrived by the bushel with at least 10-15 during the night and another 5 on the beach when we came back after 0530. The beach itself is technically closed from 6pm-6am, and you can't be on it without a permit and guide. Grande Riviere is absolutely worth the visit. This is the true Carib. No frills, no large resorts, and all with a relaxed vibe. Forget about internet and TV, while there is limited access to both, we didn't bother. Le Grande Alamanier was great, and if there's any issue to raise it would simply be that it's doesn't have direct ocean views. Aside from that, great place to stay. The staff there is the best you'll find of all the resorts in the area, and the food is great. If you really want to get away from all, head towards Grande Riviere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 1 night and part of a day. The food, staff, service and people was was excellent,especially Kaleen and Cherry ann. We went to see the nesting of the Leatherback Turtle...keeping this in mind the room was equipped with the essentials that was needed. (A shelf on the wall somewhere would be nice to rest some items.) Rooms were very clean.
The nesting of the Leatherback turtle is a joy to witness..it is incredible what this creature can do. If you love adventure, this is a spectacle you should not miss. Its a once in a life time experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 6,7,8, on the top floor is a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrinidadHonnymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Wendy and Cherry were absolutely amazing. From the start we were greeted with a warm smile and friendly service. We stayed at Le Grande Almandier for one night to watch the leatherback turtles come to shore and lay their eggs...it was an unexpected and unforgettable experience.
I had read the reviews prior to booking and they all had great things to say about the cook...and they weren't wrong. Breakfast was really good and dinner was amazing and most definitely worth the drive. A few tips: turtle season is from March to Sept. however the hatching of the eggs begins in June; its best to stay at Le Grande Almandier during the week and bring a red LED light in order to see the turtles at night. A must to visit!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have stayed here a few times . It's no Hilton ,the rooms are small but the reason to stay there is to see the Leatherback Turtles during the nesting season. The food is great. the service is very good.
If you are interested in a natural getaway to enjoy nature at it's best this is the place.
All said it is a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: The best time to stay here is during the Leatherback Turtle nesting season. Remember the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Coast
0.0 mi away
Acajou Hotel
Acajou Hotel
#1 of 2 in Grande Riviere
179 reviews
0.0 mi away
D' Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
857 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cara Suites - Pointe a Pierre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grande Almandier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grande Almandier

Property: Le Grande Almandier
Address: 2 Hosang St. | Grande Riviere, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > North Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grande Almandier 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Grande Almandier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grande Almandier Hotel North Coast
Le Grande Almandier Trinidad/North Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing